You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-23 11:25:07

Zemtriz
Member
Registered: 2012-07-25
Posts: 2

5.1 surround is not used by applications

Hello,
I've got a problem about surround from my sound card. It is well known CA0106 or Audigy Sound Blaster SE. Well known in a bad name.
Sound is working and speaker-test -c 6 -D surround51 -t wav is working as well.
But with mpd I cannot hear surround from lossless formats, it's just a crappy stereo (maybe 2.1) as well as in Steam when playing TF2.
I want a true surround and not just a copied stereo to all speakers.

.asoundrc

pcm.!default {
        type hw
        card CA0106
}
ctl.!default {
        type hw
        card CA0106
}

aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: CA0106 [CA0106], device 0: ca0106 [CA0106]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CA0106 [CA0106], device 1: ca0106 [CA0106]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CA0106 [CA0106], device 2: ca0106 [CA0106]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CA0106 [CA0106], device 3: ca0106 [CA0106]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC889A Analog [ALC889A Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC889A Digital [ALC889A Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

And sound from FireFox is not working too at the moment, but I don't care, because it was working all the time. Until now.
I tried anything and wasted a lot of time trying to fix it. But I can't do the same thing all the time and wastng time on something frustrating and making me nervous.
Thanks for any tips.

Last edited by Zemtriz (2013-02-23 11:25:24)

Offline

#2 2013-02-23 11:51:55

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,408

Re: 5.1 surround is not used by applications

Zemtriz wrote:

I want a true surround and not just a copied stereo to all speakers.

See my ~/.asoundrc, linked in my sig.

Offline

#3 2013-02-23 13:01:38

Zemtriz
Member
Registered: 2012-07-25
Posts: 2

Re: 5.1 surround is not used by applications

I've tryied it before, but don't understand plug and other things how it's working and didn't get sound output at all sad

EDIT: As I know, speaker test is working with 5.1, because it's said by command. But applications use only 1 output. I mean card ca0106 and device 0 (default) is front speakers and other output 3.5mm jacks are likely "disabled".

So I'm asking, is it possible to set default device with multiple output 3.5mm jacks?

pcm.!default {
        type hw
        card CA0106
        device 2
}

ctl.!default {
        type hw
        card CA0106
}

This uses my my center and subwoofer. Without mentioning device it's default is front left and right. And I thought, that just stereo works. But works just one output. And as I said, speaker test works fine as 5.1, but that's just a test, where are outputs defined in /usr/share/alsa/pcm or /cards... There is ca0106.

I'm tired of this, so is it possible to use all jacks? Whole card? In /usr/share/alsa/cards and in ca0106.conf I've seen IEC958 defined at the bottom of the file. But cards doesn't have any IEC958 on it.
I want all 3.5mm outputs and not only one defined. And true surround, not copied from one output to others. Can you help me please?

EDIT: For example this is not working via Firefox or MPD: http://www.mysurround.com/en/info-test OGG file Hear left speaker and when he says center, it comes from right speaker.

Last edited by Zemtriz (2013-02-26 09:26:39)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB