You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-13 11:49:09

rabcor
Member
Registered: 2013-02-09
Posts: 490

Adobe Reader on 64bit?

I need that reader for viewing pdf files. read this

to find this

Should i bail on adobe reader and use something else?(i've found okular and evince, but i still want adobe reader since thats what i'm used to.)
Or is there a simple way to install adobe reader?

Offline

#2 2013-02-13 12:04:03

kar
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2013-01-30
Posts: 19

Re: Adobe Reader on 64bit?

I have the following version of Adobe Reader on my Arch 64bit installed and it works with no problems:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/acroread/

But you should activate the Multilib-Repo. Adobe Reader is 32bit and it needs some 32bit-libs on Arch 64bit.

Offline

#3 2013-02-14 09:50:23

rabcor
Member
Registered: 2013-02-09
Posts: 490

Re: Adobe Reader on 64bit?

I have  the multilib, extra, core and community repos active but it gives me "error: target not found" on acroread, and bin32-acroread. also does this on rar. and unfortunately smplayer2 aswell sad

i wonder if i did something wrong...

from pacman.conf

#[testing]
#SigLevel = PackageRequired
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[core]
SigLevel = PackageRequired
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[extra]
SigLevel = PackageRequired
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

#[community-testing]
#SigLevel = PackageRequired
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[community]
SigLevel = PackageRequired
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

# If you want to run 32 bit applications on your x86_64 system,
# enable the multilib repositories as required here.

#[multilib-testing]
#SigLevel = PackageRequired
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[multilib]
SigLevel = PackageRequired
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

nothing wrong with this right?

Last edited by rabcor (2013-02-14 09:55:32)

Offline

#4 2013-02-14 10:16:36

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,319

Re: Adobe Reader on 64bit?

acroread is in the AUR.

Instructions to use the AUR start here

Offline

#5 2013-02-14 13:47:23

rabcor
Member
Registered: 2013-02-09
Posts: 490

Re: Adobe Reader on 64bit?

ah thats simple, thanks smile

But still not quite working. i get an FTP error while trying to download AdbeRdr....

it might have something to do with the fact that i'm on a school network. i can confirm that later today.

Last edited by rabcor (2013-02-14 13:51:44)

Offline

#6 2013-02-14 16:51:15

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,549
Website

Re: Adobe Reader on 64bit?

What are you using to get the program?
I'm using aurget and as soon as I type: "aurget -S acroread" I get it.

May be it is a problem related to the tool you are using to get the file?

R.

Offline

#7 2013-02-14 19:02:22

frank604
Member
From: BC, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-20
Posts: 951
Website

Re: Adobe Reader on 64bit?

Packer and yaourt are also good front end tools for installing from AUR.


github       bible       blog

Offline

#8 2013-02-15 13:17:32

rabcor
Member
Registered: 2013-02-09
Posts: 490

Re: Adobe Reader on 64bit?

Didn't know AUR had front end tools yikes

I was just doing it manually... downloaded the tar.gz file, extracted it in homedir, ran makepkg, then "pacman -U /home/package/tar.gz"

i'll have to look into that.

But it was my school network that was blocking the adobe air download after all smile thank you for your help guy i've got it working now smile only to jump straight into another issue with another adobe product which i'll make a new thread for.

Offline

#9 2013-02-15 15:41:28

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: Adobe Reader on 64bit?

rabcor wrote:

I was just doing it manually... downloaded the tar.gz file, extracted it in homedir, ran makepkg, then "pacman -U /home/package/tar.gz"

Two things here:
1) You don't do pacman -U on tar.gz file. You do it on xyz.tar.xz file, which you'll get after compiling/making the package.

2) To overcome this hassle run makepkg with -i flag. Like:

$ makepkg -si

The "-s" flag will automatically download all the dependencies needed (if they are in official repos). Also "man makepkg" will help you with other flag options too. On a second note I don't use any AUR helpers. They tend to break more than often for me, doing it manually is the way to go (at least for me and IMHO for the starters, you should do it manually too ).


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB