You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-26 20:27:57

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

[SOLVED] Not enough space.

Big thanks to everyone who helped me out!

aperantly my /dev/sda2 wasn't mounted
This is how I solved it :
(swich user to root)

mount /dev/sda2 /mnt
cp -av /home/* /mnt
mv /home /old.home
mkdir /home
umount /dev/sda2
mount /dev/sda2 /home
rm -rf /old.home
nano /etc/fstab

Add this in fstab:

/dev/sda2              /home         ext4      defaults,noatime      0      1



-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

(I'm not on a virtual machine)
So, I'm trying to move some files from an external hard drive and it says I don't have enough space.

Supposedly, I have around 1.3 TB of free disk space.
The home partition has like 11 GB occupied.

I've googled and haven't found anything.

Mind helping? :(

Last edited by engraze (2013-01-27 00:27:30)

Offline

#2 2013-01-26 20:29:04

JLloyd13
Member
From: halifax, nova scotia
Registered: 2012-06-24
Posts: 107

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

can you please post pics or code from the exact error?

Offline

#3 2013-01-26 20:34:50

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

YV62rKu.png

That's what I get.

Offline

#4 2013-01-26 20:35:18

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,471
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

engraze wrote:

So, I'm trying to move some files from an external hard drive and it says I don't have enough space.

Supposedly, I have around 1.3 TB of free disk space.
The home partition has like 11 GB occupied.

I've googled and haven't found anything.

Coping files to where? How is it mounted? What is "it" that say you don't have enough space? What is the error message? What did you "google"?

EDIT: How much data are you trying to copy?

Last edited by drcouzelis (2013-01-26 20:37:18)

Offline

#5 2013-01-26 20:39:14

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

@drcouzelis

Copying files to /home/engraze/my stuff/programming slash gee slash  -- (don't ask why the name's so weird)
From LaCie external hard drive mounted with udiskie since I couldn't find the drive with fdisk.

I posed an image of it saying I don't have enough space.
The /home/engraze directory is filled with 11.9GB.

I googled many combinations but mostly about partitioning and moving files and not having enough space.

Offline

#6 2013-01-26 20:41:36

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,471
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

How much data are you trying to copy?

Can you copy a single small file from that external drive to anywhere on your computer?

Last edited by drcouzelis (2013-01-26 20:41:55)

Offline

#7 2013-01-26 20:46:36

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

I'm trying to copy a total of 35.7 GB of files (two folders --gentoomen library and some pack of o'rilley guides) and I can copy a single tiny txt file.

Last edited by engraze (2013-01-26 20:47:36)

Offline

#8 2013-01-26 20:54:31

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 589

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

df -h

Offline

#9 2013-01-26 21:02:35

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

@xabre

TaVu0yu.png

Offline

#10 2013-01-26 21:09:28

Meyithi
Member
From: Wirral, UK
Registered: 2009-06-21
Posts: 550
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

Your root is completely full, 100% use - it going to cause all kinds of problems until you free up some space.


The mind roams more freely in empty rooms.
dwm - colours - ncmpcpp - system
irc://irc.freenode.net:meyithi

Offline

#11 2013-01-26 21:16:43

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

Ooooh man..

Is reinstalling the only way around? hmm

Offline

#12 2013-01-26 21:24:30

Meyithi
Member
From: Wirral, UK
Registered: 2009-06-21
Posts: 550
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

Checkout https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=135664 and maybe search the forums for more results - basically you need to either uninstall some stuff, prune your logs or resize the root partition, only the latter is a permanent solution.


The mind roams more freely in empty rooms.
dwm - colours - ncmpcpp - system
irc://irc.freenode.net:meyithi

Offline

#13 2013-01-26 21:36:38

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

Ok, I'm going to try and re size it.

Thanks for the help. :)

Offline

#14 2013-01-26 21:45:29

Stebalien
Member
Registered: 2010-04-27
Posts: 1,218
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

Your 1.33TiB home partition isn't mounted (/dev/sda2).

Last edited by Stebalien (2013-01-26 21:47:12)


Steven [ web : git ]
GPG:  327B 20CE 21EA 68CF A7748675 7C92 3221 5899 410C
Do not email: honeypot@stebalien.com

Offline

#15 2013-01-26 22:31:17

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

Oh wow, I hadn't noticed that...

I guess I have to mount it to / right?
If not, where?

Offline

#16 2013-01-26 22:35:09

Stebalien
Member
Registered: 2010-04-27
Posts: 1,218
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

No. You have figure out what is on it and then decide where to mount it yourself. But you definitely shouldn't mount it to / (/dev/sda1 is already mounted there).


Steven [ web : git ]
GPG:  327B 20CE 21EA 68CF A7748675 7C92 3221 5899 410C
Do not email: honeypot@stebalien.com

Offline

#17 2013-01-26 22:38:28

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,151

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

engraze wrote:

Oh wow, I hadn't noticed that...

I guess I have to mount it to / right?
If not, where?

First mount sda2 to /mnt/newhome
Then move all data from /home to /mnt/newhome (e.g. mv or rsync + delete)
Make /home an empty directory
Add an fstab-entry to mount sda2 to /home
Reboot - All your user data is now on sda2 and you have free space on your root for applications.

Last edited by progandy (2013-01-26 22:39:25)

Offline

#18 2013-01-26 23:38:59

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,271

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

Moving to Newbie Corner.


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

#19 2013-01-26 23:44:19

engraze
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Not enough space.

Thanks a bunch for the instant replies and useful posts.
This is easily the greatest community I've ever seen.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB