You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-06 21:30:10

Leonid.I
Member
From: Aethyr
Registered: 2009-03-22
Posts: 948

[SOLVED] No sound in VMs on top of qemu 1.3

After replacing qemu-kvm with qemu 1.3.x, I can't get sound to work in my VMs. The devices are properly recognized inside VM, alsamixer shows all controls OK, but speaker-test doesn't produce any sound.

On the host, the sound works, so it's not a permissions issue. The guests are archlinux and archbang, all running systemd and polkit... There are no error messages in host logs or terminal which I use to call qemu (except the OSS complaints).

Does anyone have an idea how to investigate this further?

TIA.

Last edited by Leonid.I (2013-02-08 18:47:46)


Arch Linux is more than just GNU/Linux -- it's an adventure

Offline

#2 2013-02-07 15:35:31

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,243

Re: [SOLVED] No sound in VMs on top of qemu 1.3

With -soundhw ac97 it fails for me also, but with -soundhw es1370 i get sound.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#3 2013-02-08 15:20:00

Leonid.I
Member
From: Aethyr
Registered: 2009-03-22
Posts: 948

Re: [SOLVED] No sound in VMs on top of qemu 1.3

Very strange. For me, all sound devices _appear_ work in a VM, except there is no sound... Can you tell how exactly you call qemu?.. Thanks.

Last edited by Leonid.I (2013-02-08 15:20:21)


Arch Linux is more than just GNU/Linux -- it's an adventure

Offline

#4 2013-02-08 18:47:17

Leonid.I
Member
From: Aethyr
Registered: 2009-03-22
Posts: 948

Re: [SOLVED] No sound in VMs on top of qemu 1.3

Well, scratch that.

It turns out that I was stupid and forgot to set QEMU_AUDIO_DRV=alsa before calling qemu... Now the sound works smile


Arch Linux is more than just GNU/Linux -- it's an adventure

Offline

#5 2013-02-08 18:48:31

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,271

Re: [SOLVED] No sound in VMs on top of qemu 1.3

Please mark this thread [SOLVED] then, Leonid.I


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB