You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-30 21:14:32

lfx
Member
From: LTU
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 7
Website

installing from sources, not with pacman, problem!

Hi!
I wanna to install some software form sources, but after installing, programs doesn't work sad
some guys form irc sed, that  my $PATH is wrong!
Here it is

/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/opt/bin:/opt/gnome/bin:/opt/gnome/bin:/opt/gnome/bin:/opt/mozilla/bin:/opt/xfce4/bin

but i donno what its wrong sad
What should i do?

THX smile

Offline

#2 2005-10-30 21:18:42

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: installing from sources, not with pacman, problem!

My guess would be that, since you installed directly from source, the binaries are sitting in /usr/local/bin, which is not in your path.

If it's not that, you'll need to give a bit more detail - "programs doesn't work" is a little too cryptic for me.

Offline

#3 2005-10-30 21:18:46

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: installing from sources, not with pacman, problem!

uh, we'd need a lot more info than that, like where the sources are installed to start with.

Dusty

Offline

#4 2005-10-31 08:36:05

lfx
Member
From: LTU
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 7
Website

Re: installing from sources, not with pacman, problem!

ok.
so at first i istalled graphical links, all i did was step-by-setp.

configure
make 

I found this in one of steps:

If you got a root access, log in as root and do "make install" in the same directory. If you are installing Links as an ordinary user, place the "links" executable file that was created by the "make" command into some suitable place possibly within your $PATH.

i'm root so i make install

make install

after his i ran in command shell

[lfx@localhost ~]# links
bash: links: command not found
[lfx@localhost ~]#

secondaly i wanted to install free pascal (it's for my state exams)
i downloaded sources, unpacked them and found install.sh, i ran it, installet without problems.
but command shell can't find it sad

sorry for stupids, i am newbie  roll

Offline

#5 2005-10-31 10:37:12

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: installing from sources, not with pacman, problem!

Did you look in /usr/local/bin??

Offline

#6 2005-10-31 11:06:30

lfx
Member
From: LTU
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 7
Website

Re: installing from sources, not with pacman, problem!

tomk wrote:

Did you look in /usr/local/bin??

yes, all programs are in it.
is any posibilyti to make them run from command line like others programs, which i installed with pacman?

Offline

#7 2005-10-31 11:55:16

leeghoofd
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2005-04-28
Posts: 61

Re: installing from sources, not with pacman, problem!

lfx wrote:
tomk wrote:

Did you look in /usr/local/bin??

yes, all programs are in it.
is any posibilyti to make them run from command line like others programs, which i installed with pacman?

yes, to do that type

export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/bin

but this will not work permanently, you have to add this line to your ~/.bashrc to let this export happen everytime you start a terminal

echo 'export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/bin' >> ~/.bashrc

Offline

#8 2005-10-31 12:08:37

lfx
Member
From: LTU
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 7
Website

Re: installing from sources, not with pacman, problem!

leeghoofd wrote:
lfx wrote:
tomk wrote:

Did you look in /usr/local/bin??

yes, all programs are in it.
is any posibilyti to make them run from command line like others programs, which i installed with pacman?

yes, to do that type

export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/bin

but this will not work permanently, you have to add this line to your ~/.bashrc to let this export happen everytime you start a terminal

echo 'export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/bin' >> ~/.bashrc

it's works perfectly, thanks for help! ;]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB