You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-19 08:14:44

Aegidius
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-06-29
Posts: 288
Website

Unable to start the Arch's live

Hello smile

I'm trying to install Arch on this notebook but when I boot from CD I get this screen.

I just tried all the options but the live never starts. I get a black screen until the sistem reboot sad

Can you help me, please?

Offline

#2 2013-01-19 11:23:35

mcloaked
Member
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 718

Re: Unable to start the Arch's live


Mike C

Offline

#3 2013-01-19 11:24:31

mcloaked
Member
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 718

Re: Unable to start the Arch's live

Also maybe it would be a good idea to try boot from a usbkey rather than CD?  See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/US … tion_Media for preparing a key from the archiso.


Mike C

Offline

#4 2013-01-19 13:46:53

Aegidius
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-06-29
Posts: 288
Website

Re: Unable to start the Arch's live

I'm gonna try.

Thanks smile

Offline

#5 2013-01-19 14:57:14

Aegidius
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-06-29
Posts: 288
Website

Re: Unable to start the Arch's live

I really don't know how to do this.

First create a MBR partition table in the USB using fdisk.

Offline

#6 2013-01-19 15:44:22

mcmillan
Member
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 694

Re: Unable to start the Arch's live

Unless you ask a more specific question, the best advice you're likely to get is to learn fdisk.

Also I thought cfdisk was still on the install CD, which personally I find a bit easier to work with than cfdisk.

Offline

#7 2013-01-19 15:47:22

Aegidius
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-06-29
Posts: 288
Website

Re: Unable to start the Arch's live

I don't know nothing about partition tables.

Anyway, I'm installing Windows 7 in 20GB partition because I need it too.
Do you think that when it has done I could install either?

Offline

#8 2013-01-20 01:18:22

dif
Member
From: Stalowa Wola, Poland
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 116

Re: Unable to start the Arch's live

Even if you are going to install Windows, you should understand partitions. If you don't understand them, you may destroy all your data on the disk if you already have any.
Yes, you will be able to install linux after installing Windows. For more informarion search for "dual booting" or similar entries.

Offline

#9 2013-01-20 10:13:15

Aegidius
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-06-29
Posts: 288
Website

Re: Unable to start the Arch's live

I think I broke up my new computer ;(

New thread: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1220115

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB