You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-21 08:40:59

amckee
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2012-02-13
Posts: 23
Website

[Solved] Bootup Doesn't Mount Drive

Details first:
RAID0
UEFI
/dev/md126p8  mounted on /
/dev/md126p2  mounted on /boot/efi

I am able to boot into my new installation, however during the boot process I'm dumped into a recovery console. Once there, I can mount the root partition with:
mount /dev/md126p8 /new_root

Then I press ctrl+D twice, and it continues to boot normally.

How do I get it to mount this automatically?

Last edited by amckee (2013-01-21 19:56:20)

Offline

#2 2013-01-21 12:22:27

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,025
Website

Re: [Solved] Bootup Doesn't Mount Drive

What bootloader do you use?  What is in your bootloader config?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2013-01-21 18:27:07

amckee
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2012-02-13
Posts: 23
Website

Re: [Solved] Bootup Doesn't Mount Drive

I am using rEFInd, as per:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/UE … ing_rEFInd

I'm not sure what configuration file you are asking for, can you specify?

Offline

#4 2013-01-21 18:43:00

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,025
Website

Re: [Solved] Bootup Doesn't Mount Drive

In that case it would be the refind_linux.conf where you pass kernel parameters including the root partition.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#5 2013-01-21 19:55:46

amckee
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2012-02-13
Posts: 23
Website

Re: [Solved] Bootup Doesn't Mount Drive

Holy crap I totally missed that file in the guide. Once I set that file up (and removed a lot of testing initramfs files to simply things), it started working.

Thanks for the help! Now I just need to get rEFInd booting by default (I boot into a shell from a USB, then launch refind.efi) and I should be good to go.

Thanks again!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB