You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-27 13:46:58

nightfrost
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-16
Posts: 647

non-standard resolution under vmware?

I'm trying to set up winxp under vmware on a laptop. The laptop has a widescreen running at 1280x768 under Linux. In order to have that resolution under winxp, one normally needs to install the intel video drivers. As I guess it isn't possible to install hardware drivers of that kind under vmware, I was wondering if there is any other way to set the resolution to 1280x768. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.

Offline

#2 2005-10-27 14:51:54

jakob
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-10-27
Posts: 419

Re: non-standard resolution under vmware?

right click on the desktop "Properties", then the tab "Settings" doesn't offer you the wanted resolution?

Offline

#3 2005-10-27 15:06:51

sudman1
Member
From: Huntingdon, UK
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 143

Re: non-standard resolution under vmware?

Have you installed the vmware tools installed on your guest OS? The tools supply proper drivers for the vmware video card. If the resolution is not available after using those drivers, you may have to see if vmware has new drivers to support it.


v/r
Suds

Offline

#4 2005-10-27 15:37:55

nightfrost
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-16
Posts: 647

Re: non-standard resolution under vmware?

It's sort of weird; I can't choose 1280x768 from settings tab, but I've noticed that if I choose view -> "autofit guest", vmware can change the resolution to any arbitrary size when in window mode. So, it should be possible somehow.

I have vmware tools installed, but I haven't found newer drivers...

Offline

#5 2005-10-30 11:03:28

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,239

Re: non-standard resolution under vmware?

Which VMware version ?

Also, try posting your q on the VMTN forums http://www.vmware.com/community/index.jspa


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#6 2005-10-30 11:08:09

nightfrost
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-16
Posts: 647

Re: non-standard resolution under vmware?

Sorry, I forgot about this thread. I sort of solved my problem by choosing the resolution as "autofit guest" in window mode. And then I removed the, from the view menu, tabs and status bar. I also removed the window borders. So now, when that window is maximized (but not in full screen), it is in fact working at 1280x768... it's a bit of a cheating , but it works for me...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB