You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-21 23:52:44

fpilee
Member
From: Windows 7
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 104
Website

Trouble with kdm service. New installation

I performed a new installation of arch linux following all step from the wiki. Then i have installed KDE. All packages by default like 750mb installed (2600mb aprox). Then i write :
systemctl enable kdm.service
systemtcl start kdm.service

rebooting and try again but kdm don't start. And there is no tty7, in my old arch linux installation kdm was started here .

Last edited by fpilee (2013-01-21 23:53:44)

Offline

#2 2013-01-22 00:03:07

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,763
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

Do the enable or start commands give any errors?  Can you start kdm manually?

X (and thus display managers) unless specifically set otherwise will now start on either the tty they are launched from (tty1 in this case) or the first free tty (tty2).

Last edited by Trilby (2013-01-22 00:03:40)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#3 2013-01-22 00:07:34

fpilee
Member
From: Windows 7
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 104
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

Trilby wrote:

Do the enable or start commands give any errors?  Can you start kdm manually?

X (and thus display managers) unless specifically set otherwise will now start on either the tty they are launched from (tty1 in this case) or the first free tty (tty2).


No errors. No, i can't start kdm manually. Oks. But it should start on tty7 but there is no tty7. And in 2,3,4,5,6 is a text tty.

$  cat /etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service

[Unit]
Description=K Display Manager
After=systemd-user-sessions.service

[Service]
ExecStart=/usr/bin/kdm -nodaemon

[Install]
Alias=display-manager.service

Last edited by fpilee (2013-01-22 00:53:28)

Offline

#4 2013-01-22 00:08:59

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,763
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

There is only a text tty on 1-6 after you switch to them.  Systemd's getty service starts them on demand.

If you want X to run on tty7 you'll have to set it that way yourself - I did for one of my systems.

EDIT: sorry, I followed up the tangent and forgot the point.  Just to clarify, did you mean that KDM does successfully start when run manually? (There's some ambiguity in the "No, I can..." statement).  If it does, double check that the kdm.service file is in the graphical.target.wants directory, and that graphical.target is the default target (see the systemd man pages or wiki for these).  Then check systemctl for errors, and if all that looks good, post the kdm.service file - I don't use kdm, so I don't have that file here for reference.

Last edited by Trilby (2013-01-22 00:13:10)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#5 2013-01-22 00:10:00

hsngrms
Member
From: Turkey
Registered: 2012-03-06
Posts: 41
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

Hmm. Have you installed Mesa?

Sorry, i'm late...

Last edited by hsngrms (2013-01-22 00:11:30)

Offline

#6 2013-01-22 00:26:47

fpilee
Member
From: Windows 7
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 104
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

well i tried with:

systemctl start kdm.service
and 
kdm

I start the system again and write

systemctl enable graphical.target 

I guess this should be enable (kde wiki page don't says nothing about this).

and reboot. When the system start the last lines of the boot process says something about reached graphical interface and rached multi user


I put pacman -S kde
and install everything, it should be installed all thing like xorg, ati driver, audio, etc.

Offline

#7 2013-01-22 00:28:58

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,763
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

I know you tried both of those - I'm not clear on whether the second one worked or not.

Did you do any of the other checks I recommended?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#8 2013-01-22 00:49:21

fpilee
Member
From: Windows 7
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 104
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

graphical.target.wants  is empty

i can't start kdm manually

i tried
kdm
systemctl start kdm

Last edited by fpilee (2013-01-22 00:54:12)

Offline

#9 2013-01-22 01:03:50

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,763
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

Apparently it installs to the /etc/systemd/system directory, not the graphical.target.wants directory.  So check the former to see if the display-manager.service is there, and that it has the same contents as kdm.service.

What does systemctl tell you?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#10 2013-01-22 01:34:36

fpilee
Member
From: Windows 7
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 104
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

$  cat /etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service
[Unit]
Description=K Display Manager
After=systemd-user-sessions.service

[Service]
ExecStart=/usr/bin/kdm -nodaemon

[Install]
Alias=display-manager.service


$  ls /etc/systemd/system/                       
getty.target.wants     multi-user.target.wants  sockets.target.wants  dbus-org.freedesktop.Avahi.service  default.target
local-fs.target.wants  printer.target.wants     sysinit.target.wants  display-manager.service

there is no kdm.service


What does systemctl tell you? | what?

Last edited by fpilee (2013-01-22 01:35:25)

Offline

#11 2013-01-22 01:34:46

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

fpilee wrote:

I put pacman -S kde
and install everything, it should be installed all thing like xorg, ati driver, audio, etc.

Did you test that X worked before installing KDE? As explained in the Beginners' Guide in the wiki?

Why do you think that installing KDE will have installed the ATI driver? How would the KDE package know which video card you have?

Which wiki instructions did you follow? Did you use the Beginners' Guide? If so, you should have installed a driver and X and tested them before thinking about a DE.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#12 2013-01-22 01:36:19

fpilee
Member
From: Windows 7
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 104
Website

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

ok. yes is that the trouble. Solved installing xorg-sever xorg-xinit xorg-server-utils mesa xf86-video-ati

Last edited by fpilee (2013-01-22 02:09:29)

Offline

#13 2013-01-22 02:11:53

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Trouble with kdm service. New installation

I thought you were off to install windows 8?

Since you seem to have changed your mind, please mark your thread [solved] by editing your original post.

Last edited by cfr (2013-01-22 02:13:00)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB