You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-11 12:33:21

GordonGR
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2011-11-07
Posts: 232

[SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

Hallo all.

It might be something I've done (though I did delete my ~/.config/Thunar directory before upgrading), but Thunar doesn't let me drag-and-drop with the right mouse button, thus stopping me from copying something instead of moving it, etc. Has anyone else had that too?

Last edited by GordonGR (2012-12-28 14:34:20)


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3400 @ 2.60GHz, 1878 MB, XFCE 4.12, x86_64. AURs.

“No one without the knowledge of geometry may enter.“ Plato.

Offline

#2 2012-12-11 16:19:34

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 79

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

I can drag-drop, try to change your gtk2 theme. Some themes can make thunar unstable, like context menu appear and vanish.


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

#3 2012-12-11 16:40:48

GordonGR
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2011-11-07
Posts: 232

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

No, it's not that. I tried all my themes.


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3400 @ 2.60GHz, 1878 MB, XFCE 4.12, x86_64. AURs.

“No one without the knowledge of geometry may enter.“ Plato.

Offline

#4 2012-12-11 17:04:41

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

Is it supposed to be with the right-mouse button? I always thought drag and drop was done with the left button?

Offline

#5 2012-12-11 23:47:02

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 79

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

anonymous_user wrote:

Is it supposed to be with the right-mouse button? I always thought drag and drop was done with the left button?

Could be right-hand user smile


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

#6 2012-12-12 03:30:11

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

Joel wrote:
anonymous_user wrote:

Is it supposed to be with the right-mouse button? I always thought drag and drop was done with the left button?

Could be right-hand user

Come on! Read what GordonGR wrote! mad

Microsoft Windows, Nautilus, the Haiku Tracker, and probably many other file managers have a feature where, when you right-click or middle-click and drag an icon to a new location, a pop-up menu appears and asks what you'd like to do (Move, Copy, Link). I thought I used to use this feature in Thunar too but it seems to have stopped working in recent versions. Has anyone else had any experience with it?

EDIT: Here's random blogger talking about the feature in an older version of Thunar: http://jeromeg.blog.free.fr/index.php?p … and-tricks So that's good, I wasn't just imagining the feature. wink

Last edited by drcouzelis (2012-12-12 03:45:05)

Offline

#7 2012-12-12 04:33:00

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

drcouzelis wrote:

Microsoft Windows, Nautilus, the Haiku Tracker, and probably many other file managers have a feature where, when you right-click or middle-click and drag an icon to a new location, a pop-up menu appears and asks what you'd like to do (Move, Copy, Link).

I have never used this feature however if left-mouse button drag and drop does work for GordonGR, then I suggest he file a bug report upstream. Also he might consider downgrading Thunar to an earlier version in the mean time.

P.S. drcouzelis, perhaps you were being sarcastic (and I missed the joke), but that is not a random blogger. Jérôme Guelfucci is one of the Xfce developers iirc.

Last edited by anonymous_user (2012-12-12 04:35:34)

Offline

#8 2012-12-12 07:58:33

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

anonymous_user wrote:
drcouzelis wrote:

Microsoft Windows, Nautilus, the Haiku Tracker, and probably many other file managers have a feature where, when you right-click or middle-click and drag an icon to a new location, a pop-up menu appears and asks what you'd like to do (Move, Copy, Link).

I have never used this feature however if left-mouse button drag and drop does work for GordonGR, then I suggest he file a bug report upstream. Also he might consider downgrading Thunar to an earlier version in the mean time.

P.S. drcouzelis, perhaps you were being sarcastic (and I missed the joke), but that is not a random blogger. Jérôme Guelfucci is one of the Xfce developers iirc.

You know, as I was typing that, I just KNEW someone was going to say something like that. tongue

Sadly, I don't use sarcasm. Instead, I'm just ignorant. hmm

Anyway, I'll look more at version diffs and stuff in the morning. smile

Offline

#9 2012-12-12 11:53:15

GordonGR
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2011-11-07
Posts: 232

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

drcouzelis wrote:

Come on! Read what GordonGR wrote! […] it seems to have stopped working in recent versions.

That's what I was looking for, thanks :-) I'll file a bug report later and report back later.

I can't believe no one is using that feature, it's the most useful thing in a file manager after tabs!


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3400 @ 2.60GHz, 1878 MB, XFCE 4.12, x86_64. AURs.

“No one without the knowledge of geometry may enter.“ Plato.

Offline

#10 2012-12-12 12:35:39

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

GordonGR wrote:

I can't believe no one is using that feature, it's the most useful thing in a file manager after tabs!

I know! Right? I like it the best when a file manager has that pop-up for EVERY click and drag action. I think it was Konqueror that was able to do that... Maybe there's a way to have Thunar behave like that as well. big_smile

Offline

#11 2012-12-12 12:44:05

GordonGR
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2011-11-07
Posts: 232

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

Dolphin does that, actually, but I hate Qt for various reasons. Anyway, I'll ask them smile


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3400 @ 2.60GHz, 1878 MB, XFCE 4.12, x86_64. AURs.

“No one without the knowledge of geometry may enter.“ Plato.

Offline

#12 2012-12-12 14:31:45

GordonGR
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2011-11-07
Posts: 232

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3400 @ 2.60GHz, 1878 MB, XFCE 4.12, x86_64. AURs.

“No one without the knowledge of geometry may enter.“ Plato.

Offline

#13 2012-12-12 15:06:14

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

Oh my gosh! During the time it took for you to create the bug report and for the developer to respond, I TOTALLY found the commit by myself that removes this functionality! (It's the one the developer linked to) big_smile

...I ...just wanted to let someone know how awesome I almost was. sad

On a positive note, after reviewing the code a bit, it looks like it'd be pretty easy to create a one line patch that will make that menu popup with every drag-and-drog, including with the left mouse button. smile

Offline

#14 2012-12-12 15:12:11

GordonGR
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2011-11-07
Posts: 232

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

Hahahahaha!

Well, make an account and file the patch, dude smile


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3400 @ 2.60GHz, 1878 MB, XFCE 4.12, x86_64. AURs.

“No one without the knowledge of geometry may enter.“ Plato.

Offline

#15 2012-12-23 04:59:15

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

...Surprise! I patched Thunar and added it to the AUR: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/thunar-dnd-popup/

I took a copy of the git diff that removed this functionality, reversed it, and cleaned it up a bit. After I get some sleep, I may submit my patch to the bug report you created, but I feel a little silly doing that. I mean, it's just the code that was originally in Thunar put back into Thunar. tongue

One change I made was in regards to the amount of time it takes to active the popup vs the context menu. It was originally tied to the "gtk-menu-popup-delay" variable in your current GTK2 settings file. I changed it to be a static 250 ms.

Offline

#16 2012-12-23 13:58:15

GordonGR
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2011-11-07
Posts: 232

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

Dude, I bow to your awesomeness! You are the epitome of awesomeness, I wanna lick the awesomsause off your PKGBUILD!

Thanks big_smile


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3400 @ 2.60GHz, 1878 MB, XFCE 4.12, x86_64. AURs.

“No one without the knowledge of geometry may enter.“ Plato.

Offline

#17 2012-12-23 21:21:05

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,022

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

Kinky.

Cheers, drcouzelis. Just realised how much I missed this functionality today.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#18 2012-12-27 18:19:53

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

The bug has been resolved and the functionality has been re-added in Thunar 1.6.2. I'll test it out when I get home.

Offline

#19 2012-12-28 14:33:58

GordonGR
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2011-11-07
Posts: 232

Re: [SOLVED] Thunar 1.6 doesn't drag-and-drop with the right mouse button

I've been using it since yesterday and had no problems, so I'm marking this as solved. (Long overdue, I suppose.)


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E3400 @ 2.60GHz, 1878 MB, XFCE 4.12, x86_64. AURs.

“No one without the knowledge of geometry may enter.“ Plato.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB