You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-24 11:15:52

Toxcity
Member
From: Oxford
Registered: 2012-01-14
Posts: 40

Conky Overlay

Morning all!

I'm currently running i3 with no status bars. I would like to keep it that way so thought, wouldn't it be nice to see the time/battery remaining all the time but without it taking screen space?
Basically, I want to watermark my screen. So say, in the top right corner it says the time but above all other windows.

Is this possible?

Cheers

Offline

#2 2013-02-24 12:47:29

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,000
Website

Re: Conky Overlay

I don't know if conky has a setting to remain above other windows, this is what you'd need.  Tint2 has this option.

In any case, you'd also need to be running a composit manager for transparency.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2013-02-24 13:54:04

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: Conky Overlay

Just go through conky's documentation, you'll find what you need. I do this, except my conky widget is not transparent because I don't run a compositor. Without a compositor you only get "fake transparency" - the desktop wallpaper is used as background of the widget.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB