You are not logged in.

#526 2012-08-11 17:49:14

neighborhoodhacker
Member
Registered: 2012-08-06
Posts: 45

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

mintmenu is crashing after I installed it. I don't who maintains it (repo owner or upstream) but this was the main reason I wanted MATE. Anyone have better luck?

Offline

#527 2012-08-26 00:25:49

Rukiri
Member
Registered: 2011-11-08
Posts: 45

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Error installing mate applets.
Can not resolve dependancy cpufrequtils.

Offline

#528 2012-09-10 01:05:38

andjeng
Member
From: Indonesia
Registered: 2012-08-30
Posts: 146

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

+1 ruriki.
maybe if the dev replace cpufreq-utils with cpupower, will solve the problem. smile


just looking around. wink

Offline

#529 2012-10-03 11:40:45

bones
Member
From: Brisbane
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 321
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Not sure if you guys have solved the mate-applets problem. I was not able to upgrade arch because of this. What I did was delete mate-applets from my cache then did a pacman -S mate-applets, then did a pacman -Syu and the problem was fixed. Not sure why this was needed but it's all good now.


"When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return."

Offline

#530 2012-11-01 16:33:10

shmibs
Member
Registered: 2012-09-11
Posts: 87

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

i just did a fresh install and all the applets "just worked" for me this time. it looks like they switched to something other that cpufrequtils.


[site] | [dotfiles] | あたしたち、人間じゃないの?

Offline

#531 2012-11-01 16:35:06

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

In arch cpufrequtils is now deprecated in favor of cpupower, which is nearly the same but better.

Offline

#532 2012-11-02 16:11:08

onexused
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 55

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

After I updated yesterday, Maté's auto mounter no longer works.  It has been suggested this is related to removing Consolekit.
screenshot1102201212040.png

Last edited by onexused (2012-11-02 16:14:22)

Offline

#533 2012-11-05 18:59:19

olace
Member
Registered: 2008-02-27
Posts: 8

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Caja using much cpu here hmm

PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND
14602 user     20   0 1090m  29m  19m S 110,0  0,7   0:25.81 caja

Offline

#534 2012-11-06 18:16:18

zAo
Member
Registered: 2012-11-01
Posts: 26

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Is it possible to get global menus?

Offline

#535 2012-11-08 12:31:33

biltong
Member
From: South Africa
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 116

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND 
589 logan      1   0 1191m  30m  21m S  50.9  0.3   2:43.33 caja

Same issue here, caja using 50% CPU on my 2600k. I notice whenever I right click the desktop, the "paste" option keeps flickering on and off, so I'm assuming something has broken recently.

EDIT: The mate repo is out of date, it has been fixed in the latest release. I'm not sure where to go to get the updated package, but for now here is a workaround I found:
Kill caja first, then:

mkdir ~/.cache/thumbnails
rm -r ~/.thumbnails
ln -s ~/.cache/thumbnails ~/.thumbnails

Worked for me.

Last edited by biltong (2012-11-08 20:35:20)

Offline

#536 2012-11-09 19:44:57

shohart
Member
Registered: 2011-05-19
Posts: 39

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Hello everyone, first of all - thanx developers for the greate fork/work.)))
second - i have several problems with MATE desktop, and lightdm-gtk-greeter.

it seems that mate do not have ability to shutdown/reboot a pc... i mean in shutdown dialog there are only hibernate and suspend options.

besides i can not apply background in lightdm and there are no options in power down dialog in lighdm at all. menu is empty.

here are my lightdm.conf and lightdm-gtk-greeter.conf

lightdm

#
# General configuration
#
# start-default-seat = True to always start one seat if none are defined in the configuration
# greeter-user = User to run greeter as
# minimum-display-number = Minimum display number to use for X servers
# minimum-vt = First VT to run displays on
# lock-memory = True to prevent memory from being paged to disk
# user-authority-in-system-dir = True if session authority should be in the system location
# guest-account-script = Script to be run to setup guest account
# log-directory = Directory to log information to
# run-directory = Directory to put running state in
# cache-directory = Directory to cache to
# xsessions-directory = Directory to find X sessions
# remote-sessions-directory = Directory to find remote sessions
# xgreeters-directory = Directory to find X greeters
#
[LightDM]
#start-default-seat=true
#greeter-user=lightdm
#minimum-display-number=0
#minimum-vt=7
#lock-memory=true
#user-authority-in-system-dir=false
#guest-account-script=guest-account
#log-directory=/var/log/lightdm
run-directory=/run/lightdm
#cache-directory=/var/cache/lightdm
#xsessions-directory=/usr/share/xsessions
#remote-sessions-directory=/usr/share/lightdm/remote-sessions
#xgreeters-directory=/usr/share/xgreeters

#
# Seat defaults
#
# type = Seat type (xlocal, xremote)
# xserver-command = X server command to run (can also contain arguments e.g. X -special-option)
# xserver-layout = Layout to pass to X server
# xserver-config = Config file to pass to X server
# xserver-allow-tcp = True if TCP/IP connections are allowed to this X server
# xdmcp-manager = XDMCP manager to connect to (implies xserver-allow-tcp=true)
# xdmcp-port = XDMCP UDP/IP port to communicate on
# xdmcp-key = Authentication key to use for XDM-AUTHENTICATION-1 (stored in keys.conf)
# greeter-session = Session to load for greeter
# greeter-hide-users = True to hide the user list
# greeter-allow-guest = True if the greeter should show a guest login option
# greeter-show-manual-login = True if the greeter should offer a manual login option
# greeter-show-remote-login = True if the greeter should offer a remote login option
# user-session = Session to load for users
# allow-guest = True if guest login is allowed
# guest-session = Session to load for guests (overrides user-session)
# session-wrapper = Wrapper script to run session with
# display-setup-script = Script to run when starting a greeter session (runs as root)
# greeter-setup-script = Script to run when starting a greeter (runs as root)
# session-setup-script = Script to run when starting a user session (runs as root)
# session-cleanup-script = Script to run when quitting a user session (runs as root)
# autologin-guest = True to log in as guest by default
# autologin-user = User to log in with by default (overrides autologin-guest)
# autologin-user-timeout = Number of seconds to wait before loading default user
# autologin-session = Session to load for automatic login (overrides user-session)
# exit-on-failure = True if the daemon should exit if this seat fails
#
[SeatDefaults]
#type=xlocal
#xserver-command=X
#xserver-layout=
#xserver-config=
#xserver-allow-tcp=false
#xdmcp-manager=
#xdmcp-port=177
#xdmcp-key=
greeter-session=lightdm-gtk-greeter
#greeter-hide-users=false
#greeter-allow-guest=true
#greeter-show-manual-login=false
#greeter-show-remote-login=true
#user-session=default
#allow-guest=true
#guest-session=UNIMPLEMENTED
session-wrapper=/etc/lightdm/xsession
#display-setup-script=
#greeter-setup-script=
#session-setup-script=
#session-cleanup-script=
#autologin-guest=false
#autologin-user=
#autologin-user-timeout=0
#autologin-session=UNIMPLEMENTED
#pam-service=lightdm-autologin
#exit-on-failure=false

#
# Seat configuration
#
# Each seat must start with "Seat:".
# Uses settings from [SeatDefaults], any of these can be overriden by setting them in this section.
#
#[Seat:0]

#
# XDMCP Server configuration
#
# enabled = True if XDMCP connections should be allowed
# port = UDP/IP port to listen for connections on
# key = Authentication key to use for XDM-AUTHENTICATION-1 or blank to not use authentication (stored in keys.conf)
#
# The authentication key is a 56 bit DES key specified in hex as 0xnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.  Alternatively
# it can be a word and the first 7 characters are used as the key.
#
[XDMCPServer]
#enabled=false
#port=177
#key=

#
# VNC Server configuration
#
# enabled = True if VNC connections should be allowed
# port = TCP/IP port to listen for connections on
#
[VNCServer]
#enabled=false
#port=5900
#width=1024
#height=768
#depth=8

gtk-greeter

#
# logo = Logo file to use, either an image absolute path, or a path relative to the greeter data directory
# background = Background file to use, either an image path or a color (e.g. #772953)
# theme-name = GTK+ theme to use
# icon-theme-name = Icon theme to use
# font-name = Font to use
# cursor-name = Cursor theme to use
# xft-antialias = Whether to antialias Xft fonts (true or false)
# xft-dpi = Resolution for Xft in dots per inch (e.g. 96)
# xft-hintstyle = What degree of hinting to use (hintnone, hintslight, hintmedium, or hintfull)
# xft-rgba = Type of subpixel antialiasing (none, rgb, bgr, vrgb or vbgr)
# show-language-selector (true or false)
#
[greeter]
#logo=
background=/usr/share/wallpapers/ComputerDesktopWallpapersCollection477_083.jpg
theme-name=Adwaita
icon-theme-name=mate
font-name=Sans Regular 11
cursor-name=Human
xft-antialias=true
xft-dpi=96
xft-hintstyle=slight
xft-rgba=rgb
show-language-selector=true

thanx!

Offline

#537 2012-11-09 22:55:09

archterux
Member
Registered: 2012-11-09
Posts: 1

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

I got the same problem as shohart :

-no shutdown reboot in shutdown dialog
It doesn't seem to be a question of lightdm for I have the same with gdm.

The rest works fine so far.

Offline

#538 2012-11-15 08:30:28

shohart
Member
Registered: 2011-05-19
Posts: 39

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

archterux wrote:

I got the same problem as shohart :

-no shutdown reboot in shutdown dialog
It doesn't seem to be a question of lightdm for I have the same with gdm.

The rest works fine so far.

it seems that the absence of console kit causes this problem. i solved it this way:

1. installed consolekit-git from AUR
2. enabled service:

systemctl enable console-kit-daemon.service

3. reinstalled systemd-sysvcompat
4. reboted system

it is a pity that MATE still needs consolekit in case that it is dropped in archlinux. will it be moved to systemd-logind sometime?

Offline

#539 2012-11-17 08:25:44

hyuga
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2012-11-03
Posts: 3

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

shohart wrote:

it is a pity that MATE still needs consolekit in case that it is dropped in archlinux. will it be moved to systemd-logind sometime?

systemd-logind support is in the roadmap for the MATE 1.6 release.

A guy is already working on mate-power-manager:
https://github.com/mate-desktop/mate-po … /issues/29

Last edited by hyuga (2012-11-17 08:43:40)

Offline

#540 2012-11-18 07:03:47

shohart
Member
Registered: 2011-05-19
Posts: 39

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

hyuga wrote:
shohart wrote:

it is a pity that MATE still needs consolekit in case that it is dropped in archlinux. will it be moved to systemd-logind sometime?

systemd-logind support is in the roadmap for the MATE 1.6 release.

A guy is already working on mate-power-manager:
https://github.com/mate-desktop/mate-po … /issues/29

cool, cool, cool smile

Offline

#541 2012-12-11 00:52:55

AnnS
Member
From: Venezuela
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 45

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

¡Excelente trabajo, Perberos! smile

But does anyone know how to disable that effect when you minimize a window?
¿Alguien sabe cómo desactivar ese efecto al minimizar una ventana?

Well, I just ticked the reduced_resource option under /apps/marco/general in MateConf. So far I like it more this way. smile

Last edited by AnnS (2012-12-11 14:45:32)


Acer Aspire 7741G-6426 | Intel Core i5-480M 2.66GHz | 8GB RAM DDR3 1333MHz | 640GB HDD 5400RPM | AMD Radeon 6550M 1GB DDR3 |

Lenovo 3000 C200 | Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66GHz | 2GB RAM DDR2 667MHz | 250GB HDD 5400RPM | Intel GMA 950 |

Offline

#542 2012-12-11 03:05:09

JLloyd13
Member
From: halifax, nova scotia
Registered: 2012-06-24
Posts: 107

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

installed it today, running with compiz. I'm not using arch on any of my machines ATM but I can say it works good in fedora!

Offline

#543 2013-02-28 12:35:06

DanielD
Member
Registered: 2013-02-28
Posts: 10

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Hi,
I've just installed Mate, and each time I reboot my keybidings don't work. I have to change to an other keybiding, then put back the keybiding I want, and it works. Until I shutdown my computer...
Did I miss something ?

Offline

#544 2013-04-07 20:12:01

l0vot
Member
Registered: 2011-08-26
Posts: 117

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

I found a few bugs with Mate 1.6.0 on Arch:
1. mateconf-editor is broken, it only edits the obstolete configuration files, and has no effect
2. mate-applets has a couple problems: multiload-applet does not work in the official repository, the frequency scaling applet is missing
3. most of the AUR packages for Mate fail to build due to obstolete/invalid syntax, most of the rest do not work due to their dependancies failing to build
4. moving between panels using keyboard shortcuts is partially broken

The git version of mate-applets works flawlessly; except for the frequency scaling applet. mate-applets refused to build until I disabled the frequency scaling applet. The frequency scaling applet may need to be forked for use with cpupower, or written to autodetect which one is in use, and operate accordingly.

Last edited by l0vot (2013-04-07 20:23:37)

Offline

#545 2013-04-13 09:14:25

brizou
Member
Registered: 2013-04-13
Posts: 16

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Hello everybody,
I have mate 1.6 on my desktop, Yesterday I finally removed gnome but now I don't have volume control anymore, Do you know which missing package might be responsable for that ?

Offline

#546 2013-04-24 22:44:39

jsnlry
Member
Registered: 2012-06-26
Posts: 22

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

@brizou: mate-media is the package you want

@l0vot: I just ran  pacman -Syu  which upgraded many mate-packages. When I now log in to my computer it takes longer than usually and it does not load my personal settings. I get the default mate wallpaper, a mate-panel without anything in it and my keyboard-layout is not de-nodeadkeys anymore. Is this related to the bugs you mentioned? Is there a way to fix it?

EDIT: just found a good hint in mate's wiki: I had to remove some old mate-1.4.0-packages:

pacman -R ffmpegthumbnailer-caja libmate libmatecanvas libmatecomponent libmatecomponentui libmatenotify libmateui mate-conf mate-conf-editor mate-corba mate-mime-data mate-vfs python-corba python-mate python-mate-desktop

Now the system is fast again, but I lost all my configuration (wallpaper, panels, keyboard-layout,...). Would be great, if I could restore it.

Last edited by jsnlry (2013-04-24 23:12:18)

Offline

#547 2013-04-25 00:32:46

jnbek
Member
From: Wasatch Front, USA
Registered: 2012-08-22
Posts: 20

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

I lost all my configuration and customizations on the 1.4 -> 1.6 upgrade too... and the Weather Applet fails too... I was sad, but I got over it without too much pain or misery.


If you can not able use Perl for answer, you are ask wrong question.

Offline

#548 2013-05-06 19:27:04

hel
Member
Registered: 2013-02-21
Posts: 12

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

jsnlry wrote:

EDIT: just found a good hint in mate's wiki: I had to remove some old mate-1.4.0-packages:

pacman -R ffmpegthumbnailer-caja libmate libmatecanvas libmatecomponent libmatecomponentui libmatenotify libmateui mate-conf mate-conf-editor mate-corba mate-mime-data mate-vfs python-corba python-mate python-mate-desktop

Now the system is fast again, but I lost all my configuration (wallpaper, panels, keyboard-layout,...). Would be great, if I could restore it.

From the official homepage http://mate-desktop.org/:
"Unfortunately, due to migration to GSettings, you will lose your current panel layout. All other settings will be migrated if you have MateConf 1.4 installed. "

Offline

#549 2013-05-16 17:49:20

djraymondnm
Member
From: Socorro, NM, USA
Registered: 2011-12-28
Posts: 55
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

After migrating to systemd, sleep happens automatically on my thinkpad x230 when I close the lid
with openbox, icewm, and lxde.

I just installed mate (nice job!) and now sleep does not work on lid closure even though the
power management is set up to make it do so.  Any hints?

-------------------------------------------------------------

Found a solution -- turn off power management in the list of startup applications.  A separate
battery applet allows me to keep track of the battery state.

Last edited by djraymondnm (2013-05-16 19:08:44)

Offline

#550 2013-06-05 10:29:54

danfossi
Member
Registered: 2013-06-05
Posts: 20

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Hi,
I've just installed Mate 1.6 on a new machine and x-caja-desktop continue to respawn, closing all window, top and bottom menu are unavailable. logout/login not improve the situation and also removing ~/.config and reinstalling.

Screenshot here:
https://f.cloud.github.com/assets/35837 … d5af41.png

Step to reproduce:

*  Put in pacman.conf
--
[mate]
SigLevel = Never
Server = http://repo.mate-desktop.org/archlinux/$arch
--

 pacman -Sy mate mate-extra mate-extras 

* Run mate

p.s
I've read and tried this: https://github.com/mate-desktop/mate-se … /issues/19 without success, any idea ?

Last edited by danfossi (2013-06-05 16:15:23)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB