You are not logged in.

#626 2012-12-26 10:24:00

alzuin
Member
From: Lugo di Vicenza
Registered: 2012-12-26
Posts: 8
Website

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Hello,
when I try to compile pf kernel version 3.7.1-2, my console is full of multiple copy of this errors (first 4 lines)

arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_32.h:328:65: error: invalid suffix "m" on integer constant
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_32.h:328:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_32.h:328:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_32.h:328:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
In file included from arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets.c:27:0:
arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_64.c:10:13: warning: ‘syscalls_64’ defined but not used [-Wunused-variable]
make[1]: *** [arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets.s] Errore 1
make: *** [prepare0] Errore 2

Now I'n running:

% uname -a
Linux pc-alberto 3.6-pf #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 6 09:41:09 CET 2012 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Please tell me what can I do to provide more informations to solve the bug.
Thanks,
Alberto

Offline

#627 2012-12-26 16:45:07

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Well, it shouldn't. I have compiled 3.7.1-2 on several boxes without errors.

Compiler warnings shouldn't croak as errors. Are you using any special CFLAGS (e.g. -Werror)? Post your "echo $CFLAGS" here. It might also have been picked from /etc/makepkg.conf. Have you modified the PKGBUILD in any way? Are you using makepkg or some wrapper like yaourt or clyde?

Offline

#628 2012-12-27 11:50:24

alzuin
Member
From: Lugo di Vicenza
Registered: 2012-12-26
Posts: 8
Website

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

nous wrote:

Well, it shouldn't. I have compiled 3.7.1-2 on several boxes without errors.

Compiler warnings shouldn't croak as errors. Are you using any special CFLAGS (e.g. -Werror)? Post your "echo $CFLAGS" here. It might also have been picked from /etc/makepkg.conf. Have you modified the PKGBUILD in any way? Are you using makepkg or some wrapper like yaourt or clyde?

If I do echo $CFLAGS is empty (for me and for root user): strange, because in /etc/makepkg.conf I have a setup (standard):

CFLAGS="-march=x86-64 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe -fstack-protector --param=ssp-buffer-size=4 -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2"

CXXFLAGS is identical and MAKEFLAGS is commented.

I didn't modified PKGBUILD and I use yaourt, but I tried also using makepkg with the same results. I use standard options hitting "enter" to all questions.

Now I used makepkg with -L options to have a build logfile: this is the relevant part:

==============================================================
==> Hit <P>     :  to include the patchlevel number in kernver
==>                (i.e. linux-pf-[kgeneric[k-3.7.1)
==> Hit <ENTER> :  to remove the patchlevel number from kernver (default)
==>                (i.e. linux-pf-[kgeneric[k-3.7)
  HOSTCC  scripts/basic/fixdep
  HOSTCC  scripts/kconfig/conf.o
  SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/zconf.tab.c
  SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/zconf.lex.c
  SHIPPED scripts/kconfig/zconf.hash.c
  HOSTCC  scripts/kconfig/zconf.tab.o
  HOSTLD  scripts/kconfig/conf
scripts/kconfig/conf --silentoldconfig Kconfig
#
# configuration written to .config
#
  SYSHDR  arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/uapi/asm/unistd_32.h
  SYSHDR  arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/uapi/asm/unistd_64.h
  SYSHDR  arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/uapi/asm/unistd_x32.h
  SYSTBL  arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/asm/syscalls_32.h
  SYSHDR  arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/asm/unistd_32_ia32.h
  SYSHDR  arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/asm/unistd_64_x32.h
  SYSTBL  arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h
  HOSTCC  arch/x86/tools/relocs
  WRAP    arch/x86/include/generated/asm/clkdev.h
  CHK     include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h
  UPD     include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h
  CHK     include/generated/utsrelease.h
  UPD     include/generated/utsrelease.h
  CC      kernel/bounds.s
  GEN     include/generated/bounds.h
  CC      arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets.s
In file included from arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_64.c:11:0,
                 from arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets.c:27:
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:1:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:1:1: error: expected expression before ‘[’ token
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:1:55: error: invalid suffix "m" on integer constant
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:1:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:1:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:1:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:2:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:2:57: error: invalid suffix "m" on integer constant
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:2:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:2:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:2:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:3:1: error: stray ‘\33’ in program
arch/x86/include/generated/asm/syscalls_64.h:3:64: error: invalid suffix "m" on integer constant

Thanks,
Alberto

Offline

#629 2012-12-27 12:30:57

alzuin
Member
From: Lugo di Vicenza
Registered: 2012-12-26
Posts: 8
Website

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Just a note: I tried to install linux-pf via yaourt on another (fresh) arch linux PC using the same standard options, the compilation ended correctly.
I tried to echo $CFLAGS also on this box, but It return me an empty string link my first PC.
The only one strange thing is the second (OK) PC generate this files:
config.GENERIC-x86_64
config.local

The first (wrong) PC generate:
config..[1:31m.[KGENERIC.[m.[K-x86_64
config.local

The size of all 4 config files are the same (132396 bytes), only the name of the first file has something wrong; in fact, in the last question of makepkg, I have also some problem on the package name outputted by makepkg, as you can see in the log.
I tried to compile using "G" option on the first PC to make a generic package name, but the result is the same.
I don't understand if this is THE problem of if this is ANOTHER problem, but obviously this is a problem of my first PC: probally I touched something wrong but I don't known what.

If I can try something before reformatting....

Thanks,
Alberto

Offline

#630 2012-12-27 13:36:27

alzuin
Member
From: Lugo di Vicenza
Registered: 2012-12-26
Posts: 8
Website

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

PROBLEM SOLVED!
I use zsh improved with https://github.com/miohtama/ztanesh. With this setup, PKGBUILD fail in the egrep series of commands to identify CPU.
I tried launcing a bash shell but the problem persists, then I modified the shell for my user in /etc/passwd, restart my PC and all went OK!
Thanks for your support,
Alberto

Offline

#631 2012-12-28 00:39:16

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

alzuin wrote:

JThe first (wrong) PC generate:
config..[1:31m.[KGENERIC.[m.[K-x86_64

You have an alias or something like that somewhere, perhaps in zsh littlethingies, that adds colour to grep/egrep. The error is more likely my fault though, as that egrep should be 'egrep --color=never' and it will at the next update. Launching bash from inside zsh probably inherits some of zsh's automations, hence the error.

Offline

#632 2012-12-28 08:34:16

Lockheed
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 1,437

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

nous wrote:

  3. Use the precompiled nvidia module from my repo

When I do that, X doesn't start and I get "nvidia module exec error" or something similar.


Laptop: ThinkPad W500, C2D P9500, 8GB, Radeon RV635 (HD3650), Arch | Server/fw: Zotac AQ01, A4-5000 Kabini, 4GB, Arch/pfSense VM

Online

#633 2012-12-28 15:01:18

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Lockheed wrote:
nous wrote:

  3. Use the precompiled nvidia module from my repo

When I do that, X doesn't start and I get "nvidia module exec error" or something similar.

Do you also use the respective pair of linux-pf from the repo (i.e. linux-pf-k8+nvidia-pf-k8) or you compile your own kernel? If the latter, you MUST compile nvidia-pf too.

Offline

#634 2012-12-29 10:07:27

Lockheed
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 1,437

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

nous wrote:

  1. Copy version.h from linux-pf-headers-3.6 to /usr/src/linux-3.7-pf/include/linux/

Can someone post this? I have no way of getting it.

nous wrote:

  2. Compile linux-pf with a 3-digit version number, you are provided with that option during makepkg

That made no difference.

nous wrote:

  3. Use the precompiled nvidia module from my repo

That means I also have to use precompiled linux-pf and that half-defeats the purpose of using that kernel.


Laptop: ThinkPad W500, C2D P9500, 8GB, Radeon RV635 (HD3650), Arch | Server/fw: Zotac AQ01, A4-5000 Kabini, 4GB, Arch/pfSense VM

Online

#635 2012-12-29 22:04:43

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Lockheed wrote:
nous wrote:

  1. Copy version.h from linux-pf-headers-3.6 to /usr/src/linux-3.7-pf/include/linux/

Can someone post this? I have no way of getting it.

nous wrote:

  2. Compile linux-pf with a 3-digit version number, you are provided with that option during makepkg

That made no difference.

nous wrote:

  3. Use the precompiled nvidia module from my repo

That means I also have to use precompiled linux-pf and that half-defeats the purpose of using that kernel.

Weird, I've had a report that using 3-digit kernver (like stock -ARCH) works. Did that kernel you compiled show 3.7.1-pf at uname?

Get version.h from my repo.

Offline

#636 2012-12-29 22:34:30

Lockheed
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 1,437

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Yes. I got it compiled with version.h, though. Thanks for the tip.


Laptop: ThinkPad W500, C2D P9500, 8GB, Radeon RV635 (HD3650), Arch | Server/fw: Zotac AQ01, A4-5000 Kabini, 4GB, Arch/pfSense VM

Online

#637 2012-12-31 23:12:17

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

The version.h header file was relocated with 3.7 and a few proprietary drivers (nvidia and vmware come to mind) fail to compile. Until they release updated versions, one can work around this problem by symlinking:

ln -s /usr/src/linux-$(uname -r)/include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h /usr/src/linux-$(uname -r)/include/linux/version.h

Offline

#638 2013-01-08 17:48:18

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Hello guys, I have tried to compile the package, but if either

mv include/linux/Kbuild "${pkgdir}/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/include/" 

or

rm include/linux/Kbuild

are not commented it will not let me go on, saying that it either cannot stat the file or remove it, for it does not exist. What should I do? Can I comment both so I do not have to worry about it?

Also, when I choose the Core i7 personalisation it just stops and I cannot go any further. I could choose the Core 2 Duo settings, but it is a bit annoying, I would like to use Core i7 instead.
I am using the bash shell and I have no particular personalisation in my bash. Should I provide any more information?


Thanks in advance.


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#639 2013-01-09 08:10:05

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

abraxas88 wrote:

Hello guys, I have tried to compile the package, but if either

mv include/linux/Kbuild "${pkgdir}/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/include/" 

or

rm include/linux/Kbuild

are not commented it will not let me go on, saying that it either cannot stat the file or remove it, for it does not exist. What should I do? Can I comment both so I do not have to worry about it?

It would seem that Aufs3 just got updated for 3.7 and Kbuild was moved to include/uapi/linux/.

Also, when I choose the Core i7 personalisation it just stops and I cannot go any further. I could choose the Core 2 Duo settings, but it is a bit annoying, I would like to use Core i7 instead.
I am using the bash shell and I have no particular personalisation in my bash. Should I provide any more information?
Thanks in advance.

Find the section below and remove the 2 leading spaces before MK7 and MCOREI7.

  CPU=`egrep --colour=never "MK8=y|MCORE2=y|MPSC=y|MATOM=y|MPENTIUMII=y|MPENTIUMIII=y|MPENTIUMM=y|MPENTIUM4=y|\
MK7=y|CONFIG_GENERIC_CPU=y|M686=y|MBARCELONA=y|MBOBCAT=y|MBULLDOZER=y|MPILEDRIVER=y|\
MCOREI7=y|MCOREI7AVX=y|MCOREAVXI=y|MCOREAVX2=y" ./.config`

Both issues fixed in 3.7.1-4.

Offline

#640 2013-01-09 11:26:36

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Works like a charm, thanks.


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#641 2013-01-13 16:12:30

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Hello chaps, it's me again. I'm sorry to be a party pooper, but I have noticed that using 3.7 linux kernel breaks TuxOnIce and crashes my system. Whenever I try to hibernate the machine, it just freezes and the kernel panics. I have used your PKGBUILD to compile the linux-pf package with 3.6 kernel and patchset pf n. 12 and TuxOnIce works flawlessly.

I'm not sure whether this is the right place to post this issue, but I need some help.
Thanks again in advance for your kindness.


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#642 2013-01-14 08:04:21

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

abraxas88 wrote:

Hello chaps, it's me again. I'm sorry to be a party pooper, but I have noticed that using 3.7 linux kernel breaks TuxOnIce and crashes my system. Whenever I try to hibernate the machine, it just freezes and the kernel panics. I have used your PKGBUILD to compile the linux-pf package with 3.6 kernel and patchset pf n. 12 and TuxOnIce works flawlessly.

I'm not sure whether this is the right place to post this issue, but I need some help.
Thanks again in advance for your kindness.

I had the same issue with linux-pf 3.7.1-1. Have you tried 3.7.2-1?

Offline

#643 2013-01-14 11:52:41

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

nous wrote:

I had the same issue with linux-pf 3.7.1-1. Have you tried 3.7.2-1?

I have compiled it now and it will not work either. It panics when it is at "Doing atomic copy restore" stage.


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#644 2013-01-14 16:16:28

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Press '8' during suspend (before atomic copy/restore...)  and post the output somewhere, preferably at the tuxonice ML. There might be an OOPS causing this, at least you'll narrow the cause down.

Offline

#645 2013-01-18 14:26:56

jakob
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-10-27
Posts: 419

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

abraxas88 wrote:

I have compiled it now and it will not work either. It panics when it is at "Doing atomic copy restore" stage.

Though I've only got this error at the “Doing atomic copy restore” stage once, in my feeling, 3.7.2-1 fails in every second hibernation attempt. Usually, the power button light (thinkpad x220i) is flashing and the machine is stuck with a black screen. I changed nothing in my setup except for the update from 3.7.1-4 to 3.7.2.1, so to me it seems to be related to 3.7. Additionally, whenever it works to resume my system, irregularily I got no sound… if I hibernate and resume again (and it works), sometimes sound works perfectly again… something I've only been encountering since 3.7 as well…

Offline

#646 2013-01-18 14:58:38

cian1500ww
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 5

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

I've been having a lot of problems with TuxOnIce as well with the 3.7 kernel. Mainly the seek to free more memory error but it sometimes fails on freezing processes and filesystems. I was getting the same problems with a vanilla kernel and just the TOI patch so I don't think the issues are with the pf kernel only.

Offline

#647 2013-01-18 15:36:36

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Something's rotten - I too am getting occasional freezes at atomic copy/restore.

Offline

#648 2013-01-18 17:37:02

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

nous wrote:

Something's rotten - I too am getting occasional freezes at atomic copy/restore.

Have you tried to hibernate/restore with the vanilla hibernation?


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#649 2013-01-18 21:48:52

nous
Member
From: Across the Universe
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 320

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

abraxas88 wrote:
nous wrote:

Something's rotten - I too am getting occasional freezes at atomic copy/restore.

Have you tried to hibernate/restore with the vanilla hibernation?

Wat!

As the maintainer of linux-pf I'm not allowed to use 3rd party products, am I?

Offline

#650 2013-01-18 22:47:57

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: The linux-pf thread; BFS/CK, TuxOnIce, BFQ, AUFS3

Joking apart, my problem is that since linux 3.7, setting offline and back online one of the cores of my machines freezes the latter. Try shutting down all the cores but one, hibernate and resume and see if it freezes again.

Last edited by abraxas88 (2013-01-18 22:49:31)


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB