You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-23 20:10:08

joaocandre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 98

GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

Hello,

I've been having some problems setting up a fakeRAID system (2x80Gb) with Arch. I have three partitions on the RAID array, a small one (125 Mb) for /boot, and a larger one (50 Gb) for /. Installation was performed from a USB drive, and everything seem to go well (no errors). Indeed, GRUB was installed in the right place, as it shows up during boot - but after I choose the "Arch GNU/Linux, with Linux Core Repo Kernel", I get the following error:

error: no such device: ad4103fa-d940-47ca-8506-301d8071d467
Loading Linux core repo kernel ...
error: no such partition.
Loading initial ramdisk ...
error: you need to load the kernel first.

As suggested in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _Fake_RAID, I edited /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and added dm_mod to the MODULES line and dmraid to the HOOKS line (had to install dmraid, though) before generating the initial ramdisk with mkinitcpio.

Although I'm far from being an expert, my guess is that GRUB was installed in the right place, but somehow is trying to load Arch from the wrong place (the UUID shown in the error is not of any partition present).

How exactly do I configure grub to boot the ramdisk from the 125mb partition with /boot?


Any help is appreciated

Last edited by joaocandre (2013-02-23 22:04:48)

Offline

#2 2013-02-24 22:56:46

joaocandre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 98

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

Changing the UUID for the correct value in /boot/grub/grub.cfg did not solve the problem, only eliminated the first error. So it finds the correct partition, but does not find the linux image or the initial ramdisk. Which is strange, since the /boot partition contains both files, and is present in /etc/fstab.

Really need some help here! The wiki page about FakeRaid installation seems to deal only with legacy GRUB, as it suggest changes to menu.lst, not used in current GRUB.

Last edited by joaocandre (2013-02-24 22:59:57)

Offline

#3 2013-02-24 23:48:58

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

I have no experience with dmraid.  But I am really curious why you are choosing to use fakeRAID(dmraid) over mdadm.  Linux software RAID (mdadm) is excellent.

Offline

#4 2013-02-25 00:12:09

joaocandre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 98

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

WonderWoofy wrote:

I have no experience with dmraid.  But I am really curious why you are choosing to use fakeRAID(dmraid) over mdadm.  Linux software RAID (mdadm) is excellent.

I want to dual-boot with Windows, and using the motherboard RAID implementation seems to be easier to set up. The RAID volumes are correctly identified and the systems installs correctly (at least I think so), the only problem is that somehow grub.cfg gets really messed up along the way.

Last edited by joaocandre (2013-02-25 00:12:38)

Offline

#5 2013-02-25 01:16:16

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

Okay, that is a legitimate reason to use fake RAID I guess.  So you have the desire to have both Linux and windows on RAID?

Offline

#6 2013-02-25 10:07:10

joaocandre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 98

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

WonderWoofy wrote:

Okay, that is a legitimate reason to use fake RAID I guess.  So you have the desire to have both Linux and windows on RAID?

Yes, that's my goal. In fact, that was why I created a separate /boot partition at the beginning of the HDD array, I read somewhere that was the correct way to set up such a system.

Offline

#7 2013-02-25 10:53:15

nowahn
Member
From: elsewhere
Registered: 2008-12-05
Posts: 75

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

Hi,

How did you generate your /boot/grub/grub.cfg file ? (manually or with grub-mkconfig)
Maybe grub-mkconfig is not able to manage fakeraid properly.
Please post it here


take time to daydream, inspiration comes ...

Offline

#8 2013-02-25 12:05:24

joaocandre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 98

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

nowahn wrote:

Hi,

How did you generate your /boot/grub/grub.cfg file ? (manually or with grub-mkconfig)
Maybe grub-mkconfig is not able to manage fakeraid properly.
Please post it here


Yes, I did use grub-mkconfig. Should I do it manually?

EDIT:

So here is both my /etc/fstab and  /boot/grub/grub.cfg:

# UUID=d2302c5f-9050-4072-ac2c-b1844c1bd93d
/dev/md126p3        	/         	ext4      	rw,relatime,stripe=64,data=ordered	0 1

# UUID=bd4f385d-484c-4ef1-9b26-7d5973c37ef3
/dev/md126p1        	/boot     	ext4      	rw,relatime,stripe=256,data=ordered	0 2
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="0"

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root  d2302c5f-9050-4072-ac2c-b1844c1bd93d
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root d2302c5f-9050-4072-ac2c-b1844c1bd93d
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-true-d2302c5f-9050-4072-ac2c-b1844c1bd93d' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root  bd4f385d-484c-4ef1-9b26-7d5973c37ef3
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root bd4f385d-484c-4ef1-9b26-7d5973c37ef3
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
	linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=d2302c5f-9050-4072-ac2c-b1844c1bd93d ro  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/initramfs-linux.img
}
menuentry 'Arch GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel (Fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-fallback-d2302c5f-9050-4072-ac2c-b1844c1bd93d' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root  bd4f385d-484c-4ef1-9b26-7d5973c37ef3
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root bd4f385d-484c-4ef1-9b26-7d5973c37ef3
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
	linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=d2302c5f-9050-4072-ac2c-b1844c1bd93d ro  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

I installed GRUB with grub-install --boot-directory=/boot /dev/md126 or just grub-install /dev/md126 - same error.

Last edited by joaocandre (2013-02-26 09:59:08)

Offline

#9 2013-02-26 00:28:22

joaocandre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 98

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

Using a simple sample grub.cfg also doesn't work, apparently GRUB cannot find the disk md126,1:

 Config file for GRUB2 - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
# /boot/grub/grub.cfg

# Timeout for menu
set timeout=5

# Set default boot entry as Entry 0
set default=0

# (0) Arch Linux
menuentry "Arch Linux" {
    insmod mdraid1x
    set root=(md126,1)
    linux /vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/md126p3 ro
    initrd /initramfs-linux.img
}

I'm also using the mdraid1x module because there is no mdraid module, and it seems to be the closest.

Honestly, I'm completely lost here --'.

Last edited by joaocandre (2013-02-26 10:01:39)

Offline

#10 2013-02-26 00:42:30

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

@joaocandre, instead of using [ quote ] [ /quote ] tags, use [ code ] [ /code ] tags.  Quote tags are for.... quotes.

Offline

#11 2013-02-26 10:31:35

joaocandre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 98

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

WonderWoofy wrote:

@joaocandre, instead of using [ quote ] [ /quote ] tags, use [ code ] [ /code ] tags.  Quote tags are for.... quotes.

Done. Thanks for the advice.

Offline

#12 2013-02-28 11:11:35

Blue_NoClue
Member
Registered: 2013-02-28
Posts: 8

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

I am having the same problem it seems, though I think I just figured it out since I finally booted into my install.

I just installed dmraid through pacman and added these two hooks into my mkinitcpio.conf: mdadm_udev and dmraid.

Ran mkinitcpio -p linux and rebuilt my grub config. Rebooted and now I'm in.

Hopefully this helps some.

Offline

#13 2013-03-06 19:51:14

joaocandre
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 98

Re: GRUB Installation on FakeRAID

Blue_NoClue wrote:

I am having the same problem it seems, though I think I just figured it out since I finally booted into my install.

I just installed dmraid through pacman and added these two hooks into my mkinitcpio.conf: mdadm_udev and dmraid.

Ran mkinitcpio -p linux and rebuilt my grub config. Rebooted and now I'm in.

Hopefully this helps some.

Added those hooks to mkinicpio.conf, but the problem persists. When you say "rebuilt my grub config", what exact changes are you talking about?

Last edited by joaocandre (2013-03-06 19:51:31)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB