You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-06 11:37:04

dauerbaustelle
Member
Registered: 2010-02-07
Posts: 62

systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

I can't reproduce this all the time but it happens on a regular basis, like every few days.

I resume from "sudo systemctl suspend" and all that happens is a blank black screen, no disk activity etc.

I tried to debug it using the real time clock method. Here's the dmesg output. http://dpaste.com/hold/911067/

This did not happen with initscripts/pm-suspend.

Any clues?

Last edited by dauerbaustelle (2013-02-06 11:37:30)

Offline

#2 2013-02-06 11:55:14

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,695
Website

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Is it completely blank or do you get the line underscore as described here?

Offline

#3 2013-02-06 13:17:00

dauerbaustelle
Member
Registered: 2010-02-07
Posts: 62

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Completely blank.

Offline

#4 2013-02-06 14:27:05

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Is it just the display or the whole computer?  Have you tried leaving a terminal open and blindly entering a command to see if it works (reboot or something else that doesn't require visual confirmation)?


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#5 2013-02-06 15:11:21

dauerbaustelle
Member
Registered: 2010-02-07
Posts: 62

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

The whole computer, it doesn't even access the hard disk or turn on wifi (LEDs don't blink).

Offline

#6 2013-02-06 15:40:17

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Same here, suspend with systemd doesn't work. I don't need it, so I don't really care, but I tested it yesterday and it looked like dauerbaustelle describes.

Do you know ways to debug this? What might be the culprit? Because suspend works with the suspend-to-mem script included in powerdown, which basically executes

echo "mem" | tee "/sys/power/state"

so my hardware and linux DO work well together on this matter.

Offline

#7 2013-02-07 02:45:45

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Has suspend not worked for you since migrating to systemd or was there a kernel update that precipitated it.  I haven't had any problems with suspend, but haven't tried using the command as I just close the lid to enact suspend.  I'll try systemctl suspend when I get home and report back on the results.  BTW, it might help to list hardware also.  I'm using a Sandybridge i7, i915 driver intel graphics (w/ sna enabled), atheros ath9k wireless, and an American Megatrends BIOS.


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#8 2013-02-07 06:04:40

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Reporting back.  "systemctl suspend" worked just as expected.  I had no issues whatsoever.


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#9 2013-02-07 08:47:26

Lassulus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 7

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

I have the same issue. sometimes my notebook doesn't wake up from suspend. The first appearance of this bug was 2-3 weeks ago.
I tried pm-suspend and systemctl suspend. No difference.

When the Bug appears i get a blackscreen and the keyboard leds do not respond.

I'm on a X220-Tablet:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2620M CPU @ 2.70GHz
8GB RAM
Intel HD graphics

Offline

#10 2013-02-19 09:25:24

mark-o-solo
Member
Registered: 2012-03-19
Posts: 57

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Hi, someone has to find a fix for this, it is highly irritating. Is there any way to make a precise log and try to find the error that way ?
I was hoping this might get fixed with an update, but its been months now, and still no difference.
Just a thought: Is it possible this is related to the CK-kernel ?

Offline

#11 2013-02-22 16:51:56

Orim
Member
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 59

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Hi, I've been having the same problem on a Samsung X20 Notebook for a couple of weeks now. Before it was working fine.
And for me it's every time I suspend, 100% reproducible.

I suspend from within xfce. When I wake up the system, my HDD Led will be on (constant, no blinking) for about 30s and that's it then.

Offline

#12 2013-03-01 19:03:21

nev
Member
Registered: 2010-08-12
Posts: 3

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

I have the same problem on my Lenovo X201 with a fresh (2 weeks ago) Archlinux installation.
Suspend works a couple of times and then fails.
The notebook does not wake up at all, no disk activity, no reaction on buttons, no entries in journalctl.

Offline

#13 2013-03-01 20:19:39

ndt
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2011-10-12
Posts: 30
Website

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

I have this problem with a Thinkpad T420. I made a keybind to systemctl suspend to subvert this.


[~/.]

Offline

#14 2013-03-02 14:48:25

Lassulus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 7

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

I am now testing different kernels due to the Sandy-Bridge overheating. I could't reproduce the suspend error in linux-lts or linux-mainline. So maybe its a kernel bug?

Offline

#15 2013-03-03 15:09:10

Orim
Member
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 59

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

I have tested downgrading several different packages now and found that it is indeed the kernel causing the problems. Or at least it is on my machine.
When I downgrade to linux-3.6.11 suspension works like a charm.
Downgrading systemd itself did not help at all.

None of the 3.7.* kernels work for me.

Found this:
[url]https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/33516?project=1&cat[0]=31&string=linux[/url]

Still no solution as it seems. Let's hope this is resolved with 3.8

Last edited by Orim (2013-03-03 15:44:39)

Offline

#16 2013-03-03 16:12:22

Lassulus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 7

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

I am currently running linux-mainline 3.8.1-1. On the last suspend i couldn't wake up again (black screen, keyboard not working). So far only linux-lts has stable suspend/wakeup cycles (I've been using it for 2 weeks with ca. 30 suspends, non has failed so far). So this problem seems not fixed with newer kernels.

Offline

#17 2013-03-19 13:28:04

Orim
Member
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 59

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Today I got the 3.8.3-2 kernel update. The problem persists.
So from 3.6.11 to 3.7.* something must have been changed either in the kernel itself or how it is compiled.

Are there any news regarding this? Not having suspend is really annoying and it works on all my other archlinux installations...

Offline

#18 2013-03-19 13:37:23

elkoraco
Member
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 121

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=159379

Seems to be a similar problem. I've been getting it since kernel 3.8, but it's just the screen dimming. From what I've been able to figure out, it's the acpi_backlight=vendor kernel parameter plus the newer kernel (so likely i915).

Offline

#19 2013-03-19 14:02:55

fiji-flo
Member
Registered: 2013-03-19
Posts: 2

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Same problem on a thinkpad x230 (kernel 3.8.3, intel 2.21.4)

Offline

#20 2013-03-19 15:54:54

nixmd
Member
From: Earth
Registered: 2013-03-19
Posts: 10

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

same here,
Lenovo Ideapad S10-3
I've tried all of the solutions explained in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Le … apad_S10-3
but what I get after waking up my baby is a freezed  line underscore
when I see the freezed underscore I can switch between terminals but if I swtich to tty7 which runs X, it be totally freezed and won't even let me switch between the terminals,

Last edited by nixmd (2013-03-19 16:37:13)

Offline

#21 2013-03-19 16:52:36

Orim
Member
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 59

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

elkoraco wrote:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=159379

Seems to be a similar problem. I've been getting it since kernel 3.8, but it's just the screen dimming. From what I've been able to figure out, it's the acpi_backlight=vendor kernel parameter plus the newer kernel (so likely i915).

I've tried all solutions from that post as well. None worked.
But I do have an i915.

Not sure if these two problems are actually related. My machine does not resume at all, it's not just the screen.
And I've been having trouble since 3.7.* not just 3.8.*

Offline

#22 2013-03-19 18:24:08

elkoraco
Member
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 121

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Orim wrote:

Not sure if these two problems are actually related. My machine does not resume at all, it's not just the screen.
And I've been having trouble since 3.7.* not just 3.8.*

The problems may not be the same, but since it's only happening with integrated Intel graphics, they are definitely related. I guess we'll have to dig deeper. I'm on 16-hour work days right now, so I have precious little time to even start looking at config files.

Offline

#23 2013-03-20 15:56:38

rusma
Member
From: Ås, Norway
Registered: 2009-11-01
Posts: 110

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Hey!

For me, resume does not resume the screen, only keyboard and cpu ++ AFAIK. I've got Intel Ivy Bridge graphics on this wonderful NP900X3C laptop.

Initally I though this had something to do with systemd or some dependency of systemd that was not properly installed.

I just wanted to say that I can resume now when rolling back to 18th of March kernel linux-3.8.3-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz ==> linux-3.7.10-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz from Roll Back machine.

Hope this gets fixed soon, we have to do this!

Offline

#24 2013-03-20 18:11:54

Orim
Member
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 59

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

elkoraco wrote:

The problems may not be the same, but since it's only happening with integrated Intel graphics, they are definitely related. I guess we'll have to dig deeper. I'm on 16-hour work days right now, so I have precious little time to even start looking at config files.

I don't even know where to look as systemd does not report any errors.
If anyone has any ideas where else to look, let me know.

Offline

#25 2013-03-20 19:54:35

infestdead
Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 38

Re: systemd: Resume sometimes fails (=> blank screen)

Same issue here (resume to blank screen and no response) on ThinkPad X60, tried the LTS kernel - works like a charm, so the issue is in the kernel I guess.


............. .......... .........................
......................
Where is Pacman when you need him....

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB