You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-30 12:45:39

amonakov
Member
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 16

Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

primus is a faster VirtualGL replacement for Bumblebee. It's primarily useful for achieving smooth 60fps at high resolution. It's only one month old, so there still could be some issues, but for me it successfully works for games from the Humble Indie Bundles (Amnesia, Bastion, Braid, Cogs, Super Meat Boy, Torchlight, Trine), Trine 2, Unigine benchmarks, and Wine. I've made AUR packages for the git version of primus:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=63239 (primus-git)
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=63240 (lib32-primus-git)

Please note that you need both of the above for Wine and 32-bit games. To use primus, you need bumblebee configured (so that optirun works for you) — after that use primusrun in place of optirun.

The project home is at https://github.com/amonakov/primus

Offline

#2 2012-09-30 15:46:51

makimaki
Member
From: Ireland
Registered: 2009-04-02
Posts: 109

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Interesting, thanks I'll take a look.


====* -- Joke
    O
    \|/ --- Me
    / \             Whooooosh

Offline

#3 2012-10-02 04:13:13

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Interesting project. I've been using it a bit and I've had success and failures. For instance, minetest segfaults and minecraft fails  to load.

Offline

#4 2012-10-02 06:13:58

amonakov
Member
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 16

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Why didn't you report the problems?

Offline

#5 2012-10-08 16:51:08

yimm
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 106

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

It works very good with CS 1.6 ! I will try with a game that  has need more performance.

Last edited by yimm (2012-10-08 16:52:10)

Offline

#6 2012-10-09 21:37:32

amonakov
Member
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 16

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Jodell, the minetest issue should be fixed now. Did you resolve the minecraft issue?

Offline

#7 2012-10-10 02:15:50

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

amonakov wrote:

Jodell, the minetest issue should be fixed now. Did you resolve the minecraft issue?

Minecraft works now. I guess the changes you made for minetest works for Minecraft also. big_smile

Offline

#8 2012-10-16 14:23:20

MekaDragon
Member
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 1

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Thanks a lot, im trying It immediatly.

Offline

#9 2012-11-03 22:42:19

mickael9
Member
Registered: 2008-10-11
Posts: 29

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Excellent!
This also fixes the darkness issues I had with Bumblebee+VirtualGL.

optirun : http://i.imgur.com/aa4eW.png
primusrun : http://i.imgur.com/P57CO.png

Last edited by mickael9 (2012-11-03 22:47:29)

Offline

#10 2012-11-10 18:25:25

PrinceManfred
Member
Registered: 2012-07-31
Posts: 21

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Has anyone had any luck getting Primus running over their Nvidia HDMI? VirtualGL is working in that regard with no problems but swapping in primusrun seems to crash my X server. I will note that I've had no problems with Primus when keeping everything on my laptop display. Dhewm3 runs great!

Offline

#11 2012-11-10 18:42:23

amonakov
Member
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 16

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Is your HDMI port is connected to your nVidia card? How are you currently using it (e.g. how do you use your keyboard and mouse with windows on the HDMI screen)?

If you are starting secondary X server for the HDMI monitor, you shouldn't need primus, or VirtualGL, or any OpenGL offloading solution at all, it's best to run the applications natively, e.g.:

DISPLAY=:8 LD_LIBRARY_PATH='/usr/$LIB/nvidia-bumblebee` glxspheres

Offline

#12 2012-11-10 20:44:58

PrinceManfred
Member
Registered: 2012-07-31
Posts: 21

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

I'm currently using a setup similar to the Triple Screen Setup at https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project/Bu … itor-setup . I'm not really sure how to start another X server for the HDMI . That's probably why it's never crossed my mind. I don't want to hijack this thread and get it off topic, but how does starting a new X server vs using optirun impact power management? I'm enjoying the fact that I can launch a game and that my Nvidia card gets turned off when I exit. Would it just be a matter of wrapping the X server in a script that makes use of bbswitch to flip it on and off?

Offline

#13 2012-12-04 10:54:42

dakatapetrov
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Primus is just amazing. It doubled minecraft FPS (I get solid 60 FPS. Maybe it will be even higher if I use benchmark mode, but there's no point in doing that). Even games under wine run much better now! Goodbye windows! smile

Offline

#14 2012-12-11 16:20:54

marvn
Member
From: Prague
Registered: 2010-01-05
Posts: 83

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

hi, does this work with the bulmlebeed in the way that the nvidia card is enabled when something is running using primusrun and is powered-off for the rest of the time? (if you have it configured using bbswitch ofc)


core i5 4590, x86_64, nvidia 970

Offline

#15 2013-01-19 17:31:38

Vixus
Member
Registered: 2012-11-02
Posts: 60

Re: Bumblebee users are welcome to try primus

Testing with glxspheres I get worse performance with primus (~60FPS) than with optirun (~75FPS). Although they're both pretty bad.... wonder why that is.

Eh, I was being an idiot. Ignore this.

Last edited by Vixus (2013-01-19 17:47:58)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB