You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-15 12:28:49

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,662

vga=xxx not working (GRUB menu.lst) [solved]

This is the arch entry in my grub menu.lst

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux  [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root   (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda2 ro

As soon as i add vga=773 / vga=788 or other options, i get the message that mode is unknown.

vga=ask only shows modes below 10.

I have a Nvidia Ti4200 card.

Looking at the Kconfig26 Framebuffer part it seems support for Nvidia is not compiled in the arch stock kernel.

# CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA is not set

Is there a way to get this active without re-compiling the kernel ?


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Online

#2 2005-10-15 14:21:46

Deciare
Member
From: UTC -5:00
Registered: 2005-05-05
Posts: 78

Re: vga=xxx not working (GRUB menu.lst) [solved]

If I'm not mistaken, the kernel's framebuffer driver for nVidia cards interferes with the operation of nVidia's propietary driver for X. I've owned 3 nVidia cards  and none of them have ever needed CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA or CONFIG_FB_RIVA to work with the vga boot parameter.

Is CONFIG_FB_VESA set?

Maybe the problem is related to the monitor you're using?

Offline

#3 2005-10-15 14:51:13

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,662

Re: vga=xxx not working (GRUB menu.lst) [solved]

Deciare wrote:

Is CONFIG_FB_VESA set?

Maybe the problem is related to the monitor you're using?

yes, CONFIG_FB_VESA is set.
The problem is not the monitor, because i have suse 9.3 installed on the same pc and vga=0x314 works fine under suse.

under arch neither vga=0x314 or vga=788 works.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Online

#4 2005-10-15 15:04:00

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: vga=xxx not working (GRUB menu.lst) [solved]

Lonewolf: what kernel are you running?

if you are running the archck kernel, then you should use:

video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-32@60


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#5 2005-10-15 15:38:04

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: vga=xxx not working (GRUB menu.lst) [solved]

I allways run vga=792 ... and it works well with my nvidia


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#6 2005-10-15 22:01:14

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,662

Re: vga=xxx not working (GRUB menu.lst) [solved]

uname -a

linux CAESAR 2.6.13-ARCH #1 SMP Sun Oct 9 18:55:01 CEST 2005 i686 AMD Athlon(TM) XP1800+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

I think my problem may have to do with the motherboard, because hwd has 1 unknown device :

PCI bridge
  unknown         : VIA Technologies|VT8367 [KT266 AGP]

Also X  seems to break the console video mode.

Since the agp bus has to do with video, this may explain why i can only choose vga text modes.

Perhaps i should ask this question in the hardware board ?


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Online

#7 2005-10-16 04:13:07

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: vga=xxx not working (GRUB menu.lst) [solved]

I do not believe it has to do with that, because the vga mode uses Framebuffer and it loads in the beginning, the hardware that you describe doesn't load until the end of the session..

Do you know how to make your own kernel? Then try and do your own and see if it workes any better

You can also try and using the Community/kernel26archck

which is a better kernel...with some newer feuteres in it ..


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#8 2005-11-06 23:00:43

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,662

Re: vga=xxx not working (GRUB menu.lst) [solved]

I've done some checking and it seems the bios of my video card has a buggy vesa implementation.

when i use hex numbers , a few modes like 303 (800x600) work, but that's all.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB