You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-31 04:38:31

rsplenum
Member
Registered: 2013-01-10
Posts: 25

packer: no space left on device error

I tried to install acroread package with packer and I get

[Thu Jan 31|10:00:28|rahul@archlinux => ~]
└──╼ packer acroread
/usr/bin/packer: line 612: cannot create temp file for here-document: No space left on device
/usr/bin/packer: line 613: cannot create temp file for here-document: No space left on device
 
sort: fflush failed: standard output: No space left on device
sort: write error

this comes with every package, whats wrong ?

Offline

#2 2013-01-31 04:44:49

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: packer: no space left on device error

Is the partition full?

Last edited by the sad clown (2013-01-31 04:45:59)


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#3 2013-01-31 04:50:39

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: packer: no space left on device error

Your /tmp maybe full. See here
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fstab#tmpfs


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

#4 2013-01-31 06:27:07

dag
Member
From: US
Registered: 2013-01-20
Posts: 216

Re: packer: no space left on device error

you either need to add(fstab) and resizes tmpfs, or edit /usr/bin/packer to direct the tmp directory else where. packer and yaourt use tmp as the compiling directory and tmpfs is normally half your ram and is not deleted entile reboot.


--------------------------------------
alcoves wonder creates the wonder unto the ages; never lose that.

Offline

#5 2013-01-31 09:40:48

rsplenum
Member
Registered: 2013-01-10
Posts: 25

Re: packer: no space left on device error

illusionist wrote:

thanks for your reply man, that did solved the problem temporarily but Suddenly I am having this problem with yaourt and packer, that whenever I try to install packages from AUR after a few packages swap gets almost full and I can't install anymore, it starts giving error like when i was installing wine:

wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild-frameworks|.NETFramework|v4.5.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild-frameworks|.NETFramework|v4.5|RedistList.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft|Portable.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft|Portable|v4.0.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft|Silverlight.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft|Silverlight|v2.0.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft|Silverlight|v3.0.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft|VisualStudio.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft|VisualStudio|v9.0.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/lib|mono|xbuild|Microsoft|VisualStudio|v9.0|WebApplications.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/component-guids/support.guid: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/dotnetfakedlls.inf: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/msi-tables/customaction.idt: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/msi-tables/feature.idt: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/msi-tables/installexecutesequence.idt: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/msi-tables/property.idt: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/msi-tables/registry.idt: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/msi-tables/removefile.idt: Write failed
wine-mono-0.0.8/msi-tables/summaryinformation.idt: Write failed
bsdtar: Error exit delayed from previous errors.
==> ERROR: Failed to extract wine-mono-0.0.8.tar.gz
    Aborting...
==> ERROR: Makepkg was unable to build wine-mono.

And some yaourt and packer search results dissappear for e.g. it will show blank terminal for results 1 to 50 and then show results from 51 onwards. I have 1Gb tmpfs mounted in /tmp but still. All my folders are on the same partition and it still has 21Gb free space. Some help please.

Offline

#6 2013-01-31 09:43:08

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,273

Re: packer: no space left on device error

Have you considered stopping compiling in /tmp? 1GB isn't an awful lot of space.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#7 2013-01-31 17:19:47

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: packer: no space left on device error

rsplenum wrote:

thanks for your reply man, that did solved the problem temporarily but Suddenly I am having this problem with yaourt and packer, that whenever I try to install packages from AUR after a few packages swap gets almost full and I can't install anymore.

That is because of all the source files. As WorMzy said, stop compiling in /tmp and do it somewhere else, like in your home directory. Read your wrapper's man page, there should be an option to change compiling directory. I never use yaourt , packer or something similar, IMO it is an overkill. Manually extracting and compiling is much better that any wrapper.

Last edited by illusionist (2013-01-31 17:20:38)


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

#8 2013-04-09 02:28:45

jjshinobi
Member
Registered: 2013-04-06
Posts: 97

Re: packer: no space left on device error

I created a folder called ptemp (on gnome it's right click, new folder...), referenced it by changing the tmpdir location in /usr/bin/packer (sudo nano /usr/bin/packer), read fstab's tmpfs, didn't undestand or saw any instructions on how to clear tmpfs, and now I'm just going to reboot since you said it clears tmpfs. Can someone explain, as if the audience is a guest who never used linux, how to clear tmpfs so that I don't have to reboot from time to time to make things work?

For reference packer doesn't have an arch linux wiki page, it's main page is on github.
Part of it's settings are also kept here: /etc/pacman.conf

Offline

#9 2013-04-09 02:43:43

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: packer: no space left on device error

Well this would not work for somebody "who never used linux" but if you know that it is safe to remove something in /tmp, you can just delete it.

This actually happened to me for the first time the other day. I had switched back to the default RAM so I had 2G rather than 8G. That meant I had 1G rather than 4G for tmpfs. I have a cron job dump my svn repo periodically. It temporarily creates this under /tmp before moving it elsewhere. (Basically, it checks if it is any different than it was before as I keep current and last dumps of the repo). That's almost 1G.

So I just removed the file and that was fine. But obviously you can only do this if you know the file is safe to delete.

There isn't a "how to clear tmpfs" because it depends on what is in tmpfs. Much of what is in there will be in use and ought not be deleted. So you have to know what's safe and what's not if you want to clear it without rebooting.

So long as you quit compiling there, you shouldn't have a problem.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#10 2013-04-09 17:24:35

jjshinobi
Member
Registered: 2013-04-06
Posts: 97

Re: packer: no space left on device error

Just to make sure, I've quite compiling here with the ptmp folder I told you about, right?

Last edited by jjshinobi (2013-04-09 17:40:06)

Offline

#11 2013-04-09 19:41:49

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: packer: no space left on device error

Assuming ptmp is somewhere other than tmpfs e.g. in your home directory, compiling there is fine, yes. I'm not sure that is what you were asking but if it was.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB