You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-13 21:59:28

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

[SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

So, I downloaded piano bar recently because I found the concept to be really neat. However, when I try to run it through my GNOME terminal, I get the error "ao_alsa ERROR: Unable to open ALSA device 'default' for playback => Invalid argument
/!\ Cannot open audio device" Of course, since I am using GNOME, I have pulse on my system.  When I try running the program in Uxterm and Xterm, I get the same error. I also get the same error when I run pianobar as root.

Here is the output of a logfile for pianobar:

Welcome to pianobar (2012.12.01)! Press ? for a list of commands.
#[2K[?] Email: **************@charter.net
#[2K[?] Password: **********************
#[2K(i) Login... Ok.
#[2K(i) Get stations... Ok.
#[2K     0) q   Adiemus Radio
#[2K     1) q   Christmas Hymn Radio
#[2K     2) q   Christmas Radio
#[2K     3) q   Cuban Radio
#[2K     4) q   Elton John Radio
#[2K     5) q   Jazz Essentials Radio
#[2K     6) q   Jelly Roll Morton Radio
#[2K     7) q   Johnny Cash Radio
#[2K     8) q   Journey Radio
#[2K     9) q   Kenny G Radio
#[2K    10)  Q  QuickMix
#[2K    11) q   Stevie Wonder Radio
#[2K    12) q   The Lord Of The Rings (Film Score) Radio
#[2K    13) q   Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Radio
#[2K[?] Select station: 0
#[2K|>  Station "Adiemus Radio" (1152239683381637738)
#[2K(i) Receiving new playlist... Ok.
#[2K|>  "The Storm Begins" by "Jennifer Haines" on "Thoughts & Dreams: Solo Piano"
#[2K/!\ Cannot open audio device


Thanks for the help!

Last edited by treeman1111 (2013-02-22 02:08:48)

Offline

#2 2013-02-14 00:12:52

firecat53
Member
From: Sammamish, Wa
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,435
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

This is some kind of session issue, I believe. The only way I've found around it so far is to kill the pulseaudio server and restart it with 'start-pulseaudio-x11'.

Scott

Offline

#3 2013-02-14 01:35:06

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

Thanks for the help. However, when I do that, the same issue occurs. : (

Offline

#4 2013-02-14 02:27:03

firecat53
Member
From: Sammamish, Wa
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,435
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

Do you have /etc/libao.conf as:

default_driver=pulse

Scott

Offline

#5 2013-02-14 03:06:57

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

I just changed that. Now I just get: /!\ Cannot open audio device

Offline

#6 2013-02-14 03:09:37

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

Thanks again for the help : )

Offline

#7 2013-02-21 00:20:34

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

Can anyone help me?!

Offline

#8 2013-02-22 02:08:26

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

I figured it out: I had to change the contents of /etc/libao.conf to:

default_driver=pulse

from:

default_driver=alsa
dev=default

Offline

#9 2013-10-23 19:11:53

gianmh
Member
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

Anyone know why this is happening? My bad on the the thread rez. The above worked for me. I was just wondering why it happens.

Thanks

Offline

#10 2014-01-19 05:22:15

hydn
Member
From: Antigua
Registered: 2012-09-23
Posts: 104
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

I also get:

ERROR: Unable to open ALSA device 'default' for playback => Invalid argument

I'm also curious as to why and also what the above changes effect. I tried fix in post #8 which works.

Last edited by hydn (2014-01-19 05:33:04)

Offline

#11 2015-05-14 18:20:17

SomeBuns
Member
Registered: 2015-05-14
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

treeman1111 wrote:

I figured it out: I had to change the contents of /etc/libao.conf to:

default_driver=pulse

Just made an account to confirm this solutions. Thanks smile

Offline

#12 2015-05-14 22:57:00

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,877

Re: [SOLVED] Problems with Pianobar

Hi SomeBuns, welcome to Arch. Please take a moment to get acquainted with the forum etiquette, paying particular attention the section about necrobumping.

As this thread is two years old, and marked as solved, I am going to lock it now.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB