You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-02 18:10:58

JanusDC
Member
From: Paris
Registered: 2012-05-20
Posts: 4
Website

Problem with scanimage. Only can scan with geometry -x 50 or less

Hi guys,

I have a problem with my scanner (which works perfectly fine with my wife's ubuntu). The problem is quite odd so I will try to detail it as much as I can.

My scanner is the multifunction Epson Stylus SX130, which is already recognized by sane:

$ sane-find-scanner
...
found USB scanner (vendor=0x04b8 [EPSON], product=0x0883 [EPSON Epson Stylus SX130 Series]) at libusb:006:014

However I cannot scan, receiving this error:

$ scanimage --device-name=epson --format=tiff > test.tiff
scanimage: sane_read: Error during device I/O

and the leds of the scanner continue blinking until I disconnect it from my computer (the USB cable)

I couldn't find the specific problem in anywhere, however at the end of the Sane ArchWiki page somebody wrote:

NOTE: I can scan image if I define the X and Y value, but without that error message occurs like: "scanimage: sane_start: Error during device I/O", if anyone know why, please complete the section.

Hence, I tried by passing these parameters to scanimage:

$ scanimage --device-name=epson --mode color --resolution 300 -x 50 -y 50  --format=tiff > test.tiff

And then this is the really odd part. I have tested different sizes and when I scan something up to 50x296mm, there is no problem. Whenever I put something bigger (in any of its axis), then it never ends (and of course, it never do the scan). For example, I have tested it with -x 60 and -y 10 and does not work. X cannot go beyond the 50mm and Y cannot go beyond the 296mm. When it hangs up, the only way to stop it is by disconnecting the scanner and forcing it to kill with the kill command (Ctrl+C outputs "scanimage: received signal 2, trying to stop scanner" and never ends neither).

Here are the available options for my scanner.

$ scanimage --device-name=epson -A

All options specific to device `epson':
  Scan Mode:
    --mode Lineart|Gray|Color [Lineart]
        Selects the scan mode (e.g., lineart, monochrome, or color).

    --depth 8 [inactive]
        Number of bits per sample, typical values are 1 for "line-art" and 8
        for multibit scans.
    --halftoning None|Halftone A (Hard Tone)|Halftone B (Soft Tone)|Halftone C (Net Screen)|Dither A (4x4 Bayer)|Dither B (4x4 Spiral)|Dither C (4x4 Net Screen)|Dither D (8x4 Net Screen)|Text Enhanced Technology|Download pattern A|Download pattern B [inactive]
        Selects the halftone.
    --dropout None|Red|Green|Blue [None]
        Selects the dropout.
    --brightness 0..0 [inactive]
        Selects the brightness.
    --sharpness -2..2 [inactive]
        
    --gamma-correction User defined (Gamma=1.0)|User defined (Gamma=1.8) [User defined (Gamma=1.8)]
        Selects the gamma correction value from a list of pre-defined devices
        or the user defined table, which can be downloaded to the scanner
    --color-correction No Correction|User defined|Impact-dot printers|Thermal printers|Ink-jet printers|CRT monitors [inactive]
        Sets the color correction table for the selected output device.
    --resolution 75|150|300|600dpi [75]
        Sets the resolution of the scanned image.
    --threshold 0..255 [inactive]
        Select minimum-brightness to get a white point
  Advanced:
    --mirror[=(yes|no)] [inactive]
        Mirror the image.
    --speed[=(yes|no)] [no]
        Determines the speed at which the scan proceeds.
    --auto-area-segmentation[=(yes|no)] [inactive]
        
    --short-resolution[=(yes|no)] [no]
        Display short resolution list
    --zoom 50..200 [inactive]
        Defines the zoom factor the scanner will use
    --red-gamma-table 0..255,...
        Gamma-correction table for the red band.
    --green-gamma-table 0..255,...
        Gamma-correction table for the green band.
    --blue-gamma-table 0..255,...
        Gamma-correction table for the blue band.
    --wait-for-button[=(yes|no)] [no]
        After sending the scan command, wait until the button on the scanner
        is pressed to actually start the scan process.
  Color correction coefficients:
    --cct-1 -127..127 [inactive]
        Controls green level
    --cct-2 -127..127 [inactive]
        Adds to red based on green level
    --cct-3 -127..127 [inactive]
        Adds to blue based on green level
    --cct-4 -127..127 [inactive]
        Adds to green based on red level
    --cct-5 -127..127 [inactive]
        Controls red level
    --cct-6 -127..127 [inactive]
        Adds to blue based on red level
    --cct-7 -127..127 [inactive]
        Adds to green based on blue level
    --cct-8 -127..127 [inactive]
        Adds to red based on blue level
    --cct-9 -127..127 [inactive]
        Controls blue level
  Preview:
    --preview[=(yes|no)] [no]
        Request a preview-quality scan.
    --preview-speed[=(yes|no)] [no]
        
  Geometry:
    -l 0..215.9mm [0]
        Top-left x position of scan area.
    -t 0..297.18mm [0]
        Top-left y position of scan area.
    -x 0..215.9mm [215.9]
        Width of scan-area.
    -y 0..297.18mm [297.18]
        Height of scan-area.
    --quick-format CD|A5 portrait|A5 landscape|Letter|A4|Max [Max]
        
  Optional equipment:
    --source Flatbed [inactive]
        Selects the scan source (such as a document-feeder).
    --auto-eject[=(yes|no)] [inactive]
        Eject document after scanning
    --film-type Positive Film|Negative Film [inactive]
        
    --focus-position Focus on glass|Focus 2.5mm above glass [inactive]
        Sets the focus position to either the glass or 2.5mm above the glass
    --bay  1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6  [inactive]
        Select bay to scan
    --eject [inactive]
        Eject the sheet in the ADF
    --adf_mode Simplex|Duplex [inactive]
        Selects the ADF mode (simplex/duplex)

Any help will be more than welcome.

Cheers.


Update: I did a new test. I put the resolution to 150 and then I was able to scan up to the double in the x axe (100mm). Could it be a problem with the management of the printer memory? In any case, it works with Ubuntu, so there must be a software problem.

Update++: I tracked back the odd note in the Sane ArchWiki page, and I found it was written in 2005, some years before merging the USB Scanner Support page with the Sane page. So, it is probably unrelated (I don't think the same problem is has been there since 2005).

Also, I forgot to mention what sane version I am using:

$ pacman -Qi sane | grep Version
Version           : 1.0.23-2

$ uname -a
Linux katu 3.7.5-2-ck #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jan 29 00:26:35 EST 2013 i686 GNU/Linux

Last edited by JanusDC (2013-02-03 16:38:36)

Offline

#2 2013-02-03 16:12:49

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,975

Re: Problem with scanimage. Only can scan with geometry -x 50 or less

Moderator:  Moved to "Kernel and Hardware" by request.

Edit:  JanusDC, personal note.  I had the extreme pleasure of taking my family to your city on holiday last year.  We had a wonderful time and were treated well.  Your city is simply spectacular.

Last edited by ewaller (2013-02-03 16:17:52)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2013-02-04 14:56:08

David Batson
Member
Registered: 2011-10-13
Posts: 640

Re: Problem with scanimage. Only can scan with geometry -x 50 or less

I ran into this issue with a Canon MFP scanner about 4 years ago.  Not having any problem with my present Canon MFP scanner (newer model).

https://forum.mandriva.com/en/viewtopic … 1&t=111163

Is your system fully up-to-date?

Offline

#4 2013-02-04 16:53:15

JanusDC
Member
From: Paris
Registered: 2012-05-20
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Problem with scanimage. Only can scan with geometry -x 50 or less

David Batson wrote:

I ran into this issue with a Canon MFP scanner about 4 years ago.  Not having any problem with my present Canon MFP scanner (newer model).

https://forum.mandriva.com/en/viewtopic … 1&t=111163

Is your system fully up-to-date?

Thanks! It seems to be the same error here. I will try to scan in low quality and see what happens (when I get back home).

My system is fully updated, yes.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB