You are not logged in.

#1 2012-05-15 14:24:42

rtfreedman
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 72

firewire hd requires authentication

I've a icybox (firewire+usb+sata) used as a backup disk
When using the fw connection I need nowadays a password to mount the partitions
- few weeks ago all was fine.
Using the usb connection is fine - as with any other usb device.

Any pointer welcome...

Last edited by rtfreedman (2012-05-18 19:54:00)

Offline

#2 2012-05-18 22:25:16

rtfreedman
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 72

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

Using udevadm info -a -p $(udevadm info -q path -n /dev/sdc)
looking at device '/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.4/0000:03:0e.0/fw1/fw1.0/host8/target8:0:0/8:0:0:0/block/sdc':
    KERNEL=="sdc"
    SUBSYSTEM=="block"
    DRIVER==""
    ATTR{range}=="16"
    ATTR{ext_range}=="256"
    ATTR{removable}=="0"

Shouldn't it be ATTR{removable}=="1" as with usb disks?

Offline

#3 2012-05-21 22:04:44

rtfreedman
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 72

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

Hm, ubuntu has it also as ATTR{removable}=="0"
at least, they don't require a password to mount

Is there really no one using firewire hard disks on arch?

Last edited by rtfreedman (2012-05-21 22:06:32)

Offline

#4 2012-07-14 21:39:09

rtfreedman
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 72

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

I'm disappointed - no one even acknowledged this as an intended behavior.
Any other distro allows me to mount a fw disk without  a password - why not on arch?

Offline

#5 2012-07-14 23:58:22

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 3,380

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

rtfreedman wrote:

I'm disappointed - no one even acknowledged this as an intended behavior.
Any other distro allows me to mount a fw disk without  a password - why not on arch?

Maybe because only arch is using udisks2 so far. If the problem is caused by udisks2 you should be able to create a .pkla file to override the default behavior.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#6 2012-07-15 00:40:11

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,442

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

rtfreedman wrote:

Is there really no one using firewire hard disks on arch?

Could be.  I've been moderating these forums for a while now.  I don't recall ever seeing a thread like this.  Trust me, your thread has been read.  If someone out there had an answer, they would chime in.  Guaranteed.

You might try the IRC channels as well.  If you find something, would you consider creating a wiki entry?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2012-07-16 18:55:28

rtfreedman
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 72

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

Thanks for the replies.

Maybe because only arch is using udisks2 so far.

Hm, me thinks it's an issue with udev. Arch doesn't use an .pkla file for usb disks - why should it be used for fw disks?

Offline

#8 2012-07-16 20:38:22

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 3,380

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

rtfreedman wrote:

Hm, me thinks it's an issue with udev. Arch doesn't use an .pkla file for usb disks - why should it be used for fw disks?

Because it isn't udev who handles mounting drives. The problem is probably connected with udisks or udisks2 but without more info about the prompt you get when trying to mount the drive it is hard to say for sure.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#9 2012-07-16 21:04:43

rtfreedman
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 72

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

Because it isn't udev who handles mounting drives.

You might be right...

The problem is probably connected with udisks or udisks2 but without more info about the prompt you get

That's easy to explain - an usb stick just gets mounted on demand while a fw disk ask for a password once for any number of partitions on the disk.

Last edited by rtfreedman (2012-07-16 21:05:14)

Offline

#10 2012-07-16 21:53:58

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 3,380

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

rtfreedman wrote:

That's easy to explain - an usb stick just gets mounted on demand while a fw disk ask for a password once for any number of partitions on the disk.

Still doesn't answer my question and doesn't add any more information than what you had already provided, it asks for a password, but how? What information does the prompt provide? Which DE are you using, if any and how are you trying to mount it.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#11 2012-07-16 23:00:31

rtfreedman
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 72

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

asks for a password, but how?

Hm, there is a popup window - just like it does for every other privilege operations on other occasions.
I'm using Openbox (installed by ArchBang 18 month ago) & Thunar.
As I said in my first post: Everything was alright 'till few months into this year.

Last edited by rtfreedman (2012-07-16 23:02:41)

Offline

#12 2012-07-18 17:20:57

rtfreedman
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 72

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

Because it isn't udev who handles mounting drives.

Hm, but it also assigns user & group permissions like for usb devices. Isn't that enough for mounting?

Offline

#13 2013-02-03 06:15:00

khampf
Member
Registered: 2012-08-08
Posts: 8

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

Has anyone gotten anywhere with this? Should be trivial for the ones involved in device handling, yet I've learned nothing by reading this thread (the only one I've found on the subject). If you iniate the mount from a commandline and dismissing the authorisation needed dialog it looks like this (devices, labels and username edited out)

Mounting USB, no dialogs whatsoever, just mounts

# udisksctl mount -b /dev/DEVICE
Mounted /dev/DEVICE at /run/media/USER/LABEL.

Mounting FW and dismissing the password dialog that pops up after the udiskctl command

# udisksctl mount -b /dev/DEVICE
Error mounting /dev/DEVICE: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.UDisks2.Error.NotAuthorizedDismissed: The authentication dialog was dismissed

Mounting FW and filling in root pw in the dialog

# udisksctl mount -b /dev/DEVICE
Mounted /dev/DEVICE at /run/media/USER/LABEL.

Offline

#14 2013-02-03 15:32:21

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,422

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

Mounting FW and dismissing the password dialog that pops up after the udiskctl command

# udisksctl mount -b /dev/DEVICE
Error mounting /dev/DEVICE: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.UDisks2.Error.NotAuthorizedDismissed: The authentication dialog was dismissed

And that tells us udisks2 is responsible for popping up with the auth dialog, so a .pkla file is needed.

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2013-02-03 15:33:30)


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#15 2013-02-03 15:51:29

khampf
Member
Registered: 2012-08-08
Posts: 8

Re: firewire hd requires authentication

I've looked a little more into it and it seems that firewire disks are classified as internal/system drives and treated differently. As seen somewhere udev should be told to make them external. I used this to find the controller:

# find /sys/devices/ -name sdj
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:0f.0/0000:05:0b.0/fw1/fw1.0/host12/target12:0:0/12:0:0:0/block/sdj

And made the following /etc/udev/rules.d/10-fw.rules

DEVPATH=="/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:0f.0/0000:05:0b.0/fw1/*", ENV{UDISKS_SYSTEM_INTERNAL}="0"

Which shuld work ... but doesn't. *sigh*

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB