You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-03 22:22:45

wifon
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Is my Truecrypt running correctly?

Hi everyone!
I just installed Arch, to be strict I switched from Ubuntu after few months. First thing to do after OS installation was to get truecrypt working, as partition with all my precious data is encrypted. I followed steps described in method 1 of Truecrypt's Arch Wiki page.
When I was runing Truecrypt in Ubuntu, I was simply clicking on TC icon, then truecrypt's container (disk) password and then root password. It looks like it works a bit different (at least as I managed to configure it...) cause I have to run it with sudo, and it's not asking me for root password (which is ok for me).
I suppose it's effect of %truecrypt ALL=(root) NOPASSWD:/usr/bin/truecrypt in sudoers file, right?

It's working like that: (just if someone could check if it's like it should be and I didn't screw something up...)
After booting I press alt+f2 (I'm running KDE) and type sudo truecrypt
Mount volume (as root, am I right?)
Hide truecrypt to tray
And then I can manage to view/modify/create files as normal user, so there aren't any problems with permissions, right?

Cheers!

Offline

#2 2013-02-03 22:31:50

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Is my Truecrypt running correctly?

Why run truecrypt with root privileges? When you run it as user, it will prompt you for the root password.

Offline

#3 2013-02-03 22:42:51

wifon
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Re: Is my Truecrypt running correctly?

When I try to run as normal user, I always got message that "Incorrect password or no TrueCrypt volume found."
I'm 1000% sure that I type password correctly.

So I eventually screwed something?

Offline

#4 2013-02-03 23:39:01

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Is my Truecrypt running correctly?

And you are sure you selected the right container?

Offline

#5 2013-02-03 23:43:43

wifon
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 6

Re: Is my Truecrypt running correctly?

Well, I'm using "Auto Mount" feature all the time...
Now I tried to select encrypted partition manually, type password, mount - Truecrypt pops error message saying "Broken pipe"

Offline

#6 2013-02-03 23:46:13

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Is my Truecrypt running correctly?

Ok based on that message, I found this bug report:

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/23639

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB