You are not logged in.

#1 2004-01-12 15:55:52

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

autospeedstep ?

http://www.gpsdrive.cc/speedstep.shtml

what do you think? is this a save tool? i dont want to kill my cpu, but on the laptop it would be nice saving power with something like this --- now my intel p4m runs all the time on 2GHz sad

any success-story with something like this or simmilar things?

thanx in advance


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#2 2004-01-12 16:05:59

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: autospeedstep ?

I already have a package for this.  I've been using it on my laptop for quite some time now.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#3 2004-01-12 18:05:04

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: autospeedstep ?

do you mind posting it in your TUR? ... i want to try saving power :-)

i can also built it, but it saves also 2-5 min of time wink using already built pkgs

thanx in advance --- i'm much nearer the solution


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#4 2004-01-12 18:29:46

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: autospeedstep ?

I'll get it up there after school... which is like 6 or 7 hours from now.  If you don't want to wait, feel free to build it yourself.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#5 2004-01-12 20:21:40

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: autospeedstep ?

ok mr cranky tongue  tongue


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#6 2004-01-12 22:22:58

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: autospeedstep ?

in the meantime i built it myself ... can be found in my TUR ...

but it seems it do not work:

i start it as root with autospeedstep start
but my cpu stays on 1998.52MHz the whole time of 10min@1.3% ... any ideas?

what does "cranky" mean?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#7 2004-01-13 05:28:14

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: autospeedstep ?

I found I had to let it run for a while.  I think it's not great at remembering what state it's in (fast or slow).


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#8 2004-01-13 15:05:06

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: autospeedstep ?

Another great program for auto-cpufreq manipulation is cpudfreqd (included in extra) & it's really customizable. However I'm having a hard time running it in 2.6.x kernels. When more than one progs (in my case cpufreqd & gkrellm) try to access /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1, acpid woes & I get 0% battery status, no matter if I run through ac adapter or battery. The only solution is restart.
In 2.4.x it works ok (with cpufreq patches).
Anyone else having such problems with 2.6.x kernels ?

Offline

#9 2004-01-13 16:33:13

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: autospeedstep ?

zen_guerrilla wrote:

Another great program for auto-cpufreq manipulation is cpudfreqd (included in extra) & it's really customizable. However I'm having a hard time running it in 2.6.x kernels. When more than one progs (in my case cpufreqd & gkrellm) try to access /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1, acpid woes & I get 0% battery status, no matter if I run through ac adapter or battery. The only solution is restart.
In 2.4.x it works ok (with cpufreq patches).
Anyone else having such problems with 2.6.x kernels ?

using kernel 2.6.1

[root@Asteraceae damir]# cpufreqd -D
find_cpufreq_interface(): no cpufreq interface found.
Unable to find a cpufreq interface, please ensure to have cpufreq enabled in the running kernel.
Exiting.

any idea if i have to load a module or so?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#10 2004-01-13 17:01:17

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: autospeedstep ?

You need to enable cpufreq in kernel, maybe that's why autospeedstep didn't run on your system in the first place.
For cpufreqd & 2.6.x you need to replace % lines in /etc/cpufreqd.conf with the actual cpu speed you want, btw. As example if your cpu is 2000 MHz, replace 66% with 1200. Just do the math smile.

Offline

#11 2004-01-13 19:03:53

whatah
Member
Registered: 2003-08-10
Posts: 114

Re: autospeedstep ?

cpufreqd works fine for me, in the 2.6 kernel, the only problem is it doesn't do what i want it to: it slows/speeds up based on battery life. something like autospeedstep would be good, but autospeedstep doesn't work, it spits out an error about no /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/performance. I was looking at cpudynd, but that doesn't work either. Any other suggestions?

Offline

#12 2004-01-13 19:53:01

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: autospeedstep ?

whatah wrote:

cpufreqd works fine for me, in the 2.6 kernel

Which kernel version are u using, btw ?

Offline

#13 2004-01-13 21:42:56

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: autospeedstep ?

zen_guerrilla wrote:

You need to enable cpufreq in kernel, maybe that's why autospeedstep didn't run on your system in the first place.

is this not enabled in the 2.6.1 stock-kernel?

zen_guerrilla wrote:

For cpufreqd & 2.6.x you need to replace % lines in /etc/cpufreqd.conf with the actual cpu speed you want, btw. As example if your cpu is 2000 MHz, replace 66% with 1200. Just do the math smile.

what do you do with 0%? what if this speed is not supported? i read that some p4m can only do some speeds longterm ... i dont want to break my cpu only to save a little battery

but thanx a lot for the answer; we are closer the solution i want wink


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#14 2004-01-14 00:12:51

whatah
Member
Registered: 2003-08-10
Posts: 114

Re: autospeedstep ?

i am using kernel 2.6.0, but custom build.

Offline

#15 2004-01-14 16:54:45

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: autospeedstep ?

I switched to 2.6.1 (from 2.6.1-mm1) it works again smile. it seems like -mm kernels don't like cpufreqd...

Offline

#16 2004-02-10 11:32:28

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: autospeedstep ?

Check the new cpudyn pkg. It's the best speedstep solution I've ever used (so far at least smile).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB