You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-30 12:49:00

PhotonX
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2008-08-10
Posts: 431

[Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

Hello community,

I'm the maintainer of the speed-dreams-svn package (mainly for people that want to do some testing with SD's current SVN version, for everybody else the community package is better fitting).  Unfortunately, the SVN tree is really huge in this case. I observed that after "make" the /tmp folder already eats up 6,7GB and should get even bigger when makepkg calls "make install". But I never came to this point, because my swap got full and my system froze... So I wonder whether there is any way to avoid this problem or the package should just be removed from AUR due to impracticability. smile

Thanks for any hint,
PhotonX

Last edited by PhotonX (2012-12-02 09:29:46)


Desktop: http://www.sysprofile.de/id15562, Arch Linux    |    Notebook: Thinkpad X200 Tablet, Manjaro

The very worst thing you can do with free software is to download it, see that it doesn't work for some reason, leave it, and tell your friends that it doesn't work.  -  Tuomas Lukka

Offline

#2 2012-11-30 16:10:13

Stefan Husmann
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-07
Posts: 1,009

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

Try to not use the /tmp folder.

Offline

#3 2012-11-30 17:39:55

PhotonX
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2008-08-10
Posts: 431

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

Isn't makepkg using /tmp automatically? And if there is any possibility to change the folder, how to do so? I mean, after the installation (say, using some AUR helper) the build files should be removed, so using /tmp isn't such a bad idea...


Desktop: http://www.sysprofile.de/id15562, Arch Linux    |    Notebook: Thinkpad X200 Tablet, Manjaro

The very worst thing you can do with free software is to download it, see that it doesn't work for some reason, leave it, and tell your friends that it doesn't work.  -  Tuomas Lukka

Offline

#4 2012-11-30 18:54:41

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,724
Website

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

I thought makepkg uses the current directory unless BUILDDIR is set in makepkg.conf. If that isn't the case then try setting BUILDDIR to something on a real disk.

I haven't touched it in ages so it may be broken, but take a look at svn-export. I think I wrote it for such situations where the full SVN history is ridiculously huge and completely unneeded for building the package.

Of course, if the 6.7 GB is only current data then it won't help.

Offline

#5 2012-11-30 18:58:10

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,532

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

PhotonX wrote:

Isn't makepkg using /tmp automatically?

No, it uses the directory you run it in. Why do you think it uses /tmp?


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#6 2012-11-30 20:12:17

PhotonX
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2008-08-10
Posts: 431

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

Oh, my bad, actually I'm using yaourt and yaourt uses /tmp. With a direct makepkg call everything is fine. I suppose, from within yaourt there is no possibility to adjust the temp path?


Desktop: http://www.sysprofile.de/id15562, Arch Linux    |    Notebook: Thinkpad X200 Tablet, Manjaro

The very worst thing you can do with free software is to download it, see that it doesn't work for some reason, leave it, and tell your friends that it doesn't work.  -  Tuomas Lukka

Offline

#7 2012-11-30 20:39:40

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,532

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

man yaourt yaourtrc

Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#8 2012-11-30 20:57:19

PhotonX
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2008-08-10
Posts: 431

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

Thanks, but I meant kind of changing the path from within the PKGBUILD such that users of the package don't run into trouble like me. smile


Desktop: http://www.sysprofile.de/id15562, Arch Linux    |    Notebook: Thinkpad X200 Tablet, Manjaro

The very worst thing you can do with free software is to download it, see that it doesn't work for some reason, leave it, and tell your friends that it doesn't work.  -  Tuomas Lukka

Offline

#9 2012-11-30 21:02:23

Ramses de Norre
Member
From: Leuven - Belgium
Registered: 2007-03-27
Posts: 1,289

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

The PKGBUILD should not contain local build info, just the recipe to build the package. Any configuration needed by the actual building mechanism on the local machine, should be configured in some config file on that machine.

Offline

#10 2012-11-30 21:16:00

PhotonX
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2008-08-10
Posts: 431

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

This is true, but since this issue is only present in this specific package I cannot expect the users to care about the strange path configuration, I suppose...


Desktop: http://www.sysprofile.de/id15562, Arch Linux    |    Notebook: Thinkpad X200 Tablet, Manjaro

The very worst thing you can do with free software is to download it, see that it doesn't work for some reason, leave it, and tell your friends that it doesn't work.  -  Tuomas Lukka

Offline

#11 2012-11-30 22:26:14

Ramses de Norre
Member
From: Leuven - Belgium
Registered: 2007-03-27
Posts: 1,289

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

We do expect people to have adequate settings for building any other package, don't we?

It would be terribly wrong to let infrastructural configurations mix up with the building recipe. I don't want this package to not build in ram on my supercomputer because your machine happens to not have enough ram, I want _my_ config to decide where to build it.

Offline

#12 2012-12-02 00:02:11

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,724
Website

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

PhotonX wrote:

This is true, but since this issue is only present in this specific package I cannot expect the users to care about the strange path configuration, I suppose...

This is Arch. Users can be expected to deal with configuration files themselves when the need arises. I suggest that you simply add a message to the build function warning the user of the required size.

Besides, this is a yaourt issue as vanilla makepkg does not use /tmp by default. You should not add nasty hacks to PKGBUILDs to enable unofficial AUR helpers to manage edge cases.

Offline

#13 2012-12-02 09:29:12

PhotonX
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2008-08-10
Posts: 431

Re: [Solved] Building package not possible due to big size - what to do?

Thanks for your advice guys, I updated the package accordingly.


Desktop: http://www.sysprofile.de/id15562, Arch Linux    |    Notebook: Thinkpad X200 Tablet, Manjaro

The very worst thing you can do with free software is to download it, see that it doesn't work for some reason, leave it, and tell your friends that it doesn't work.  -  Tuomas Lukka

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB