You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-04 18:19:51

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

I can't connect to my wifi

Hi, new arch user here smile
I just installed it into my computer, but it fails using my wireless usb high gain adapter (TP-LINK TL-WN722N)
Well, it works on live cd, on installed version I get this when I login:
[TIME] Timed out waiting for device sys-subsystem-net-devices-eth0.device.
[DEPEND] Dependency failed for dhcpcd on eth0.

I would be really happy if someone helped me because I started to love arch and linux wink
-shinediamond

Offline

#2 2013-02-04 18:22:24

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,222
Website

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

Two problems: 1) eth0 is wired, not wireless; 2) on your new system your interfaces are no longer eth0 and wlan0 but will have hardware specific labels,

Use `ip link` to list your interfaces, then follow the wireless page on the wiki.  If you run into problems, come back with specific details on what you have done and which step(s) failed.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2013-02-04 18:40:09

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

I don't have wired internet..
Okay, I typed 'ip link' and then it found 3 devices, I selected wlp0s26u1u1 and typed 'ip link set wlp0s26u1u1' and the light on receiver turned on smile
Following wireless setup on wiki, I typed command 'iw dev wlan0 scan  |less' and then it just displays > and doesn't responds to commands, only to 'exit' which brings me back to normal arch terminal.

Offline

#4 2013-02-04 18:48:46

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

shinediamond wrote:

I don't have wired internet..
Okay, I typed 'ip link' and then it found 3 devices, I selected wlp0s26u1u1 and typed 'ip link set wlp0s26u1u1' and the light on receiver turned on smile
Following wireless setup on wiki, I typed command 'iw dev wlan0 scan  |less' and then it just displays > and doesn't responds to commands, only to 'exit' which brings me back to normal arch terminal.

You can't type 'iw dev wlan0 scan' because, as you noticed, your wireless network name isn't 'wlan0' it's 'wlp0s26u1u1'.  Thus, the command has to be 'iw dev wlp0s26u1u1 scan | less'.


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#5 2013-02-04 19:02:59

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

-bash: iw: command not found.
(END)
Perhaps I'm missing some libs?

Offline

#6 2013-02-04 19:06:39

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,443

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

shinediamond wrote:

Perhaps I'm missing some libs?

No,. packages.

ewaller@odin:~ 1030 %pacman -Qo iw
/usr/sbin/iw is owned by iw 3.8-1
ewaller@odin:~ 1031 %

Last edited by ewaller (2013-02-04 19:06:53)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2013-02-04 19:14:05

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

ewaller wrote:
shinediamond wrote:

Perhaps I'm missing some libs?

No,. packages.

ewaller@odin:~ 1030 %pacman -Qo iw
/usr/sbin/iw is owned by iw 3.8-1
ewaller@odin:~ 1031 %

Yes, seems like I don't have iw (that command gives me error: Failed to find 'iw' in PATH: No such file or directory)
So, how can I install it (sorry for newbie question). I don't want to reinstall whole system..

smile

Offline

#8 2013-02-04 19:52:16

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,443

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

Take a look at this wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Of … f_Packages

The list of packages you will need to load. according to my system:

ewaller@odin:~ 1039 %pacman -Sp iw
http://www.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/archlinux/testing/os/x86_64/iw-3.8-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
ewaller@odin:~ 1040 %

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#9 2013-02-05 20:19:31

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

I'll try it when I come home, many thanks for helping me out wink

Offline

#10 2013-02-06 14:24:00

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

Oh, just a thing. Your link was broken, but I find new link. I guess it's okay?
http://www.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/archlin … kg.tar.xz/

Offline

#11 2013-02-06 14:57:43

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

shinediamond wrote:

Oh, just a thing. Your link was broken, but I find new link. I guess it's okay?
http://www.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/archlin … kg.tar.xz/

Yes, that will do.  The package was probably in testing when he copied that link, but has by now moved to core.  It's still the same package.


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#12 2013-02-06 16:51:39

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

Okay, I putted that iw package in the /var/cache/pacman/pkg and I execute pacman -S and it tries to download the iw. What did I do wrong/forgot to do? sad

Offline

#13 2013-02-06 17:26:42

lepierre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-05
Posts: 2

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

Hi.

pacman -U /path/to/package/package_name-version.pkg.tar.xz


To keep a copy of the local package in pacman's cache, use :

pacman -U file://path/to/package/package_name-version.pkg.tar.xz

Offline

#14 2013-02-06 17:42:29

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

Yes, it works! Thanks smile i'm not familiar with pacman... Yet wink

Offline

#15 2013-02-06 17:49:38

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

Ok, I see some info from iw dev scan now, but what do I do next? And if I type iw dev myrouter scan | less, I can't go back into terminal and I have to reboot (it displays (END))

Offline

#16 2013-02-06 18:30:29

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,222
Website

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

shinediamond the last 'problem' is simple - hit 'q' to exit from less.  I'm not sure why you used less though if you have never used it before.

The first problem will be solved by reading the wireless wiki page which offers clear step by step instructions.  Do not hesitate to ask if those instructions are unclear, or if you run into problems - but don't expect anyone to otherwise walk you step by step through a well documented process.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#17 2013-02-06 18:33:29

shinediamond
Member
Registered: 2013-02-04
Posts: 19

Re: I can't connect to my wifi

Nevermind, I installed dialog and wpa_supplicant and I'm connected, hooray, thanks to everyone who helped me wink
I'm sorry for being a newbie and not reading wiki sad

Last edited by shinediamond (2013-02-06 18:34:32)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB