You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-07 15:21:19

steady_drop
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 31

No Signal in X

Hello Everyone,
I have been going crazy trying to fix a strange problem on my HTPC. I was wondering if anyone could help me out because I have done extensive legwork and still can not resolve the issue. I would be extremely grateful to anyone who could lend a hand.
The problem is as follows:
I have a e350 AMD system and I have installed Arch x64 on it.
I managed to install and test the catalyst drivers as per the guides and everything is working. I used the unofficial repo method for catalyst and hardware acc. is confirmed to be working. I disabled KMS with kernel switch nomodeset as recommended.
I set everything up on my computer monitor and X works. I am connected via HDMI.
I am able to get into LXDE and it works.
BUT..
When I switch my box over to my TV via HDMI that´s when things get weird..
My computer boots and I am able to see everything load up and I get to the login screen (no X yet, just in terminal) but when I startx (i added exec lxde to my xinitrc and it works on my computer monitor)
I lose the signal...
I checked the amd tool ammcle and even enabled the force setting for HDTV´s but still nothing.
Please has anyone ever experienced this and was able to fix it?
Thank you.

Offline

#2 2013-02-08 03:01:48

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: No Signal in X


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#3 2013-02-08 14:57:23

steady_drop
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 31

Re: No Signal in X

That seems very promising. I´ll be able to try it out, I´ll be home in a few. I´m going to remove xorg with pacman then add the xorg112 repo. One thing that does make me wonder though is that Xorg works on my comp monitor, perhaps xorg can´t handle my TV? Thank you !

Offline

#4 2013-02-08 15:51:14

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: No Signal in X

You won't need to uninstall xorg-server.  Just enable the repository and install the modified server.  Pacman should detect the conflict between the two and ask for permisssion to uninstall the standard xorg.


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#5 2013-02-09 01:48:34

steady_drop
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 31

Re: No Signal in X

Heya, I tried with xorg 112 repo downgraded with pacman -Suu and it doesn't work...I'm gonna try from a fresh install to see if I missed something..

Offline

#6 2013-02-12 01:04:51

steady_drop
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 31

Re: No Signal in X

Heya mate, I tried everything over from a fresh install and still nothing.I am using the AMD 6310 so I know I have to use the catalyst repo and since I don´t need legacy I can use current xorg and when I am plugged into my computer monitor X works a charm...It just seems X refuses to work with my TV..I am getting desperate..

Offline

#7 2013-02-19 02:27:55

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: No Signal in X

Have you looked into this:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ca … ware_calls

Edit: Also, which Catalyst driver are you using?

Last edited by the sad clown (2013-02-19 02:29:15)


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB