You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-02 10:16:31

semberal
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 3
Website

RPM builds on Arch Linux

Hi,

I've recently switched from Fedora to Arch linux on my work computer. We are using RPM packages for deployment of our application into both the testing and production environments and, therefore, I need to be able to create an RPM on Arch Linux (we're using rpmbuild scripts). I found in AUR the rpm package which provides the rpmbuild script, but the build fails with the following error message:

error: cannot open Packages(0) index: No such file or directory(2)
	DB: Berkeley DB 5.1.29: (October 25, 2011)
error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
error: cannot open Packages(0) index: No such file or directory(2)
	DB: Berkeley DB 5.1.29: (October 25, 2011)
error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
error: cannot open Packages(0) index: No such file or directory(2)
	DB: Berkeley DB 5.1.29: (October 25, 2011)
error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
error: cannot open Packages(0) index: No such file or directory(2)
	DB: Berkeley DB 5.1.29: (October 25, 2011)
error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
sh: line 0: fg: no job control
error: cannot open Packages(0) index: No such file or directory(2)
	DB: Berkeley DB 5.1.29: (October 25, 2011)
error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm

It looks li ke I need to bootstrap the RPM database somehow. Do you have any ideas? Thank you.

Last edited by semberal (2012-12-02 10:26:25)

Offline

#2 2012-12-02 10:52:53

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: RPM builds on Arch Linux

You may be able to build a rpm on Arch, but I doubt that would then work on Fedora. Better install either a VM or chroot with Fedora.

Online

#3 2012-12-21 18:00:45

vwyodajl
Member
Registered: 2012-01-21
Posts: 183

Re: RPM builds on Arch Linux

Have you looked into FMP[1] to see if it would suit your needs. I build all my RPM related packages for work on a Arch machine using FPM. I love it personally and has always been much easier to use than rpmbuild, and its package config files are more like PKGBUILD's to me. It is designed to build RPM, Deb's and so on but does not matter what the host packaging manager is.

Jordon is also a great maintainer of his software. He is almost always on IRC and quickly helps or resolves issues with the software.

HTH
[1]https://github.com/jordansissel/fpm

Can be found on AUR https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/ruby-fpm/

Edit: Added link to AUR

Last edited by vwyodajl (2012-12-21 18:12:29)

Offline

#4 2015-11-04 05:25:39

lyman
Member
From: China
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 19
Website

Re: RPM builds on Arch Linux

vwyodajl wrote:

Have you looked into FMP[1] to see if it would suit your needs. I build all my RPM related packages for work on a Arch machine using FPM. I love it personally and has always been much easier to use than rpmbuild, and its package config files are more like PKGBUILD's to me. It is designed to build RPM, Deb's and so on but does not matter what the host packaging manager is.

Jordon is also a great maintainer of his software. He is almost always on IRC and quickly helps or resolves issues with the software.

HTH
[1]https://github.com/jordansissel/fpm

Can be found on AUR https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/ruby-fpm/

Edit: Added link to AUR

are you sure fpm could handle rpm? I just tried out fpm and it seems fpm still needs rpmbuild to finish packaging a rpm.

$ fpm -s tar -t rpm whatever.tar.gz
no value for epoch is set, defaulting to nil {:level=>:warn}
no value for epoch is set, defaulting to nil {:level=>:warn}
Need executable 'rpmbuild' to convert tar to rpm {:level=>:error}

arch x86_64 on Dell E7450

Offline

#5 2015-11-04 11:21:03

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,019

Re: RPM builds on Arch Linux

Please don't necrobump, lyman.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … bumping.22

Closing.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB