You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-16 20:18:14

draq
Member
Registered: 2013-01-05
Posts: 3

Arch in VMware - problems with Drag and Drop and Unity

Hello Newebie Corner,

I followed the instructions from https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _in_VMware to install arch as guest in VMware Workstation 9 (win7 is host). The installation went fine but I got into a couple of problems.

1. drag and drop from from the host to the guest is not working and results in this error:
----------------
Error when getting information for file '/proc/fs/vmblock/mountPoint/4a51c9da/[file]'.
No such file or directory.
----------------
Any ideas what the problem here could be?
Strangely, drag and drop from the guest to the host is working.

2. When I try to enter VMware's "Unity mode" it does not work. I get the following error:
----------------
The virtual machine cannot enter Unity mode because:
- The guest operating system does not have VMware Tools installed.
----------------
open-vm-tools is not supporting Unity mode?


Any help for the above issues would be much appreciated!
Draq

Offline

#2 2013-02-17 18:41:59

hal8000
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 45

Re: Arch in VMware - problems with Drag and Drop and Unity

draq wrote:

Hello Newebie Corner,

I followed the instructions from https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _in_VMware to install arch as guest in VMware Workstation 9 (win7 is host). The installation went fine but I got into a couple of problems.

1. drag and drop from from the host to the guest is not working and results in this error:
----------------
Error when getting information for file '/proc/fs/vmblock/mountPoint/4a51c9da/[file]'.
No such file or directory.
----------------
Any ideas what the problem here could be?
Strangely, drag and drop from the guest to the host is working.

2. When I try to enter VMware's "Unity mode" it does not work. I get the following error:
----------------
The virtual machine cannot enter Unity mode because:
- The guest operating system does not have VMware Tools installed.
----------------
open-vm-tools is not supporting Unity mode?


Any help for the above issues would be much appreciated!
Draq

These are not Arch problems but VMware problems.
/proc is a virtual filesystem so you should not be trying to copy anything
to the /proc directory anyway

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Procfs

For question 2 why not install VMware Tools as the message suggests,

As useful as vmware maybe it can never give you the feel or speed or security
on an installed linux distribution on native linux partitions.
Hope that helps.

Offline

#3 2013-02-17 19:07:42

frank604
Member
From: BC, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-20
Posts: 1,065
Website

Re: Arch in VMware - problems with Drag and Drop and Unity

I've never used VM ware but I do use virtualbox.  My answer is based on the assumption that their behavior is the same for your issue.

1. You cannot just drag and drop from guest to host.  You must create a shared folder and transfer by using this shared folder.  Please read up on how to use VM Ware or a simple google search of "vmware copy file guest host"
2. You need VMware tools installed.  It is akin to virtualbox desktop additions. 

These are not arch related issues, more about lack of reading "how to use vmware".  Read up and good luck! smile


github       bible       blog       screenshot

Offline

#4 2013-02-17 23:30:56

draq
Member
Registered: 2013-01-05
Posts: 3

Re: Arch in VMware - problems with Drag and Drop and Unity

frank604 wrote:

I've never used VM ware but I do use virtualbox.  My answer is based on the assumption that their behavior is the same for your issue.

Your assumptions are incorrect as VMware is different than VBox in the way it handles the seamless mode.

frank604 wrote:

1. You cannot just drag and drop from guest to host.  You must create a shared folder and transfer by using this shared folder.  Please read up on how to use VM Ware or a simple google search of "vmware copy file guest host"

In VMware it's possible to drag and drop from/to guest to/from host. I mentioned in my post that I managed to get drag and drop from guest to host but not the other way around.

frank604 wrote:

2. You need VMware tools installed.  It is akin to virtualbox desktop additions.

As I said, Open-VM-Tools are installed. Official VMware Tools are not available for Archlinux.

frank604 wrote:

These are not arch related issues, more about lack of reading "how to use vmware".  Read up and good luck! smile

Well it looks like it's probably you who needs to read a bit more about this, but thanks for trying :-)
I managed to get it working with Fedora, so it is a problem related to arch.

And btw, I used VBox until recently when this bug occurred https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/33229 - this made X unusable so I was looking for another solution of running arch in a virtual machine with support for seamless mode.

Offline

#5 2013-02-17 23:39:59

draq
Member
Registered: 2013-01-05
Posts: 3

Re: Arch in VMware - problems with Drag and Drop and Unity

hal8000 wrote:
draq wrote:

Hello Newebie Corner,

I followed the instructions from https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _in_VMware to install arch as guest in VMware Workstation 9 (win7 is host). The installation went fine but I got into a couple of problems.

1. drag and drop from from the host to the guest is not working and results in this error:
----------------
Error when getting information for file '/proc/fs/vmblock/mountPoint/4a51c9da/[file]'.
No such file or directory.
----------------
Any ideas what the problem here could be?
Strangely, drag and drop from the guest to the host is working.

2. When I try to enter VMware's "Unity mode" it does not work. I get the following error:
----------------
The virtual machine cannot enter Unity mode because:
- The guest operating system does not have VMware Tools installed.
----------------
open-vm-tools is not supporting Unity mode?


Any help for the above issues would be much appreciated!
Draq

These are not Arch problems but VMware problems.

How do you know that?

hal8000 wrote:

/proc is a virtual filesystem so you should not be trying to copy anything
to the /proc directory anyway

That's probably something that Open-VM-Tools is using to enable drag and drop.

hal8000 wrote:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Procfs

For question 2 why not install VMware Tools as the message suggests,

Because I already installed the Open-VM-Tools. See details Open-VM-Tools/VMtools at https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _in_VMware.

hal8000 wrote:

As useful as vmware maybe it can never give you the feel or speed or security
on an installed linux distribution on native linux partitions.

I am aware of all the issues you mention - I am looking for a seamless environment win/arch which is meant more for testing than any kind of production.

hal8000 wrote:

Hope that helps.

Thanks for trying :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB