You are not logged in.

#1 2005-11-08 02:41:40

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

firefox popups

Lately it seems like firefox shows the 'firefox hasp revented this site from displaying a popup' site quite frequently, and yet I still see the popups.  Is this that the sites have found a way around the popup code, or am I misetting something?

For example, if I search for a word at http://m-w.com/ I get a popup and the firefox bar saying it was blocked. Is it just me?

Dusty

Offline

#2 2005-11-08 02:59:15

freakyc
Member
Registered: 2004-03-28
Posts: 89

Re: firefox popups

No, it's not just you.  I'm trying out the 1.5 RC1 and it seems to be blocking better.  That popup at Merriam-Webster was blocked.

Offline

#3 2005-11-08 03:00:18

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: firefox popups

I do get a pop-up from time-to-time. But for  http://m-w.com/, I don't get any pop-up and no 'firefox has prevented this site from displaying a popup' message either.  I am using the adblock extension, though. It's mostly for blocking flash/img banners but might affect pop-up too.

Offline

#4 2005-11-08 03:00:23

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: firefox popups

Um.. I don't get a pop-up or even that "firefox has prevented..." message..?

Edit: It's probably because I have them covered by adblock, duh.

Edit 2: I disabled adblock and I still don't see anything. Huh..


I am a gated community.

Offline

#5 2005-11-08 03:17:37

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: firefox popups

at m-w, it only pops up if you search for a word. I noticed it at another site earlier, but I don't remember it now.

stonecrest: 200 posts even, cool. smile

Dusty

Offline

#6 2005-11-08 05:10:17

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: firefox popups

I did search for a word but no pop-up, no firefox message. :?

Offline

#7 2005-11-08 07:42:42

murkus
Member
From: Europe/Helsinki
Registered: 2004-03-19
Posts: 254

Re: firefox popups

Snowman wrote:

I did search for a word but no pop-up, no firefox message. :?

Me neither.

Offline

#8 2005-11-08 08:52:09

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: firefox popups

murkus wrote:
Snowman wrote:

I did search for a word but no pop-up, no firefox message. :?

Me neither.

Ditto.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#9 2005-11-08 13:38:54

High|ander
Member
From: Skövde, Sweden
Registered: 2005-10-28
Posts: 188
Website

Re: firefox popups

I get the popup-thing and firefox tries to prevent it

Running: Mozilla Firefox 1.0.7


When death smiles at you, all you can do is smile back!
Blog

Offline

#10 2005-11-08 22:00:40

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: firefox popups

No popup, no message, no adblock. Firefox did say something in the progress bar about a connection to media.fastclick.net, but that seemed to come to nought.

(Using 1.5 RC1.)

Offline

#11 2005-11-09 00:42:50

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: firefox popups

Hmmm, I guess they are out to get me after all. Glad to know it wasn't just random paranoia..... :-S

Dusty

Offline

#12 2005-11-09 00:59:02

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: firefox popups

Maybe you should look at your cookies, there might be something vile in there.

Offline

#13 2005-11-09 01:44:24

Kern
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-02-09
Posts: 460

Re: firefox popups

1.5 Beta2 here, as it comes, no extra plugins extensions.
wordsearch at m-w results in "popup blocked" msg.
Nothing pops up.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB