You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-16 10:50:46

jv2112
Member
Registered: 2011-07-23
Posts: 154

Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

I am running Openbox and using Dolhin as my file manager. I like the prorgram but I perfer Gnome-Terminal.

So I wanted to change the shortcut to open a terminal from Konsole to Gnome-Terminal but I can't seem to find the configuration file to change. 

Any ideas ?

Thanks in advance for your resonse.    big_smile

Last edited by jv2112 (2013-01-17 00:53:29)


Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transition that's troublesome. Isaac Asimov - / -  My Pastebin

Offline

#2 2013-01-16 11:07:07

akh
Member
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 25

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

I don't use Openbox, but wouldn't you need to edit the ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml configuration file.
I think there should be some keybind tag, that contains subtags about name and command.

EDIT: Sorry, I think I misunderstood. You probably want to change which terminal is shown in Dolphin. I don't know how to do that.

Last edited by akh (2013-01-16 11:13:48)

Offline

#3 2013-01-16 11:24:22

qinohe
Member
From: A Dutch location..)
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 650

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

jv2112 wrote:

I am running Openbox and using Dolhin as my file manager. I like the prorgram but I perfer Gnome-Terminal.

So I wanted to change the shortcut to open a terminal from Konsole to Gnome-Terminal but I can't seem to find the configuration file to change. 

Any ideas ?

Thanks in advance for your resonse.    big_smile

Yes, read this part of the wiki, it should get you going!
There is a plethora of info on this one on the net,)


-I can give you a ladder, but you need to climb it yourself-

Offline

#4 2013-01-16 23:54:27

jv2112
Member
Registered: 2011-07-23
Posts: 154

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

Thank You both for your replies. I was actually looking to change the default terminal used by Dolphin itself not my openbox menu.


Like in other file managers if you select the terminal option it opens in the directory you are in. In Dolphin it is F4 but there is no option to change from 'Konsole' to any other termnal.  sad



PS :
qinohe -- Cool Avatar


Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transition that's troublesome. Isaac Asimov - / -  My Pastebin

Offline

#5 2013-01-17 00:22:18

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KParts#KParts - you can use only Konsole (Konsole's KPart) as an embedded terminal in Dolphin.

Offline

#6 2013-01-17 00:53:06

jv2112
Member
Registered: 2011-07-23
Posts: 154

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

lucke

Thanks for the clarification.


Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transition that's troublesome. Isaac Asimov - / -  My Pastebin

Offline

#7 2013-01-17 01:23:35

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

That's not true. At least, if you are using KDE, you can change the default applications (including the default terminal emulator) for all KDE applications. There's a system settings thing to do it graphically but I assume you can also do it in the appropriate config file if you can identify it. Since this works in KDE, kparts must be able to use other default applications.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#8 2013-01-17 02:04:51

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

Pressing F4 in Dolphin makes an embedded konsolepart pop up at the bottom of its window. Konqueror nowadays uses dolphinpart for file management, and you have an option of opening documents directly in its window, thanks to okularpart. You can make web browsers use KParts, which allows you to browse PDFs or archives directly in your browser's tabs with the use of KDE software. You can set Evince as a default program for PDFs, clicking on a PDF file in Dolphin or Konqueror would then open Evince's window with a chosen document, but you can't have Evince embedded directly in Konqueror's or web browser's tab.

Last edited by lucke (2013-01-17 02:07:56)

Offline

#9 2013-01-17 03:12:47

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

Oh, I see. I thought the OP just wanted to change the default terminal emulator used by Dolphin not the terminal part in Dolphin.

Last edited by cfr (2013-01-17 03:13:12)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#10 2013-01-18 11:20:58

qinohe
Member
From: A Dutch location..)
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 650

Re: Dolphin --> Change Terminal from Konsole [Solved]

jv2112 wrote:

Thank You both for your replies. I was actually looking to change the default terminal used by Dolphin itself not my openbox menu.


Like in other file managers if you select the terminal option it opens in the directory you are in. In Dolphin it is F4 but there is no option to change from 'Konsole' to any other termnal.  sad



PS :
qinohe -- Cool Avatar

You were not that clear..
offtopic:
Well thank you, it's Mimas, a moon circling around Saturn!
If you want to know how this 'pacman' image arose,
visit this site from NASA!

P.S. Normally I won't react in a 'Solved', but now I had to.. wink


-I can give you a ladder, but you need to climb it yourself-

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB