You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-12 16:21:37

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 85

Popular blank screen

Hello:

I'm trying to install in my laptop current version of archlinux (2012.11.01), my laptop has a intel chipset video with currently debian installed.
When I placed the cd and reboot, and I can see the boot options, when selecting "x86_64" option, I see some loading messages, later my laptop goes black
I can see my drive still loading and reading the CD, but the screen is black.

Googling around, I tryed the following kernel params, one by one:
acpi=off
noapic
nolapic
edd=on
nodmraid
nomodeset

and either, dump a "{DRDY} error" or blank screen sad

Question: Is there any other param should I tryied?

Note: I installed debian with netinstall with non-free software included...which the installation was correctly...maybe I need extra firmware?


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

#2 2012-11-12 19:40:02

count0
Member
Registered: 2011-09-28
Posts: 20

Re: Popular blank screen

Did you try this one from the wiki:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … modules.22

Offline

#3 2012-11-13 00:03:38

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 85

Re: Popular blank screen

video=SVIDEO-1:d

didn't help either sad


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

#4 2012-11-13 07:23:21

The Compiler
Member
From: Winterthur, Switzerland
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Popular blank screen

Just a random thought: On one Intel industry-computer I had lately it helped to blacklist gma500_gfx.

If that doesn't help, is there any way you can get ssh running? Or can you maybe redirect output to files and give us logfiles? I think dmesg, lsmod, lspci and /var/log/Xorg.0.log could be useful.

Florian


>>> from __future__ import braces
  File "<stdin>", line 1
SyntaxError: not a chance

Offline

#5 2012-11-13 13:49:10

10PinkPanther
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 333

Re: Popular blank screen

Hi!
I have Intel chipset and the same problem.I had to add "nomodeset" at the END of the line and it workes just fine.

Offline

#6 2012-11-13 17:15:58

MadTux
Member
Registered: 2009-09-20
Posts: 553

Re: Popular blank screen

Do you know the exact model of your graphics card? Usually, Intel cards don't require non-free software/firmware. You probably already tried that, but just to be sure: did you press a key when the screen goes black, just to make sure it is not some kind of weird power management feature?

Offline

#7 2012-11-13 17:26:55

10PinkPanther
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 333

Re: Popular blank screen

Hi again!
No I didn't press anything.When I install Linux for 95% of distros I must add "nomodeset" or "i915=0" for graphics problems.I have Broadcom 4312 wireless card so there I must install b43 firmware and b43-fwcutter.I've tried many distros but only 3 or 4 work out of the box on my emachines e525 laptop.I think inside is Intel G 4500-that's what you asked for.When you tried "nomodeset" did you put it on the end of the line?I did and installed Arch 5 days ago.I hope you will find the way to make things work.

Offline

#8 2012-11-13 17:29:26

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Popular blank screen

I think you want early KMS.  It is covered in the wiki on the Intel page.  You simply have to append i915.modeset=1.  If you have it wait for udev to poll for devices and load modules, Intel gpus tend to leave you with a blank screen.  I have this issue with my Ivy Bridge i5 and with my Macbook 2,1.

Offline

#9 2012-11-13 17:33:52

MadTux
Member
Registered: 2009-09-20
Posts: 553

Re: Popular blank screen

10PinkPanther wrote:

Hi again!
No I didn't press anything.When I install Linux for 95% of distros I must add "nomodeset" or "i915=0" for graphics problems.I have Broadcom 4312 wireless card so there I must install b43 firmware and b43-fwcutter.I've tried many distros but only 3 or 4 work out of the box on my emachines e525 laptop.I think inside is Intel G 4500-that's what you asked for.When you tried "nomodeset" did you put it on the end of the line?I did and installed Arch 5 days ago.I hope you will find the way to make things work.

Thats interesting. My laptop has Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD, but I don't need nomodeset and it boots without problems. I have even configured it to early KMS start, which works fine.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KM … _KMS_start

Offline

#10 2012-11-13 17:38:23

10PinkPanther
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 333

Re: Popular blank screen

Glad you fixed it.

Offline

#11 2012-11-14 02:16:29

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 85

Re: Popular blank screen

I tried the following suggestions:

gma500_gfx.blacklist=yes
i915=0
i915.modeset=1

and same results sad

I can't access anything because all goes to blank, yes, I press all keys sad
I'm attaching my current lspci:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
04:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation WiFi Link 5100
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5784M Gigabit Ethernet PCIe (rev 10)

My laptop is an intel core 2 duo cpu T6600 @ 2.20 GHz


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

#12 2012-11-14 02:30:35

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Popular blank screen

Joel, try nomodeset.  You should also give it a sec to "boot" and see if you can issue a reboot or shutdown command.  Because if that works, then you know it is booting. If not, then you have more than just a graphics issue on your hands.

Offline

#13 2012-11-16 02:37:50

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 85

Re: Popular blank screen

I tried once again WonderWoofy suggestion, I use nomodeset, I wait like a minute and I got the same results,

exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x6
status: { DRDY ERR }

I'm using the same ISO CD that I used to install archlinux in my pc, so I don't think is the ISO CD...

what more can it be? My dvd drive can install normally debian, so I don't think is dying

PS: I  tried another linux distro (the mint one) and with nomodeset, worked sad

Last edited by Joel (2012-11-16 02:46:53)


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

#14 2012-11-21 15:48:38

ragarain
Member
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 1

Re: Popular blank screen

Hi!

I am having the same problem (as well with every other linux distribution I tried). Couple years back everything worked like a charm, same hardware.

acpi=off DOES work for me as kernel param but of course then I can't start x ...

there MUST be some solution to this sillyness ... can't imagine I'm the only one with this problem ... :S

Offline

#15 2012-11-21 23:08:01

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 85

Re: Popular blank screen

ragarain wrote:

Hi!

I am having the same problem (as well with every other linux distribution I tried). Couple years back everything worked like a charm, same hardware.

acpi=off DOES work for me as kernel param but of course then I can't start x ...

there MUST be some solution to this sillyness ... can't imagine I'm the only one with this problem ... :S

Well...I still have the problem, right now my solution is either keep debian (squeeze) or try another distro (mint, xubuntu LTS), distro examples that accept nomodeset in my laptop


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

#16 2012-11-22 01:14:23

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Popular blank screen

Joel wrote:

I tried once again WonderWoofy suggestion, I use nomodeset, I wait like a minute and I got the same results,

exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x6
status: { DRDY ERR }

Googling suggests this is a hard drive issue. But I don't understand that since you are booting from CD...

I doubt this has anything to do with your issue and it isn't meant to affect intel machines but you could try limiting the RAM to less than 4G. (I've seen one claim that this bug affects intel machines but frankly I don't believe it so I would be surprised if this is related. However, I mention it just in case you want to try it on the off chance.)

Last edited by cfr (2012-11-22 01:24:44)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#17 2012-11-22 06:25:49

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 85

Re: Popular blank screen

Well, I can try to limit my ram less than 4 GB, although I have the idea that x86_64 installations should read more then 4 GB of ram, dependen nowadays of laptops hardware systems :\


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB