You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-28 06:39:31

joosca77
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Posts: 10

[solved] Failed to mount... not authorized

Hey everybody this is my first post in a while due to me being scared to death of getting my head ripped off for not doing my own research. ;-)
It seems like I have looked everywhere but posts are referring to .xinitrc, ck-launch-session and others that from what I have read are referring to pre-systemd. I'm running xfce and can mount all my drives fine with sudo and while booting in with root but when using a normal user account I get a "Failed to mount/Not Authorized" error when trying to access any other hard drives in Thunar. If anybody knows a thread in the wiki they could point me to in order to resolve this I would be very appreciative. I'm relatively new to Linux but don't wan't anybody to do my homework for me. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by joosca77 (2013-01-28 16:42:09)

Offline

#2 2013-01-28 10:28:13

jv2112
Member
Registered: 2011-07-23
Posts: 154

Re: [solved] Failed to mount... not authorized

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fstab


First I would suggest revieiwing your FSTAB file to ensure you have it set up properly.


Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transition that's troublesome. Isaac Asimov - / -  My Pastebin

Offline

#3 2013-01-28 10:28:39

thisoldman
Member
From: Pittsburgh
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 1,172

Re: [solved] Failed to mount... not authorized

Sometimes finding the right search terms...
Try Google, using this without the quotes: "site:archlinux.org thunar user mount fails"

Offline

#4 2013-01-28 16:40:57

joosca77
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Posts: 10

Re: [solved] Failed to mount... not authorized

Thank you guys so much! I can't believe I didn't look closer at FSTAB. Thank you thisoldman for bringing it to my attention that I can search google like that, I had no idea. This community is amazing!

Offline

#5 2013-01-28 20:23:12

itman
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2010-05-21
Posts: 123

Re: [solved] Failed to mount... not authorized

and while you're at it, have a look at https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Polkit.

happy reading...


Asus eeepc 1201N - 4GB and .... archlinux
i5-750                     - 4GB and .... archlinux

Offline

#6 2013-01-28 22:10:36

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [solved] Failed to mount... not authorized

Indeed.

(ò.ô)

# nano /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.udisks.policy

...
<action id="org.freedesktop.udisks.filesystem-mount-system-internal">
       <description>Mount a system-internal device</description>
       <description xml:lang="da">Montér en intern enhed</description>
       <message>Authentication is required to mount the device</message>
       <message xml:lang="da">Autorisering er påkrævet for at montere et fil system</message>
       <defaults>
             <allow_any>yes</allow_any>
             <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
             <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
       </defaults>
</action>
...


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB