You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-28 00:50:12

Vortalex
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 9

[SOLVED] Hauppauge PVR-500 - Cannot request encoder memory region.

Hello all

I need some help getting this card to work on my two year old mythbox that's been tunerless since day one.

I installed the card, ivtv-utils and did pacman -Syu

but, I have no video devices in /dev

This is whats happening during startup.

[family@htpc ~]$ dmesg | egrep -i '(ivtv|tveeprom|tuner)'
[    5.732675] ivtv: Start initialization, version 1.4.3
[    5.732726] ivtv0: Initializing card 0
[    5.732728] ivtv0: Autodetected Hauppauge card (cx23416 based)
[    5.732846] ivtv0: Cannot request encoder memory region.
[    5.738901] ivtv0: Error -5 on initialization
[    5.745007] ivtv: probe of 0000:04:08.0 failed with error -5
[    5.745031] ivtv1: Initializing card 1
[    5.745033] ivtv1: Autodetected Hauppauge card (cx23416 based)
[    5.745142] ivtv1: Cannot request encoder memory region.
[    5.751061] ivtv1: Error -5 on initialization
[    5.756869] ivtv: probe of 0000:04:09.0 failed with error -5
[    5.757015] ivtv: End initialization
[  666.818438]  fuse snd_hda_codec_hdmi ivtv cx2341x nvidia(PO) tveeprom v4l2_common videodev snd_hda_intel snd_hda_codec snd_hwdep hid_generic snd_pcm media usbhid hid snd_page_alloc snd_timer i2c_algo_bit snd shpchp psmouse kvm sp5100_tco pci_hotplug i2c_piix4 r8169 soundcore mii serio_raw pcspkr evdev button i2c_core k10temp wmi ir_lirc_codec lirc_dev microcode ir_mce_kbd_decoder ir_sanyo_decoder ir_sony_decoder ir_jvc_decoder ir_rc6_decoder ir_rc5_decoder ir_nec_decoder rc_rc6_mce mceusb rc_core cpufreq_powersave powernow_k8 mperf processor ext4 crc16 jbd2 mbcache sr_mod cdrom sd_mod ata_generic pata_acpi usb_storage ohci_hcd pata_atiixp ahci libahci ehci_hcd libata scsi_mod usbcore usb_common

Shows up in lspci

[family@htpc ~]$ lspci |grep video
04:08.0 Multimedia video controller: Internext Compression Inc iTVC16 (CX23416) Video Decoder (rev 01)
04:09.0 Multimedia video controller: Internext Compression Inc iTVC16 (CX23416) Video Decoder (rev 01)

and the firmware already seems to be there.

[family@htpc ~]$ ls /lib/firmware/ |grep v4l
v4l-cx231xx-avcore-01.fw
v4l-cx23418-apu.fw
v4l-cx23418-cpu.fw
v4l-cx23418-dig.fw
v4l-cx2341x-dec.fw
v4l-cx2341x-enc.fw
v4l-cx2341x-init.mpg
v4l-cx23885-avcore-01.fw
v4l-cx23885-enc.fw
v4l-cx25840.fw
v4l-pvrusb2-24xxx-01.fw
v4l-pvrusb2-29xxx-01.fw
[family@htpc ~]$ uname -a
Linux htpc 3.6.10-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Dec 11 10:19:36 CET 2012 i686 GNU/Linux

Some hardware information:
CPU AMD Athlon II X3 435
MB   GIGABYTE GA-MA78LM-S2
GPU SPARKLE GeForce GT 220 1GB
2 GB of RAM

I just got this tuner card used off eBay so I don't know if something is wrong with the card itself or not.  It seems to be in pretty good shape, it came with all the original packaging.  If all else fails I can drag out an old system and install Windows Xp on it to test it.

Any help with this problem would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Last edited by Vortalex (2012-12-31 01:11:12)

Offline

#2 2012-12-29 21:47:42

Vortalex
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Hauppauge PVR-500 - Cannot request encoder memory region.

I tested the card.  It works.  I used the program AMCAP that was on the driver disc and a VCR as input.

One tuner (I'm guessing the second) had a bit of static.. I'm not sure why (not enough juice?) but, if it does it in MythTV it kinda defeats the purpose getting the 500 over the 150.

Here is some output from prodinfo.exe if it will help:

Model 23552 Rev. D592
Serial #8221611
Tuner Model/Formats: Philips FQ1236A_MK4  //  (MN)
Tuner Model/Formats: Philips TEA5768HL  //    (FM)
Tuner Audio: Stereo (CX25843)
Video Formats: NTSC ( 443 ) PAL ( B G H I D K N ) SECAM ( L L' )
Audio Outputs: None
External Inputs: 4
S-Video Inputs: 2
Teletext:  
Radio: FM
Decoder: CX25843
IR: No

EEprom Contents: 
84 09 00 04 20 77 00 40 ab 73 7d 00 
73 05 25 00 
84 08 00 06 00 5c 00 00 52 56 91 
72 07 70 
73 09 1e 36 
73 0a 08 5c 
73 0a 00 65 
73 0b 4f 30 
72 10 01 
72 11 00 
79 41 

No DLL Version Data Available

The test box is an HP Pavilion XT923.

Again any help with this problem would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Last edited by Vortalex (2012-12-29 21:50:37)

Offline

#3 2012-12-30 04:21:12

pigiron
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2009-07-14
Posts: 134

Re: [SOLVED] Hauppauge PVR-500 - Cannot request encoder memory region.

Your problem looked interesting, so I thought I'd dig down underneath the covers. But this is a single person's opinion as a driver developer, but not a Linux driver developer... A massive difference... So take it with a healthy dose of skepticism.

But the bottom line is my opinion is that you might want to head on over to the LinuxTV.org folks and see what they have to say.

The tldr; version follows:

I drilled down on this error message: "ivtv0: Cannot request encoder memory region."

That comes from the drivers/media/pci/ivtv/ivtv-driver.c file... and here's the snippet of code from the latest "linux-stable" code tree in the "ivtv_setup_pci" function:

if (!request_mem_region(itv->base_addr, IVTV_ENCODER_SIZE, "ivtv encoder
")) {
                IVTV_ERR("Cannot request encoder memory region.\n");
                return -EIO;
        }

It appears that call is attempting to map the PCI IO memory for your PCI adapter... and it fails with that -EIO (-5) error code.

There can be multiple reasons for the failure, but the LinuxTV folks may be able to determine the reason for your particular instance.

Offline

#4 2012-12-31 01:08:37

Vortalex
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Hauppauge PVR-500 - Cannot request encoder memory region.

Thanks for the advice.  I was thinking about going to the ivtv-users mailinglist but, I was playing around with the card again today and I got it to initialize in the mythbox...  not sure what did it.  I moved a sata cable to a different connection to make more room and had to make changes in the bios so it would boot again.
I also re-seated the card couple times before booting up.

But, unfortunately I can't get mythtv-setup to find any channels during a scan, but I'm pretty sure that's a mythtv problem.

Plus, the picture on the second tuner is still staticky.  So.. I pretty much have only one tuner.

I figure I'll just keep it.  I didn't pay a lot for it so, it doesn't seem worth the hassle to try and return it.

All well, problems for a different thread.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB