You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-02 23:31:33

qKUqm3wtY4
Member
From: San Francisco
Registered: 2012-12-19
Posts: 60
Website

[SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

SOLUTION AT BOTTOM OF THREAD!

I have installed numerous AUR packages in the past.  However, this is the first that I am unable to figure out.

I assume I am supposed to extract the tar, copy the Braid package files (from my owned copy of Braid) to the same directory, run makepkg, then install via pacman.  The problem I am having is when I go to use makepkg I get the following error:

# makepkg -s
==> Making package: braid 1.0.2-1 (DATE TIME)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
==> ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file URLs. Check /etc/makepkg.conf.
    Aborting...

I am not finding any solutions on Google.  Please help!

Edit - Edited to show thread solved.

Last edited by qKUqm3wtY4 (2013-01-03 17:00:49)


I am a noob.  Ask me nothing.

Offline

#2 2013-01-03 00:32:04

qKUqm3wtY4
Member
From: San Francisco
Registered: 2012-12-19
Posts: 60
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

[Merged thread post -- ignore]

Last edited by qKUqm3wtY4 (2013-01-03 17:01:55)


I am a noob.  Ask me nothing.

Offline

#3 2013-01-03 00:49:26

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,813
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

That PKGBUILD looks odd.  If you are manually copying the .bin file to the build directory, then there is no reason for the file:// entry to even be in the source array.  I'd suggest just removing the entry from the source array - and then also remove the first checksum.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#4 2013-01-03 01:02:12

tdy
Member
From: Sacremende
Registered: 2008-12-14
Posts: 438

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

I have no idea what this is for. Maybe someone else can enlighten me.

source=("$_gamepkg"::"file://$_gamepkg"

Anyway, unless I'm missing something obvious about why they did that, change the source line to this:

source=($_gamepkg

Don't extract the braid file. Just leave it as a bin (apparently it should be braid-linux-build2.run.bin) and then run makepkg.

Last edited by tdy (2013-01-03 01:03:57)


dots (or just the awesomewm config)

$ whatis this?
this?: nothing appropriate.

Offline

#5 2013-01-03 01:02:51

qKUqm3wtY4
Member
From: San Francisco
Registered: 2012-12-19
Posts: 60
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

Trilby wrote:

That PKGBUILD looks odd.  If you are manually copying the .bin file to the build directory, then there is no reason for the file:// entry to even be in the source array.  I'd suggest just removing the entry from the source array - and then also remove the first checksum.

*blinks*

wat?


I am a noob.  Ask me nothing.

Offline

#6 2013-01-03 01:06:19

tdy
Member
From: Sacremende
Registered: 2008-12-14
Posts: 438

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

I'd say leave it in the source array, just not with the (useless?) file handler. Not sure why you cross posted, but this is my suggestion:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 3#p1213113


dots (or just the awesomewm config)

$ whatis this?
this?: nothing appropriate.

Offline

#7 2013-01-03 01:57:53

qKUqm3wtY4
Member
From: San Francisco
Registered: 2012-12-19
Posts: 60
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

tdy wrote:

I have no idea what this is for. Maybe someone else can enlighten me.

I figured it would increase the pool of participants.  I didn't see the flaw in logic until after the posts were made.  I will keep both updated once a solution is met.

Your suggestion worked, but now I have a new problem, which is that I don't have the bin file.  I think this AUR package is set to use a bin file from Humble Indie Bundle 2.  I have a package that I can run via (which I was unaware of until a few minutes ago):

# chmod a+x [filename]
# ./[filename]

I am going to scour the internet for this bin file.  If I find it I will post an update.  If not, I will mark it as solved, since technically your advice did solve the error problem I was getting.

Thank you.


I am a noob.  Ask me nothing.

Offline

#8 2013-01-03 02:04:45

tdy
Member
From: Sacremende
Registered: 2008-12-14
Posts: 438

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

qKUqm3wtY4 wrote:
tdy wrote:

I have no idea what this is for. Maybe someone else can enlighten me.

I figured it would increase the pool of participants.  I didn't see the flaw in logic until after the posts were made.  I will keep both updated once a solution is met.

My comment here was about the PKGBUILD itself. I hadn't see your other post yet. I didn't (don't) see the point of why they wrote a file handler like that.


dots (or just the awesomewm config)

$ whatis this?
this?: nothing appropriate.

Offline

#9 2013-01-03 02:07:17

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,825
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

Please don't crosspost: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … ss-Posting

Now you have two threads with people trying to assist you...


Merging.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#10 2013-01-03 16:58:44

qKUqm3wtY4
Member
From: San Francisco
Registered: 2012-12-19
Posts: 60
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Braid AUR "ERROR: There is no agent set up to handle file..."

SOLUTION! Provided by tdy

braid-linux-build2.run.bin from Humble Indie Bundle 2 is required!

You must edit the PKGBUILD file.

source=("$_gamepkg"::"file://$_gamepkg"

Change the source line to this:

source=($_gamepkg

Don't extract the braid file.  Just place it in the same directory as the PKGBUILD file.

Run makepkg

# makepkg -s

Then run pacman

pacman -U [filename].pkg.tar

YOU ARE DONE!

UPDATE!!!

AFTER THIS THREAD WAS SOLVED, THE AUR PACKAGE WAS UPDATED TO SOLVE THIS ERROR.  JUST MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE braid-linux-build2.run.bin FILE IN THE SAME DIRECTORY, AND THE INSTALL WILL WORK.

Last edited by qKUqm3wtY4 (2013-01-06 09:18:11)


I am a noob.  Ask me nothing.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB