You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-05 22:10:01

Xaero252
Member
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 103

30-bit "Deep Color" Support lacking?

Well, I just manually set my display depth to 30-bit, I have a Dell U2410, which supports 96% of the adobe RBG spectrum, at 1.07bn colors, and 30-bit deep color. I have a graphics card with HDMI 1.3, and am connected via HDMI.
I'm using a GTX 460, and may I just say that things don't look right.

Every GTK application has a blinds-like transparency to them on flat menu surfaces (ex. Firefox's menu bar is semi-transparent with opaque lines through it, showing the background behind)
Non GTK Applications seem to render just fine (Chromium, for example worked great) Compiz limits the window rendering region to roughly 75% of the screen, centered vertically, this region is surrounded by a strange "blue glowing border"

I'll update this post with a screenshot in a second to better depict the picture, but am I alone on this?


Edit: Cannot take screenshots apparently, either... they just show up black.

Last edited by Xaero252 (2012-12-05 22:15:13)

Offline

#2 2012-12-07 11:32:21

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,021

Re: 30-bit "Deep Color" Support lacking?

How did you set it up to 30bit and why didn't you just go with the default 32bit ?


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#3 2012-12-10 03:36:09

Xaero252
Member
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 103

Re: 30-bit "Deep Color" Support lacking?

moetunes wrote:

How did you set it up to 30bit and why didn't you just go with the default 32bit ?

The default color depth in Xorg (and Windows, Mac) is 24-bit, with an 8-bit alpha channel ("32 bit");
This is 8 bits per channel, Red, Green Blue and Alpha (3 color channels, 1 alpha channel, 8bpc = 32 bits of information) this gives us the normal 16.7m colors.
In my case I have a monitor supporting 30 bit color, which totals 1.07bn colors
I set this in xorg.conf. DefaultDepth 30 and Depth 30 in their proper locations. The majority of things renders fine, barring things like images rendered via Feh, and GTK stuff. QT applications, and things rendered by my compositing window manager look fine, with the exception of the issue noted above. I'll try and obtain a screenshot using Compiz's screenshot plugin to better describe the issue and provide more information so I can hopefully get more input.
Thanks for the response.

Offline

#4 2012-12-10 09:06:16

Xaero252
Member
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 103

Re: 30-bit "Deep Color" Support lacking?

Here is a screenshot depicting this issue perfectly, chromium rendering fine, firefox being broken, render limitations broken transparency, font rendering issues.
http://i.imm.io/OCcx.png

Offline

#5 2012-12-10 10:49:28

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: 30-bit "Deep Color" Support lacking?

Firefox and Chromium are both GTK2-based. See for yourself:

$ pacman -Qi chromium
$ pacman -Qi firefox

Last edited by DSpider (2012-12-10 10:50:26)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#6 2012-12-10 11:21:32

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: 30-bit "Deep Color" Support lacking?

I'd say Chromium working fine has something to do with its non-standard window borders.
When I was using xcompmgr, Chromium was one big visual glitch if custom borders were enabled.

Offline

#7 2012-12-10 19:57:02

Tes--
Member
Registered: 2009-11-13
Posts: 42

Re: 30-bit "Deep Color" Support lacking?

Firefox is not "really" a GTK application. It also uses its own font renderer. Can you test if this https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=625202 is what you are experiencing with GTK applications, and if so, update that bugreport.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB