You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-28 14:01:07

savithari
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2012-01-28
Posts: 45

eclipse install and possible workarounds please

Friends:

I am running Arch Linux 3.7.41 (64 bit) on my laptop inside a VirtualBox VM.  The 686 is the only available choice in the install ISO, so I assume the installation is 64 bit.

The host is Windows 7 Enterprise edition 32 bit.

I installed open-jdk successfully inside the VM.  It shows as 64 bit.

I then downloaded the the eclipse-64bit-INDIGO (our app wont work right under Juno) so we are using INDIGO.
http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/downlo … _64.tar.gz

When I run tar -xzf eclipse-jee-indigo-SR2-linux-gtk-x86_64.tar.gz  I get eclipse folder.
But when I run ./eclipse, I see the error, cannot run eclipse, not a binary file

At the same time if I download eclipse-32bit-INDIGO
http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/downlo … gtk.tar.gz

and then untar that, then run ./eclipse, it works fine.

I am not sure why a 64 bit eclipse wont run on a 64 bit OS

I am beginning to doubt if truly a 64 bit OS got installed or a 32 bit OS got installed (since the host OS is a 32 bit).  I checked procinfo and it reports 64 bit so I am not sure of that also.

Your help is very much appreciated.

-Narahari

Offline

#2 2013-01-28 14:04:23

pks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-20
Posts: 110

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

It does not sound as if you're really using a 64 bit Arch Linux, regarding your remark on i686. i686 is 32 bit, not 64 bit. You may check the output of uname -a to verify you're indeed using 32 bit.

Offline

#3 2013-01-28 14:19:04

AlexRu
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 33

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

# The host is Windows 7 Enterprise edition 32 bit.
# I am running Arch Linux 3.7.41 (64 bit) on my laptop inside a VirtualBox VM
your guest os is 32bit as well as host, so you cant run 64bit eclipse on it

Offline

#4 2013-01-28 14:20:52

pks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-20
Posts: 110

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

AlexRu wrote:

# The host is Windows 7 Enterprise edition 32 bit.
# I am running Arch Linux 3.7.41 (64 bit) on my laptop inside a VirtualBox VM
your guest os is 32bit as well as host, so you cant run 64bit eclipse on it


That's not entirely true. You may run a 64 bit VM if you've got a processor that's 64 bit capable, even if the host is a 32 bit one.

Offline

#5 2013-01-28 14:22:58

savithari
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2012-01-28
Posts: 45

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

Thank you for the answer.


The ISO that is on Arch Linux website is a dual arch iso.

When I boot using that it gives only one option 686.  I was always led to believe that 686 means 64 bit.  If that is not the case I am not sure how do we choose between the 32 bit and 64 bit versions.

uname -a indicates I am using 64 bit.

Why do you say I am running both 32 bit guest and host ?

-Narahari

Offline

#6 2013-01-28 14:54:37

AlexRu
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 33

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

# That's not entirely true. You may run a 64 bit VM if you've got a processor that's 64 bit capable, even if the host is a 32 bit one.
Thank you for information. Didn't know that it is possible

Offline

#7 2013-01-28 15:01:08

savithari
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2012-01-28
Posts: 45

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

I am confused now.

If I downloaded the iso from the Arch site (it is the dual arch iso) and  I attached to the VirtualBox VM, why does it give me only 686 as the only option ?

Secondly for the record is 686 the 64 bit or 32 bit ?

-Narahari

Offline

#8 2013-01-28 15:03:24

pks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-20
Posts: 110

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

i686 is 32 bit. I have no idea though why you see 32 bit only.

Offline

#9 2013-01-28 15:40:37

satanselbow
Member
Registered: 2011-06-15
Posts: 532

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

You have the pieces - just put them together wink

You are running a 32-bit host

Your host processor - you have not stated which you have - is not 64 bit capable

You can only run a 32 bit guest

You can, therefore, only run 32 bit  applications.

Last edited by satanselbow (2013-01-28 15:41:10)

Offline

#10 2013-01-28 19:49:28

derhamster
Member
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 86

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

satanselbow wrote:

You have the pieces - just put them together wink

You are running a 32-bit host

Your host processor - you have not stated which you have - is not 64 bit capable

You can only run a 32 bit guest

You can, therefore, only run 32 bit  applications.

Sometimes the answer can be too obvious to spot big_smile

BTW @satanselbow: Why don't just install Eclipse through pacman? Pacman would never choose the wrong version smile

Offline

#11 2013-01-28 22:28:03

satanselbow
Member
Registered: 2011-06-15
Posts: 532

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

derhamster wrote:

BTW @satanselbow: Why don't just install Eclipse through pacman? Pacman would never choose the wrong version smile

I do... and it doesn't... the path to enlightenment in an arched one wink

Offline

#12 2013-01-28 23:24:54

derhamster
Member
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 86

Re: eclipse install and possible workarounds please

satanselbow wrote:
derhamster wrote:

BTW @satanselbow: Why don't just install Eclipse through pacman? Pacman would never choose the wrong version smile

I do... and it doesn't... the path to enlightenment in an arched one wink

I somehow skipped that you need Indigo not Juno. My mistake.
Yet, if you needed Juno, pacman would not install the 64-bit version to your 32-bit system big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB