You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-18 15:48:31

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Invalid Signature Errors

Hey all,
I have posted stuff on this topic before, but have never gotten a definitive answer regarding how to fix this:

I have already tried:

 pacman-key --init 
 pacman-key --populate archlinux 
 pacman-key --refresh-keys 

and I get this:

 error: nouveau-dri: signature from "Andreas Radke <andyrtr@archlinux.org>" is invalid 
 error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)) 
 Errors occured, no packages were upgraded. 

Note:
The system is an i686 based PC running on a school network -- could my school's filter be blocking this?

Thanks for the help.

Offline

#2 2013-02-18 21:45:54

Pougnet
Member
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 11

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Are you running an up-to-date version of pacman, and have you refreshed your package list?

Offline

#3 2013-02-18 22:48:31

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,550

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

"invalid or corrupted package"

Have you tried removing it and re-downloading it?


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#4 2013-02-19 00:25:55

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

I am running off of an archiso I downloaded less than a week ago.

Offline

#5 2013-02-19 00:26:37

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

WorMzy: How would I do that?

Offline

#6 2013-02-19 00:45:03

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,435

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

treeman1111 wrote:

WorMzy: How would I do that?

man pacman wrote:

SYNC OPTIONS
       -c, --clean
           Remove packages that are no longer installed from the cache as well as currently unused sync databases to free up disk
           space. When pacman downloads packages, it saves them in a cache directory. In addition, databases are saved for every
           sync DB you download from, and are not deleted even if they are removed from the configuration file pacman.conf(5). Use
           one --clean switch to only remove packages that are no longer installed; use two to remove all files from the cache. In
           both cases, you will have a yes or no option to remove packages and/or unused downloaded databases.

           If you use a network shared cache, see the CleanMethod option in pacman.conf(5).
....
       -y, --refresh
           Download a fresh copy of the master package list from the server(s) defined in pacman.conf(5). This should typically be
           used each time you use --sysupgrade or -u. Passing two --refresh or -y flags will force a refresh of all package lists
           even if they appear to be up to date.

First, try pacman -Syyu
If that does not do it, try pacman -Scc followed by pacman -Syu
Note that that cleans out your cache of installed packages making it harder to downgrade to things you had installed previously.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2013-02-19 01:56:25

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

I have already done pacman -Syyu, however, I will try the other option.

Offline

#8 2013-02-19 15:37:15

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Ok, after I did

 pacman -Sc and pacman -Syu 

I ended up with:

 error: coreutils: signature from "Allan McRae <me@allanmcrae.com>" is invalid 
 error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)) 
 Errors occured, no packages were upgraded. 

Offline

#9 2013-02-19 15:43:54

igndenok
Member
From: Sidoarjo, Indonesia
Registered: 2010-06-07
Posts: 160

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Around a week ago I got the same problem. Turns out it's because my system clock (ntpd out of sync after restart).
Need to sync my system clock, refresh the signature keys for sure and it works. Maybe yours same with me!?


Ask, and it shall be given you.
Seek, and ye shall find.
Knock, and it shall be opened unto you.

Offline

#10 2013-02-19 15:45:55

jc61990
Member
From: New York
Registered: 2012-07-14
Posts: 29
Website

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

i had this problem yesterday when i was making a new vm.  i went into /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ and removed everything rm *   then pacman -Syyu ; pacman-key --populate archlinux     , pacman-key --refresh-keys has worked for me too


i put arch on everything.
Devices on arch: Desktop (self built), Dell XT Laptop, RaspberryPi, HTPC, PogoPlug, and my Web Server

Offline

#11 2013-02-19 16:36:01

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Just a note, during the pacman -Syyu I get errors like:

 error: failed retrieving file 'xxxxxxx' from xxxxxx.org: HTTP server doesn't seem to support byte ranges: cannot resume. 

And, of course, I get the exact same errors....

Yes, my system time is current.

Offline

#12 2013-02-19 22:50:51

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Change mirrors?

Last edited by cfr (2013-02-19 22:51:15)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#13 2013-02-19 23:22:33

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

I will try that tomorrow -- it is a computer at my school.

Offline

#14 2013-02-19 23:33:03

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,435

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

treeman1111 wrote:

I will try that tomorrow -- it is a computer at my school.

Hmmm, that brings up a couple questions.

1.  You do have permission to install Arch onto that computer, right?

2.  Any chance that the infrastructure at the school is blocking you?  It is possible that ftp is blocked; make certain you are using http.  Even then, I have seen some very aggressive file filtering my some school's firewalls.

Last edited by ewaller (2013-02-20 00:01:37)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#15 2013-02-19 23:41:35

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Yes, this is in a computer engineering class. : P

Offline

#16 2013-02-19 23:42:25

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

I was wondering about the filtering in the beginning, in particular, a program called Netsweeper.

Offline

#17 2013-02-20 00:11:05

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,435

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

treeman1111 wrote:

I was wondering about the filtering in the beginning, in particular, a program called Netsweeper.

You mean, this ? http://www.netsweeper.com/what-we-do/we … management

Yeah, it could bite you.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#18 2013-02-20 00:36:29

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Yeah, lol, I am well aware of the biting capabilities of Netsweeper -- yes, that is the product.

Offline

#19 2013-02-20 00:37:05

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

I could probably get this fixed -- what would I ask to be unblocked for my node at school?

Offline

#20 2013-02-20 00:49:51

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,435

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

treeman1111 wrote:

I could probably get this fixed -- what would I ask to be unblocked for my node at school?

Sorry, I don't have a clue.  I would start with someone with authority in the IT department and work it from there. 

Edit:  You might tell them that you are trying to install Arch Linux, and provide a list of your mirrors.  The company's website says the ability to unlock content for periods of time is intrinsic to their product.

Last edited by ewaller (2013-02-20 00:51:53)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#21 2013-02-20 01:12:06

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Sometimes its easier to manually delete the /etc/pacman.d/gnupg folder and run the pacman-key --init, pacman-key --populate archlinux.

Last edited by hadrons123 (2013-02-20 01:15:04)


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#22 2013-02-20 02:04:29

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Oooh, I have an idea! Can I change the SigLevel in

 /etc/pacman.conf 

to SigLevel = Never?

Offline

#23 2013-02-20 02:33:42

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

yes. But not recommended.


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#24 2013-02-20 02:35:14

Pougnet
Member
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 11

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Yes, but, that is not suggested as you can wind up trusting unverified keys and possibly installing malicious software. With the GPG keys, you can verify that the packages have not been tampered with since the Developers/TUs created them.

Last edited by Pougnet (2013-02-20 02:35:58)

Offline

#25 2013-02-20 13:31:34

treeman1111
Member
Registered: 2013-01-28
Posts: 109

Re: Invalid Signature Errors

Well, I see no other way around this problem.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB