You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-07 09:32:16

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

May 12, 2014 (Updated July 21)
Aura is being redesigned! Over the years Aura has grown in features, and you guys have had use cases that I never could have thought of on my own. It's time Aura got a full redesign to make it the app you guys deserve. Here's the breakdown:

General
----------
1. Aura is to become a cross-distro package manager. It itself will be a platform to add Hooks to for custom behaviour based on distribution.
2. For Arch Linux hooks, we'll have libalpm bindings. This will lift Aura off of pacman, greatly speeding up dependency checks and calls to the package info database. Weird errors due to pacman calls failing will disappear.
3. All current pacman behaviour mimicked in Aura, thanks to libalpm. All (capital letter) operators will respond to `-h` (finally).
4. JSON for package state backup data.
5. JSON for easy-to-pipe dependency information. Graphical applications could be built on top of Aura.

Haskell stuff
----------------
1. Updated library use.
2. New Haskell library for dependency resolution via "Package Repositories" being represented as Monoidal Graphs (might still be just a pipe dream). Recursive dependency info scraping being Monad agnostic?

Other
-------
1. A real logo. It's about time Aura had one. Maybe a variation of what appears on `aura -V`?
2. A website. Aura needs to get to a wider audience, and branding via a website can help that.
3. An i686 version! Aura will be put on Hackage, and an i686 version will become available out of [haskell-core].

Help me come up with more!
There is now an open design document on github. It will specify all of Aura 2's behaviour and will give a clear roadmap for future development. If you'd like to contribute, please by all means do so.

Thanks!

Aura Github Page >>= https://github.com/fosskers/aura
Aura Bitbucket Page >>= https://bitbucket.org/fosskers/aura
Aura AUR Page >>= https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/aura
Aura Wiki Page >>= https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Aura

---

Comparison chart of the various AUR Helpers:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AU … ison_Table

Last edited by fosskers (2016-03-24 20:49:53)


Author of Aura

Offline

#2 2013-01-07 14:26:02

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,506
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

fosskers wrote:

* `--save` option. Stores a record of all installed packages.
* `--restore` option. Restores a state stored with `--save`. Good for reversing system breakage.

That... is GENIUS. yikes

Offline

#3 2013-01-07 22:10:23

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Came up with the idea when a kernel update broke my system. At the time I didn't know it was the kernel, and had done an update of maybe 15 packages or so. I knew one of them had to be the culprit, and I thought to myself "I wish I could just reverse all this at once".

Last edited by fosskers (2013-01-07 22:10:35)


Author of Aura

Offline

#4 2013-01-08 01:33:10

Mindstormscreator
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 166

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

yaourt -S aura
yaourt -Rs yaourt

smile

Also, how do I get zsh completions working right?

Last edited by Mindstormscreator (2013-01-08 01:49:52)

Offline

#5 2013-01-08 05:22:11

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,839

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

fosskers wrote:

Came up with the idea when a kernel update broke my system. At the time I didn't know it was the kernel, and had done an update of maybe 15 packages or so. I knew one of them had to be the culprit, and I thought to myself "I wish I could just reverse all this at once".

Sounds like you'd have to manually save before update though. Wouldn't it make sense to automatically 'checkpoint' each full update?


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#6 2013-01-08 09:00:48

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Thanks for the install smile

Mindstormscreator wrote:

Also, how do I get zsh completions working right?

They're not working...? sad
They install and work on my end...

Is the file _aura present in /usr/share/zsh/site-functions?

---

ngoonee wrote:

Wouldn't it make sense to automatically 'checkpoint' each full update?

Yes. Yes it would.


Author of Aura

Offline

#7 2013-01-08 14:29:03

Spyhawk
Member
Registered: 2006-07-07
Posts: 403

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

drcouzelis wrote:
fosskers wrote:

* `--save` option. Stores a record of all installed packages.
* `--restore` option. Restores a state stored with `--save`. Good for reversing system breakage.

That... is GENIUS. yikes

I haven't checked out 1.1 now, but is the --save/--backup option similar to the Backing_up_and_retrieving_a_list_of_installed_packages commands?

Offline

#8 2013-01-08 20:04:42

Mindstormscreator
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 166

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

fosskers wrote:

They're not working...? sad
They install and work on my end...

Is the file _aura present in /usr/share/zsh/site-functions?

That file is present.

On a second check, completions work for the Official repos but not the aur.

sudo aura -S python-[tab]
python-atspi              python-logilab-astng      python-pyro             
python-beaker             python-logilab-common     python-pyserial         
python-beautifulsoup4     python-lxml               python-pytools          
python-bottle             python-lxml-docs          python-pytz             
...

sudo aura -A yaou[tab]
No matches for: `arguments', `corrections', or `file'

Offline

#9 2013-01-08 21:59:50

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@Spyhawk: I didn't know that existed, and it looks kind of complicated.

@Mindstormcreator: As of yet, you can't do AUR package completions, but you can complete option flags as well as repo packages, as you've seen.


Author of Aura

Offline

#10 2013-01-08 23:08:42

Mindstormscreator
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 166

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

I've also noticed that performing a

aura -Ayu

syncs the official repos before checking for upgrades from the aur. However, only

aura -Syu

upgrades the system from the official repos after syncing. Isn't this unnecessary?

Last edited by Mindstormscreator (2013-01-08 23:12:47)

Offline

#11 2013-01-09 10:02:53

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Mindstormscreator wrote:

Isn't this unnecessary?

I'm afraid I don't understand.


Author of Aura

Offline

#12 2013-01-09 18:04:23

Mindstormscreator
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 166

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

fosskers wrote:
Mindstormscreator wrote:

Isn't this unnecessary?

I'm afraid I don't understand.

Is it necessary for aura to sync the official repos when performing a

aura -Ayu

when only AUR packages are being updated?

Last edited by Mindstormscreator (2013-01-09 22:27:15)

Offline

#13 2013-01-09 19:36:09

Sirsurthur
Member
Registered: 2009-02-02
Posts: 114

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hello fosskers,

Aura looks great. I have the following output when using pacman-colors. Where is the color.conf file ?

aura -Qdt
"(color.conf)" (line 47, column 1):
unexpected end of input
expecting space, "#" or valid colour variable name
Raw shell command call failed.

Best regards,

Sirsurthur

Offline

#14 2013-01-09 21:27:01

rutgerr
Member
From: São Paulo, SP - Brasil
Registered: 2011-06-06
Posts: 72

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Sirsurthur wrote:

Hello fosskers,

Aura looks great. I have the following output when using pacman-colors. Where is the color.conf file ?

aura -Qdt
"(color.conf)" (line 47, column 1):
unexpected end of input
expecting space, "#" or valid colour variable name
Raw shell command call failed.

Best regards,

Sirsurthur

I was having the same problem, solved by adding a "#"  in line 47 in color.conf file at  /etc/pacman.d

Sorry for bad english

Offline

#15 2013-01-09 21:39:21

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Mindstormscreator wrote:

Is it necessary for aura to sync the official repos when performing a

aura -Ayu

when only AUr packages are being updated?

AUR packages may depend on other packages in the repositories, so it seems like a good idea to be fully synced before doing an update.


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#16 2013-01-09 22:11:09

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@Mindstormcreator: litemotiv is right. AUR packages often have repo deps. If your repo database isn't up to date, there could be version conflicts. Typically I run an -Syu once, then -Auak, though.

@Sirsurther: This is a known problem and I will be fixing it. You have to make sure there are no extra newlines at the end of color.conf.


Author of Aura

Offline

#17 2013-01-10 09:49:35

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@Sirsurther: The bug has been fixed. It'll be included in this coming Sunday's release.


Author of Aura

Offline

#18 2013-01-13 10:10:17

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

1.1.1.0 Release
-------
- New option `--devel`. Rebuilds all devel packages installed.
- Italian translation added! Thank you Bob Valantin!
- Support for `powerpill` added. It will be used if installed, unless
  the PACMAN variable is specifically set to something different.
- Aura can now handle PKGBUILDs that produce multiple .pkg.tar files.
- Bug fixes


Author of Aura

Offline

#19 2013-01-18 16:26:20

BubuIIC
Member
Registered: 2013-01-18
Posts: 8

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hey,
I've recently started using aura and I really like it. I have a few questions though:

1. How does aura know what AUR packages I've installed? Does it keep an internal list or does it use pacman -Qm or something? Can I upgrade AUR packages installed before aura (and aura itself) through aura?
2. Previously I have used PKGDEST in makepkg.conf to use a central package directory. Is this recommended with aura or is it completely unnecessary as aura keeps it's own package cache (where?)?
3. Has anyone got package signing to work with aura? It doesn't work for me, although it does with makepkg, I've describe the problem in detail here.

Last edited by BubuIIC (2013-01-18 16:26:46)

Offline

#20 2013-01-21 09:26:53

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

BubuIIC wrote:

Hey,
I've recently started using aura and I really like it. I have a few questions though:

1. How does aura know what AUR packages I've installed? Does it keep an internal list or does it use pacman -Qm or something? Can I upgrade AUR packages installed before aura (and aura itself) through aura?
2. Previously I have used PKGDEST in makepkg.conf to use a central package directory. Is this recommended with aura or is it completely unnecessary as aura keeps it's own package cache (where?)?
3. Has anyone got package signing to work with aura? It doesn't work for me, although it does with makepkg, I've describe the problem in detail here.

Hey BubullC, thanks for using aura and reporting that bug.
Here are the answers to your questions:
1. It parses the `pacman -Qm` output. Using `aura -Au` upgrades all your foreign packages, even if they weren't installed with aura.
2. Using PKGDEST would actually break aura horribly. After building, Aura automatically puts built package files into /var/cache/pacman/pkg, then installs it from there.
3. Let's keep working at that signing issue. We'll figure it out eventually.

Last edited by fosskers (2013-01-21 09:27:07)


Author of Aura

Offline

#21 2013-01-23 19:39:31

bslackr
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 131

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

I get this error and then aura exits with -Au:

aura >>= Determining dependencies...
aura: Parse error. Uninitialized var: ${_pkgbasename}

Might be something wrong with the PKGBUILD itself, but there are several being upgraded and aura doesn't say which or skip that package. Ideally aura would tell me which package gave this error and ask me if I want to skip it or quit.

Offline

#22 2013-01-25 11:40:28

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

bslackr wrote:

I get this error and then aura exits with -Au:

aura >>= Determining dependencies...
aura: Parse error. Uninitialized var: ${_pkgbasename}

Might be something wrong with the PKGBUILD itself, but there are several being upgraded and aura doesn't say which or skip that package. Ideally aura would tell me which package gave this error and ask me if I want to skip it or quit.

I've actually almost completely rewritten the Bash parser, and it should be included in this Sunday's release. It should clear up problems like this.


Author of Aura

Offline

#23 2013-01-27 08:11:23

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

1.1.2.0
-------
- Bash parser completely rewritten.
- Bug fixes (thanks to the new parser)


Author of Aura

Offline

#24 2013-01-30 14:45:07

JohnnyDeacon
Member
From: Colombia
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 81

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hi all,

What is the method to search packages in official repositories?

  ╒══[ /home/jairo/Downloads ]════╕
  └> aura -Ss python
error: no argument for option -s
aura >>= Please check your input.

Reading the Aura wiki says:

Aura is Pacman - All pacman operators and their sub-options are allowed.

Offline

#25 2013-02-03 00:37:18

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@JohnnyDeacon That shouldn't be happening... Does `-Si` work?


Author of Aura

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB