You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-03 11:45:47

nick81
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

Cann't boot latest installation media. Computer is DSA-3020 with POULSBO GMA500 graphics.
I tryied almost everything nomodeset, quiet splash, acpi=off, acpi_osi=Linux, mem=896mb, vga=771.... sad

Interesting is that I see all outputs during kernel boot.
Black screen comes only instead Login prompt.

Last edited by nick81 (2013-02-03 11:47:45)

Offline

#2 2013-02-03 12:59:41

olive
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 1,143

Re: Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

Try
video=SVIDEO-1:d
as boot parameter to the kernel.

Now I have a problem with the latest 3.7 kernel that just crash at loading the i915 module (with a 945GM intel graphic card) only when an external screen is attached to my laptop. The problem seems solved with the RC 3.8 kernel (self compiled). Or just downgrade to the 3.6 kernel or use the lts kernel.

Last edited by olive (2013-02-03 13:02:49)

Offline

#3 2013-02-03 13:32:01

nick81
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Re: Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

Tryied video=SVIDEO-1:d
It didn't work too.

Offline

#4 2013-02-04 08:54:23

nick81
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Re: Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

Some new information.. Today I connected it to monitor with 1680x1050 and everything works ok (DVI).
Yesterday problems was on plasma FullHD (DVI to HDMI reduction).

Offline

#5 2013-06-09 10:28:33

nick81
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Re: Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

nick81 wrote:

Some new information.. Today I connected it to monitor with 1680x1050 and everything works ok (DVI).
Yesterday problems was on plasma FullHD (DVI to HDMI reduction).

Did you solve this thing ? I have same trouble. smile

Offline

#6 2013-06-09 10:30:35

nick81
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Re: Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

Hmm double identity smile  I wrote it myself smile) Aaa smile

Offline

#7 2013-06-09 13:12:22

skualito
Member
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 186

Re: Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

nick81 wrote:
nick81 wrote:

Some new information.. Today I connected it to monitor with 1680x1050 and everything works ok (DVI).
Yesterday problems was on plasma FullHD (DVI to HDMI reduction).

Did you solve this thing ? I have same trouble. smile

Hey, you made my day... Couldn't stop laughing for some time wink

Offline

#8 2013-06-09 13:17:19

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,212
Website

Re: Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

It does show that you are searching the forums for your problem before starting a new thread, which is good.

But what it says of your memory ... I could say all sorts of nasty things - you wouldn't remember them! wink

But, on point, Have you tried `nomodeset` on the kernel line?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#9 2013-06-09 14:12:01

nick81
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Re: Black screen instead login prompt on GMA 500

nomodeset, video, acpi=off, acpi_osi=Linux, mem=896mb, vga=771 and others.. still not works.

I am going to buy another htpc smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB