You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-19 08:00:22

student975
Member
From: Russian Federation
Registered: 2011-03-05
Posts: 603

pacman -Syu results in GPGME error: No data

Today have got:

~ $ sudo pacman -Syu
error: GPGME error: No data
error: GPGME error: No data
error: GPGME error: No data
error: GPGME error: No data
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
 multilib is up to date
error: database 'core' is not valid (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))
error: database 'extra' is not valid (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))
error: database 'community' is not valid (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))
error: database 'multilib' is not valid (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))

Didn't fulfill any gpg-related manipulations at all. Where to dig in?


"I exist" is the best myth I know..

Offline

#2 2012-11-19 08:02:12

student975
Member
From: Russian Federation
Registered: 2011-03-05
Posts: 603

Re: pacman -Syu results in GPGME error: No data

Well, must add the issue doesn't depend on selected mirror.


"I exist" is the best myth I know..

Offline

#3 2012-11-19 08:22:04

student975
Member
From: Russian Federation
Registered: 2011-03-05
Posts: 603

Re: pacman -Syu results in GPGME error: No data

...and I have found "a cure": pacman -Syy

But what is the reason of such strange error? I'm not sure I must mark the topic as solved.


"I exist" is the best myth I know..

Offline

#4 2012-11-19 08:36:32

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,769
Website

Re: pacman -Syu results in GPGME error: No data

Please do not bump your posts: learn to use the 'Edit' button:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … te#Bumping


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2012-11-19 10:29:18

student975
Member
From: Russian Federation
Registered: 2011-03-05
Posts: 603

Re: pacman -Syu results in GPGME error: No data

jasonwryan,

Ok, I see.
I just have guessed a security issue is the reason to ping possible subscribers. Next time I will edit my posts regardless subject.


"I exist" is the best myth I know..

Offline

#6 2012-11-19 12:08:09

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,804
Website

Re: pacman -Syu results in GPGME error: No data

student975 wrote:

But what is the reason of such strange error? I'm not sure I must mark the topic as solved.

The most likely cause is an error while downloading one of the package files.  This is why signatures and checksums are used.  If a download error changed the content of one of the package tarballs, pacman will detect the error and not proceed until it is resolved.

Pacman -Syy refreshes the package lists even if they seem to be up to date - in other words it redownloads everything.

I suspect manually clearing your cache would have also solved this.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#7 2012-11-21 09:27:20

cedricmc
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2011-11-20
Posts: 48

Re: pacman -Syu results in GPGME error: No data

I had the same error here.

# pacman -Syy

saved the day. Thx!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB