You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-17 22:09:41

jasewobble
Member
Registered: 2012-04-19
Posts: 11

[SOLVED] 2013.01.04 ISO: succesfully connected with 3G but DNS is down

1) I booted into the new Arch Linux ISO (2013.01.04 x86_64)
2) Succesfully switched my modem with usb_modeswitch
3) Succesfully connected with sakis3g

To my surprise, network is NOT up.

# ping google.com
ping: unknown host google.com

Yet sakis3g shows that I'm connected:

# sakis3g status
E173 connected to T-Mobile UK (23430).

How do I get the network up and running?

Cheers.

Last edited by jasewobble (2013-01-18 01:11:42)

Offline

#2 2013-01-18 00:00:20

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,534

Re: [SOLVED] 2013.01.04 ISO: succesfully connected with 3G but DNS is down

Have you set up your name servers in resolv.conf? Google's 8.8.8.8 should be enough.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Online

#3 2013-01-18 00:28:55

jasewobble
Member
Registered: 2012-04-19
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] 2013.01.04 ISO: succesfully connected with 3G but DNS is down

WorMzy wrote:

Have you set up your name servers in resolv.conf? Google's 8.8.8.8 should be enough.

I just checked resolv.conf and the name servers were indeed missing. After adding them, I was still was not able to ping google.com but I tried pinging 8.8.8.8 instead and it worked. Network is up but DNS for some reason isn't.

Edit: if I reconnect with sakis3g, the name servers disappear from resolv.conf.

Last edited by jasewobble (2013-01-18 00:32:40)

Offline

#4 2013-01-18 01:00:27

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,191
Website

Re: [SOLVED] 2013.01.04 ISO: succesfully connected with 3G but DNS is down

Are you using (do you need to use) dhcpcd or dhclient?  I'm not familiar with sakis3g, but any other connection method, once you are connected, you still need to use dhcp client.

Last edited by Trilby (2013-01-18 01:00:47)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#5 2013-01-18 01:11:18

jasewobble
Member
Registered: 2012-04-19
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] 2013.01.04 ISO: succesfully connected with 3G but DNS is down

Trilby wrote:

Are you using (do you need to use) dhcpcd or dhclient?  I'm not familiar with sakis3g, but any other connection method, once you are connected, you still need to use dhcp client.

# killall -9 dhcpd

It's working now! Cheers.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB