You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-29 22:24:55

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Problem making jackd run as user [NOT SOLVED]

I use my own 2.6.14 kernel, but I get the same result with arch's 2.6.13-4-3
My user is in the audio group.

This is what I get:

[robert@eleanora ~]$ jackd -R -d alsa
jackd 0.100.0
Copyright 2001-2005 Paul Davis and others.
jackd comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details

JACK compiled with System V SHM support.
cannot lock down memory for jackd (Cannot allocate memory)
loading driver ..
creating alsa driver ... hw:0|hw:0|1024|2|48000|0|0|nomon|swmeter|-|32bit
control device hw:0
configuring for 48000Hz, period = 1024 frames, buffer = 2 periods
nperiods = 2 for capture
nperiods = 2 for playback
JACK: unable to mlock() port buffers: Cannot allocate memory
cannot use real-time scheduling (FIFO at priority 20) [for thread -1228313680, from thread -1228313680] (1: Operation not permitted)
cannot use real-time scheduling (FIFO at priority 10) [for thread -1236706384, from thread -1236706384] (1: Operation not permitted)

It works well for root:

[root@eleanora robert]# jackd -R -d alsa
jackd 0.100.0
Copyright 2001-2005 Paul Davis and others.
jackd comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details

JACK compiled with System V SHM support.
loading driver ..
creating alsa driver ... hw:0|hw:0|1024|2|48000|0|0|nomon|swmeter|-|32bit
control device hw:0
configuring for 48000Hz, period = 1024 frames, buffer = 2 periods
nperiods = 2 for capture
nperiods = 2 for playback

I have tried to follow the suggestion in the wiki to change the /etc/security/limits.conf to

@audio          -       rtprio          70
@audio          -       nice           -10
@audio          -       memlock         250000

But it doesn't change anything.
Does anybody see what I'm doing wrong?

Offline

#2 2005-10-30 12:42:35

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: Problem making jackd run as user [NOT SOLVED]

reb wrote:

I have tried to follow the suggestion in the wiki to change the /etc/security/limits.conf to

@audio          -       rtprio          70
@audio          -       nice           -10
@audio          -       memlock         250000

Your user have to be a member of the audio-group, and you have to relogin
after u made your changes in limit.conf

-neri

Offline

#3 2005-10-30 14:12:12

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: Problem making jackd run as user [NOT SOLVED]

Yes, the user is a memeber of the audio group, and I have re-logged in and rebooted and tried everything I can think of. I have evne looked at the strace output, but it doesn't give any more information than the error messages from jackd.

I have a feeling that it could have to do with my sound card. My laptop has an intel-hda card, and I'm not sure it works perfectly with the driver, it behaves rather strangely. I don't get a Master or PCM mixer control, but I get a Front control, which works, and sometimes for some reason, I also get a PCM control. I have no idea if this can have something to do with my jackd problem, but I thought I'd mention it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB