You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-02 06:54:15

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

[SOLVED] Grub 2 gives Error: Invalid Signature

Hello everyone.

I am trying to dual boot Arch and Windows 7. I am boot into Arch with no problem but when I select Windows 7; I am greeted with the 'Error: Invalid Signature' and redirects back to the Grub 2 menu.

I have googled and have tried many times, so I thought I would come to the endless supply of knowledge of the bbs.archlinux forums.

I can boot into Windows when I have it as the first boot drive in the BIOS, so I Windows is fine. It's got to be one simple step I'm missing here.

P.S. I really wasn't sure where to put this post.

I'll go ahead and list some (hopefully) useful information:

sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sdc: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes, 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdc1   *          63     1992059      995998+  83  Linux
Partition 1 does not start on physical sector boundary.
/dev/sdc2         1992060     9992429     4000185   82  Linux swap / Solaris
Partition 2 does not start on physical sector boundary.
/dev/sdc3         9992430   976773167   483390369   83  Linux
Partition 3 does not start on physical sector boundary.

Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes, 1953525168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0ca96061

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *        2048  1953521663   976759808    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Disk /dev/sda: 60.0 GB, 60022480896 bytes, 117231408 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x4df1d31e

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1            2048   117227519    58612736    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Where /dev/sda is Windows
           /dev/sdb is an extra disk that holds music and documents
           /dev/sdc is Arch
                   sdc1 is /boot
                   sdc2 is swap
                   sdc3 is root

Also my BIOS are set up to boot the Arch disk, then Windows, and final the extra disk.

/etc/grub.d/40_custom:

#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

menuentry "Windows 7" {
	set root=(hd0,1)
	drivemap -s (hd0) (hd1)
	chainloader +1
}

/boot/grub/grub.cfg

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="0"

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd2,msdos3'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos3 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos3 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos3  c15450d4-4fe6-4124-aa4e-a6419188845b
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root c15450d4-4fe6-4124-aa4e-a6419188845b
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-true-c15450d4-4fe6-4124-aa4e-a6419188845b' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd2,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos1  4637508e-7f78-4f2d-9cd7-90868f1de62f
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4637508e-7f78-4f2d-9cd7-90868f1de62f
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
	linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=c15450d4-4fe6-4124-aa4e-a6419188845b ro  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/initramfs-linux.img
}
menuentry 'Arch GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel (Fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-fallback-c15450d4-4fe6-4124-aa4e-a6419188845b' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd2,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos1  4637508e-7f78-4f2d-9cd7-90868f1de62f
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4637508e-7f78-4f2d-9cd7-90868f1de62f
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
	linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=c15450d4-4fe6-4124-aa4e-a6419188845b ro  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

menuentry "Windows 7" {
	set root=(hd0,1)
	drivemap -s (hd0) (hd1)
	chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

Thanks in Advance for anyone that is willing to help. Let me know if you need anymore information.

I am going to keep on researching and trying.

Last edited by pjk1939 (2012-12-02 23:22:35)

Offline

#2 2012-12-02 19:13:03

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] Grub 2 gives Error: Invalid Signature

Alright. Some more things that I have tried and don't work. Still receiving the same error message.

1. Since the Windows partition is /dev/sda1. I removed the

drivemap -s (hd0) (hd1)

2. I also tried adding

"insmod part_msdos"

and replacing the 1 in

set=root(hd0, 1)

with msdos1 to give me

 set=root(hd0,msdos1)

3. I also tried adding

 chainloader (hd0, 1)+1 

Thanks for any help.

Offline

#3 2012-12-02 23:21:19

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] Grub 2 gives Error: Invalid Signature

Alright everyone I got it working. I will show what I did and mark as solved.

For some reason, that I do not know the answer too, the Window's bootloader was on my extra harddrive /dev/sdb1 as opposed to /dev/sda1, where my Windows partion actually is. I'm not sure what I did to do that or if that is just is just how Windows works.

my /etc/grub/40_custom:

 #!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

menuentry "Windows 7" {
	insmod ntfs
	set root=(hd0,1)
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set BE4CA71B4CA6CD89
	chainloader +1
}

I added in the

 insmod ntfs 

and

 search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set BE4CA71B4CA6CD89

so that it would boot from the /dev/sdb1 drive.

I found the UUID by running the command:

sudo blkid

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB