You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-25 18:54:38

eddygrinder
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 17

Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

Hi,
Been with this problem for quite a while. I'm piss€d off
(Sorry about my english.. I'm Portuguese...)

I've installed this release
Current Release: 2013.01.04
Included Kernel: 3.6.11

As i stop using Arch on a daily basis, i decide to install it again on my laptop. (I'm still using slackware, though)

I followed the wiki procedures and when i reboot i've got no modules loaded.

The reason:
uname -a give me 3.2.29 and the modules installed are 3.7.4.1.

I don't know what to do more. I've done 2 fresh installs and the results are the same.

I've upgraded with pacman -Syu, i've done:
pacman -S udev
pacman -S mkinitcpio
mkinitcpio -p linux
pacman -S linux

once or twice and... nothing.

something is missing and i don't know what. I'm out of ideas.

Thx for the help,
EddY

Last edited by eddygrinder (2013-01-28 01:12:34)

Offline

#2 2013-01-25 19:51:09

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,125

Re: Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

You're still booting the Slackware kernel.

Are you dual booting? Using a separate boot partition that still has the old kernel and isn't mounting correctly? Where is your boot loader looking for the kernel image?

Offline

#3 2013-01-25 19:58:21

eddygrinder
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 17

Re: Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

Scimmia wrote:

You're still booting the Slackware kernel.

Are you dual booting? Using a separate boot partition that still has the old kernel and isn't mounting correctly? Where is your boot loader looking for the kernel image?

Yes, no... i'm triple booting. (Slackware, Arch and W.)

I have one partition for Slackware (System), Arch (system), a common home, and W

The boot is slackware installed. However, when running lilo, i've got an error concerning Arch initramfs. It stills boot but it won't load any modules...

Offline

#4 2013-01-25 20:02:12

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,125

Re: Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

Lilo isn't installing, then. It's loading the kernel from your Slackware partition when you're trying to boot Arch.

Post your lilo.conf and the output of lsblk if you need help.

Offline

#5 2013-01-25 20:22:58

eddygrinder
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 17

Re: Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

Scimmia wrote:

Lilo isn't installing, then. It's loading the kernel from your Slackware partition when you're trying to boot Arch.

Post your lilo.conf and the output of lsblk if you need help.

Here it is:

# LILO configuration file
# generated by 'liloconfig'
#
# Start LILO global section
boot = /dev/sda
#compact        # faster, but won't work on all systems.
# Boot BMP Image.
# Bitmap in BMP format: 640x480x8
  bitmap = /boot/slack.bmp
# Menu colors (foreground, background, shadow, highlighted
# foreground, highlighted background, highlighted shadow):
  bmp-colors = 255,0,255,0,255,0
# Location of the option table: location x, location y, number of
# columns, lines per column (max 15), "spill" (this is how many
# entries must be in the first column before the next begins to
# be used.  We don't specify it here, as there's just one column.
  bmp-table = 60,6,1,16
# Timer location x, timer location y, foreground color,
# background color, shadow color.
  bmp-timer = 65,27,0,255
# Standard menu.
# Or, you can comment out the bitmap menu above and
# use a boot message with the standard menu:
#message = /boot/boot_message.txt

# Append any additional kernel parameters:
append=" vt.default_utf8=0"
prompt
timeout = 300
# Normal VGA console
vga = normal
# Ask for video mode at boot (time out to normal in 30s)
#vga = ask
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x64k
# vga=791
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x32k
# vga=790
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
# vga=773
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x64k
# vga=788
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x32k
# vga=787
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x256
# vga=771
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x64k
# vga=785
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x32k
# vga=784
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x256
# vga=769
# ramdisk = 0     # paranoia setting
# End LILO global section
# Linux bootable partition config begins

# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/sda5
  label = Slack
  read-only  # Partitions should be mounted read-only for checking
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz (sym link)
  root = /dev/sda7
  initrd = /boot/initramfs (sym link)
  label = Arch
  read-only  # Partitions should be mounted read-only for checking
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Windows bootable partition config begins
other = /dev/sda2
  label = 8
  table = /dev/sda
# Windows bootable partition config ends

I forgot do post lsblk but is something like:
sda2 - windows
sda5 - Slack
sda6 - Swap
sda7 - Arch
sda9 - home

Last edited by eddygrinder (2013-01-25 20:45:48)

Offline

#6 2013-01-25 21:03:25

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,125

Re: Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/sda5
  label = Slack
  read-only  # Partitions should be mounted read-only for checking
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz (sym link)
  root = /dev/sda7
  initrd = /boot/initramfs (sym link)
  label = Arch
  read-only  # Partitions should be mounted read-only for checking
# Linux bootable partition config ends

LILO is a file system unaware bootloader. This means that it maps the location on the drive of the necessary files, it doesn't look at the path at boot time. If you look at at your configuration, both of your linux entries are pointed at /boot/vmlinuz, so whatever that file is when you install LILO is what it will use. You need to mount your Arch partition in Slackware and point lilo.conf to the kernel and initrd of Arch.

Had to go back in my memory a bit, I haven't used LILO in years. File system aware bootloaders are such a nice thing.

Offline

#7 2013-01-25 21:25:41

eddygrinder
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 17

Re: Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

Scimmia wrote:
# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/sda5
  label = Slack
  read-only  # Partitions should be mounted read-only for checking
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz (sym link)
  root = /dev/sda7
  initrd = /boot/initramfs (sym link)
  label = Arch
  read-only  # Partitions should be mounted read-only for checking
# Linux bootable partition config ends

LILO is a file system unaware bootloader. This means that it maps the location on the drive of the necessary files, it doesn't look at the path at boot time. If you look at at your configuration, both of your linux entries are pointed at /boot/vmlinuz, so whatever that file is when you install LILO is what it will use. You need to mount your Arch partition in Slackware and point lilo.conf to the kernel and initrd of Arch.

Had to go back in my memory a bit, I haven't used LILO in years. File system aware bootloaders are such a nice thing.

Damn it! I don't quiet understand what you mean by "point lilo.conf to the kernel and initrd of Arch."

I mounted Arch on Slackware /mnt and changed the path on root and initrd... Is that it?
(I've installed GRUB2 but i have to know what the hell is goin on)

Offline

#8 2013-01-25 21:29:18

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,125

Re: Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

Yes, if you mounted the Arch partition on /mnt, change image to /mnt/boot/vmlinuz-linux and initrd to /mnt/boot/initramfs-linux.img. Do not change root.

Offline

#9 2013-01-28 01:12:06

eddygrinder
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 17

Re: Fresh Install and no modules after boot [SOLVED]

Scimmia wrote:

Yes, if you mounted the Arch partition on /mnt, change image to /mnt/boot/vmlinuz-linux and initrd to /mnt/boot/initramfs-linux.img. Do not change root.

Hi,

I've changed lilo.conf and it's working now.
Thx for your help, Scimmia.

EddY

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB