You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-04 00:53:01

Zwalla28
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 10

SLiM gives "failed to execute login command", kdm works fine

Just as a disclaimer, I'm brand-new to Arch linux.  I installed Arch this morning after using linux mint for some time.  Anyways, I wish to use SLiM as my login manager, but whenever I try to log in (whether it be root or my typical user) it says "failed to execute login command", then flashes a black screen and takes me back to an empty "Login:" box.  I used

systemctl disable slim.service

and then

systemctl enable kdm.service

and upon reboot am able to login perfectly fine. 

I feel like I'm missing something fairly obvious, so any help is appreciated.

Offline

#2 2013-02-04 02:03:54

jv2112
Member
Registered: 2011-07-23
Posts: 154

Re: SLiM gives "failed to execute login command", kdm works fine

Do yo have a /home/user/.xinitrc set up ?

Is it launching your desktop ?

example line:

exec openbox-session

Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transition that's troublesome. Isaac Asimov - / -  My Pastebin

Offline

#3 2013-02-04 02:09:02

Zwalla28
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 10

Re: SLiM gives "failed to execute login command", kdm works fine

There's no .xinitrc folder or file in my home folder.

Offline

#4 2013-02-04 04:34:30

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: SLiM gives "failed to execute login command", kdm works fine

Offline

#5 2013-02-04 05:20:23

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: SLiM gives "failed to execute login command", kdm works fine

Using Slim requires setup.  Use the wiki, it has some great info!

Offline

#6 2013-02-04 05:40:49

Zwalla28
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 10

Re: SLiM gives "failed to execute login command", kdm works fine

My .xinitrc file now contains this

#!/bin/sh
#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)

exec startkde

I tried adding

exec ck-launch-session startkde

instead of just

exec startkde

and that did not work either.

Do either of you know how the file is supposed to looks?  Thanks for the input, anyways.

Offline

#7 2013-02-04 05:44:40

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: SLiM gives "failed to execute login command", kdm works fine

First you don't need ck-launch-session. Secondly, make sure you have lxde, kde, or whatever environment you want actually installed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB