You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-02 04:44:07

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

[CLOSED] windows opening up on second monitor in twinview

Hello all,

Just did a re-install of Arch with gnome/cinnamon, running nvidia drivers from repos. 

I have twinview set up, which is nice to have in linux.  Not sure if this matters, but my main monitor is a 1920x1080, and my second monitor is to the left and is 1680x1050.

Whenever I open applications, or games, the windows spawn in the right monitor.  Is there a way to get them to open in the main (1920x1080) monitor?

--nixIT

EDIT.  Just decided to turn off dual monitors when gaming.  when browsing, don't like windows opening on the second monitor, because it's not always on, but I can live with it.

Last edited by nixIT (2013-01-14 20:09:00)


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#2 2012-12-02 17:39:35

UnsolvedCypher
Member
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 198

Re: [CLOSED] windows opening up on second monitor in twinview

Are you sure that one of the displays is configured to be your main one? If you go to displays in settings, try dragging the black bar over to the 1920x1080 monitor.

Offline

#3 2012-12-07 23:06:30

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: [CLOSED] windows opening up on second monitor in twinview

Yup, the 1920x1080 is set as the primary display.  Not sure why this is happening.
does it matter that my secondary display is to the right of my primary?


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#4 2012-12-08 01:17:03

UnsolvedCypher
Member
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 198

Re: [CLOSED] windows opening up on second monitor in twinview

nixIT wrote:

does it matter that my secondary display is to the right of my primary?

It shouldn't, as long as you have informed settings of this.

Offline

#5 2012-12-09 02:32:55

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: [CLOSED] windows opening up on second monitor in twinview

UnsolvedCypher wrote:
nixIT wrote:

does it matter that my secondary display is to the right of my primary?

It shouldn't, as long as you have informed settings of this.

I know it shouldn't, but unfortunately the windows keep opening on the second monitor, which is on the left of my main display.

I tried messing with the DFP modes in the xorg.conf, but I'm not sure what I'm doing, and I didn't see any results.  Any way to get arch to reconfigure them so the windows open on the main monitor (1920x1080)?

--nixIT


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#6 2013-01-12 00:06:04

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: [CLOSED] windows opening up on second monitor in twinview

I had more time over the holidays to play with this, and I started off fresh, with only one monitor hooked up, and windows and games opened fine on it.  The moment I connected the second monitor, all new browser windows and windows games through wine open on the second monitor. 

I double and triple checked the system to make sure my 1920x1080 monitor is set as primary in Arch, and it is.  Not sure where to go from here.

I just noticed that under arandr and xrandr, my displays are:

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3600 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-2 connected 1920x1080+1680+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+
   1680x1050      60.0  
   1600x1200      60.0  
   1440x900       59.9  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     72.2     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     59.9  
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-3 connected 1680x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 430mm x 270mm
   1680x1050      59.9*+
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     60.3  
   640x480        75.0     59.9  

I'm not sure why DVI-0 and DVI-1 are not used.  I only see 2 DVI ports on my card.

And 2, in arandr,  under the Outputs menu option, It's listed:

HDMI-0
DVI-1
DVI-0
DVI-3  (being my non primary monitor @ 1680x1050, and sitting to the left of my primary)
DVI-2  (primary @1920x1080 sitting to the right of my secondary)

Would the order have anything to do with it?  if so, is there a way for me to change it?

any help deciphering this would be appreciated.

--nixIT

Last edited by nixIT (2013-01-12 00:20:06)


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB