You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-15 22:08:16

rugebiker
Member
Registered: 2010-08-26
Posts: 8

dual boot Arch and Fedora

Hi, I just bought a new laptop and I want to install Arch + Fedora + Windows (the lap comes with BIOS)
The laptop comes with 120 GB SSD + 750 GB HDD.

How I plan to do the partitions are:

In the SSD:
- Some gigs for Windows.
- /boot
- / for Arch
- / for Fedora
- SWAP (shared for both)

In the HDD:
- Some gigs in ntfs for windows
- A partition in ext4 for all my data.

The question I have is: how can I manage grub to detect both linux distros? Should I make two separate /boot partitions (one for each distro)? Or can I install grub just in one /boot and let both distros to modify it? or what is the best recommendation on doing this?

thanks a lot!

Offline

#2 2013-01-15 22:43:11

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: dual boot Arch and Fedora


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

#3 2013-01-15 22:43:12

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: dual boot Arch and Fedora

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Grub#Dual-booting

Use one /boot. Install and manage grub from one distro.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#4 2013-01-16 16:24:44

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 320

Re: dual boot Arch and Fedora

i do it from fedora because it's kernel name changes

evry update and arch's doesn't.

ezik

Offline

#5 2013-01-17 16:34:11

rugebiker
Member
Registered: 2010-08-26
Posts: 8

Re: dual boot Arch and Fedora

Thanks all for replying (:

shulamy wrote:

i do it from fedora because it's kernel name changes

evry update and arch's doesn't.

ezik

So what you did was first installing arch with /boot in a separate partition, and then installed fedora replacing the arch /boot with the new fedora /boot? or you just told fedora to use the arch /boot as its /boot ?

thanks smile

Offline

#6 2013-01-17 18:31:27

shulamy
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 320

Re: dual boot Arch and Fedora

i have them on separate disks.

so i choose the fedora disk in the bios.

you have to replace arch's bootloader with fedora's

or tell arch not to install boot loader if fedora is installed before.

ezik

Offline

#7 2013-01-17 22:14:21

rugebiker
Member
Registered: 2010-08-26
Posts: 8

Re: dual boot Arch and Fedora

oo ok thanks! i read some other stuff too and now I get it. Thanks for the help (:

Offline

#8 2013-01-18 01:31:44

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: dual boot Arch and Fedora

You don't really need to tell Arch not to install a boot loader. Unless you tell it to install one, it won't. (Even if it installs the package as part of a group, it won't install it to disk etc.)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#9 2013-01-20 17:14:07

dr_te_z
Member
From: Zoetermeer, the Netherlands
Registered: 2006-12-06
Posts: 154

Re: dual boot Arch and Fedora

I've got a comparable setup. I added 1 extra "data partition" (ntfs) to share with all 3 the O.S.ses.


Somewhere between "too small" and "too large" lies the size that is just right.
- Scott Hayes

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB