You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-13 08:19:37

dlin
Member
From: Taipei,Taiwan
Registered: 2005-09-21
Posts: 264

[SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

I found some packages contains colon symbol that let scp can not work proper. (rsync still workable)
eg.
xmlrpc-c-1:1.32.2-1-sh4.pkg.tar.xz

if I scp xml* target:   will failed.

Even use rsync can not work.

And, I found google code can not accept such file contains ':'.

Your client does not have permission to get URL /upload/sh4twbox from this server. (Client IP address: 111.235.213.132)

You have tried to upload a file with illegal characters such as +, :, /, \, %. Please change your filename and try again That’s all we know.

There are many colon named packages, I wish it could be replaced by other rule.  Eg.

/var/cache/pacman/pkg/ethtool-1:3.6-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/ethtool-1:3.7-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/ffmpeg-1:1.0.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/gnome-desktop-1:3.6.2-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/go-2:1.0.3-4-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/go-2:1.0.3-5-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/graphite-1:1.0.3-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/graphite-1:1.2.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/libshout-1:2.3.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/lirc-utils-1:0.9.0-34-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/lirc-utils-1:0.9.0-35-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/lxc-1:0.8.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/rasqal-1:0.9.29-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/redland-1:1.0.15-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/redland-1:1.0.16-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/vi-1:050325-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
/var/cache/pacman/pkg/xmlrpc-c-1:1.32.2-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Solution:
Such colon name is caused by 'epoch' settings in PKGBUILD.  And there is a workaround tip for scp (use relative or abs path).

Last edited by dlin (2013-02-13 10:03:59)


Running 4 ArchLinux including sh4twbox,server,notebook,desktop. my AUR packages, old project Arch on colinux,

Offline

#2 2013-02-13 08:23:29

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,524
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

Moving to Pacman and Package Issues...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#3 2013-02-13 08:48:18

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

What exactly are you trying to do? colons in the pkgver have been around for quite a while.

Offline

#4 2013-02-13 08:50:17

dlin
Member
From: Taipei,Taiwan
Registered: 2005-09-21
Posts: 264

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

I found such file can not be 'scp' and can not upload pre build to google code site.
That let my porting to sh4 project can not just use 'googlecode' as repository place.


Running 4 ArchLinux including sh4twbox,server,notebook,desktop. my AUR packages, old project Arch on colinux,

Offline

#5 2013-02-13 08:54:04

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,163

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

Then, maybe, you should consider renaming the file. It works wonders.

Offline

#6 2013-02-13 08:54:52

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

No issue with scp, works fine, so it's strictly a google code problem. Take it up with them.

Offline

#7 2013-02-13 08:59:03

dlin
Member
From: Taipei,Taiwan
Registered: 2005-09-21
Posts: 264

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

tomk wrote:

No issue with scp, works fine, so it's strictly a google code problem. Take it up with them.

If I

scp xmlrpc-c-1:1.32.2-1-sh4.pkg.tar.xz target_host:  

That will cause scp treated xmlrpc-c-1 as a hostname.  That's the problem.

And more, I think such file name can not stored on windows repository.  And maybe some version control systems.


Running 4 ArchLinux including sh4twbox,server,notebook,desktop. my AUR packages, old project Arch on colinux,

Offline

#8 2013-02-13 09:19:28

kaszak696
Member
Registered: 2009-05-26
Posts: 543

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

Using full path or relative path does the trick:

scp /home/user/xmlrpc-c-1:1.32.2-1-sh4.pkg.tar.xz target_host:  
scp ./xmlrpc-c-1:1.32.2-1-sh4.pkg.tar.xz target_host:  

'What can be asserted without evidence can also be dismissed without evidence.' - Christopher Hitchens
'There's no such thing as addiction, there's only things that you enjoy doing more than life.' - Doug Stanhope
GitHub Junkyard

Offline

#9 2013-02-13 09:32:27

dlin
Member
From: Taipei,Taiwan
Registered: 2005-09-21
Posts: 264

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

kaszak696 wrote:

Using full path or relative path does the trick:

scp /home/user/xmlrpc-c-1:1.32.2-1-sh4.pkg.tar.xz target_host:  
scp ./xmlrpc-c-1:1.32.2-1-sh4.pkg.tar.xz target_host:  

Thanks your tip.
But, why ArchLinux choose these special char?


Running 4 ArchLinux including sh4twbox,server,notebook,desktop. my AUR packages, old project Arch on colinux,

Offline

#10 2013-02-13 09:39:00

kaszak696
Member
Registered: 2009-05-26
Posts: 543

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

The only restricted characters in linux filenames are \0 and /, anything else is a fair game.
Debian packagers love to exploit that, so i'ts not only Arch.

Last edited by kaszak696 (2013-02-13 09:40:30)


'What can be asserted without evidence can also be dismissed without evidence.' - Christopher Hitchens
'There's no such thing as addiction, there's only things that you enjoy doing more than life.' - Doug Stanhope
GitHub Junkyard

Offline

#11 2013-02-13 11:27:10

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,163

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

I cannot say, that I am certainly fond of that representation myself. Debian has its reasons for a 0:$UPSTREAMVER-$PKGVER and some upstream use X:Y themselves, but I don't see the use for that on Arch. Look at the examples above, ethtool 1:3.7-1, the upstream version is 3.7, no fancy addition. The 1: in Debian lingo means, that there might have been an older package with a version >3.7, the 1: should stop package managers from thinking anything >3.7 in the past is newer than the current 3.7, even if it is not the case. If there is another numbering problem in the future, it'll be 2:3.6 or whatever. Why do we need this, in a one-version-per-package model, like Arch uses?

Offline

#12 2013-02-13 11:39:15

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,133

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

I assume it's there in case a current upstream release is deemed unsafe after it's been in the repos for a while, and a downgrade to the previous stable version is required. If the package maintainer removes the unsafe package and replaces it with the older version, pacman will just post a warning that local version is more recent than the repo version, the unsafe version will remain on the users system until they manually sync the package, or run -Syuu.

Putting an epoch value on the new package that is higher than the unsafe package will make pacman install the new package even though it's version is technically older than the current packages.

Of course, this is just speculation.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Online

#13 2013-02-13 23:18:56

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: [SOLVED] Why archlinux's package name contain colon symbol?

An example of WorMzy's case would be the libtorrent-rasterbar package. When it was upgraded to 0.16, I believe it was found to cause some issues for (some) BitTorrent clients that relied on it hence it was downgraded.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB