You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-22 00:16:45

ill
Member
From: US
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 115

[SOLVED] Can't get DHCP to work with wifi

On my recent install my wireless connection won't work with DHCP. If I use static IP I can associate with my AP and all is well but with DHCP wicd-gtk goes through the connection process and then just says "Not Connected". Any ideas?

Last edited by ill (2013-01-22 01:18:28)

Offline

#2 2013-01-22 00:26:12

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,966
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get DHCP to work with wifi

I suspect this is due to the interface renaming.  Check the stickied thread on that and adjust your wicd configuration accordingly.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2013-01-22 00:36:08

ill
Member
From: US
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 115

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get DHCP to work with wifi

I don't believe that's the issue. wicd successfully autodetected the interfaces... plus if it had the wrong interface I don't think using static IPs would fix the problem.

Offline

#4 2013-01-22 00:57:52

HungGarTiger
Member
From: nz/auckland/
Registered: 2012-06-27
Posts: 186

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get DHCP to work with wifi

ill wrote:

I don't believe that's the issue. wicd successfully autodetected the interfaces... plus if it had the wrong interface I don't think using static IPs would fix the problem.

Have you tried connecting manually with wpa-supplicant?

The wiki says this

If wicd repeatedly fails to get an IP address using the default dhcpcd client, try installing and using dhclient instead:

# pacman -S dhclient

I'd try manually with wpa-supplicant and if that works try the new dhcp client


"No sympathy for the devil. If you buy the ticket, take the ride."
- Hunter S. Thompson

Offline

#5 2013-01-22 01:07:02

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,966
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get DHCP to work with wifi

What's in the wicd.log ?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#6 2013-01-22 01:18:17

ill
Member
From: US
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 115

Re: [SOLVED] Can't get DHCP to work with wifi

dhclient worked, thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB