You are not logged in.

#1 2005-11-08 03:45:04

alcattle
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 32

sound problem

I just build a new computer except I used the old drives. I now have onboard sound chip that is listed needing the via82xx module. I have tried installing with modprobe and adding the module in rc.conf for boot time install. Both ways gives me an endless scroll of warning/errors which can only be stopped with ctrl-C. I have hwd loaded and lshwd find the sound chip and tells me the correct driver Module (snd-via82xx) but lsmod shows no snd modules at all. Can someone point me in the right direction. Do I have to remove any old module info as I have tried a sound card in the previous box and that never worked. I think it was a cmi-something module.


Big Al in Seattle

http://www.easylinuxguide.com

Very N00b Friendly Group of people

Offline

#2 2005-11-08 05:03:19

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: sound problem

You could try using hotplug:
/etc/rc.d/hotplug start
Check if sound works then do  lsmod to see what modules are loaded.
It might help if you post the error messages or at least tell us what it was saying.

Offline

#3 2005-11-08 08:31:37

alcattle
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 32

Re: sound problem

tried hotplug, it loaded some of the snd-modules but said could not load snd-via82xx, use user module or kernel
when I try to modprobe:

WARNING: Error inserting snd_ac97_codec (/lib/modules/2.6.13-ARCH/kernel/so und/pci/ac97/snd-ac97-codec.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown param eter (see dmesg)
FATAL: Error inserting snd_via82xx (/lib/modules/2.6.13-ARCH/kernel/sound/p ci/snd-via82xx.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dme sg)

Big Al in Seattle

http://www.easylinuxguide.com

Very N00b Friendly Group of people

Offline

#4 2005-11-08 19:16:35

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: sound problem

I can modprobe snd-ac97-codec and snd_via82xx without any error message.  Try running alsaconf. Some people had similar error while loading sound modules with the latest kernel. BTW, are you using the stock kernel?

Offline

#5 2005-11-08 19:43:30

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: sound problem

maybe a kernel upgrade without reboot afterwards?  roll

me never run alsaconf, vi on modprobe.conf or anything or the sort. i plain modprobe, add myself to the group audio, relogin, unmute and add alsa to DAEMONS. it should work ok with snd_via82xx the least, i can tell from many mobos i have around here.


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#6 2005-11-08 19:51:22

cs25x
Member
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 150

Re: sound problem

try alsaconf to update /etc/modprobe.conf, you might still have to add some things yourself esp something like

options snd-via82xx index=0 dxs_support=4

The dxs line did not get written on my box, and you get bad distortion and breakthru between channels without it. That is inserted before the alsaconf generated stuff.

FWIW, here is the relevant bit of my modprobe.conf, after the big upgrade to 2.6.13, the only real problem I had was the barfing bit and that wsa fixed in udev rules.

#############################################>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF verion 1.0.8 ---

#  from arch forums
#??????????? october 2.6.13 kernel new alsa driver, this barfs
#>>>>options snd  device_mode=0666
#??????????? october 2.6.13 kernel new alsa driver, this barfs

# from the list on the alsa site
options snd-via82xx index=0 dxs_support=4

#############################################>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF version 1.0.9a ---
alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx
alias sound-slot-0 snd-via82xx
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
#############################################>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
#  from arch forums

# Sound (ALSA)
alias char-major-116 snd
alias char-major-14 soundcore
                                                                               
                                                                               
# OSS/Free emulation
#alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss                                                                                 
                                                                               
# Sound lookup entries for devfs support
alias /dev/sound/dsp sound-service-0-3
#alias /dev/sound/sequencer sound-service-0-1
alias /dev/sound/mixer sound-service-0-0
                                                                               
alias /dev/dsp sound-service-0-3
#alias /dev/sequencer sound-service-0-1
alias /dev/mixer sound-service-0-0


# from alsa website, 13 april 2004 mdk 10
alias sound-slot-1 snd-emu10k1

Take no nortice of any devfs comment, I stopped using that months ago, but the alias lines are (maybe) necessary


--(*(cs25x--));

Offline

#7 2005-11-10 12:04:01

alcattle
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 32

Re: sound problem

Thanks Snowman and others, running alsaconf did the trick. Must of had the old sound card info in there even though I was not loading a module for it.


Big Al in Seattle

http://www.easylinuxguide.com

Very N00b Friendly Group of people

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB